We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful desert and grassland experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Hohhot
Ranked #2 of 461 Hotels in Hohhot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I really appreciate the hotel's 4D3N package to Gegentala grassland and Sounding Bay desert. It's such an eye-opening experience! The hotel is very comfortable. The staff is very sweet, helpful and friendly. The only disappointment in the package is the itinerary didn't go with what actually happened. Specifically, we were supposed to watch the wrestling performance during lunch on our first day of arrival at the grassland. But it didn't happen and we were quite disappointed. We also opine that the buffet lunch and dinner at Xin's Cafe are mediocre, in terms of varieties and tastes of food, as well as timeliness of service. One last point is that the room is very warm at night even I set the room temperature to 15 degree celcius. I suspected the temperature was in fact fixed. Anyway, we had a very enjoyable and memorable holiday at Inner Mongolia arranged by Shangri-la.

Room Tip: The Horizon Executive Suite is very comfortable. I like it so bright!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ida2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 364 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Shangri-La is the BEST hotel in Hohhot, Inner Mongolia. It retains its reputation for services and offerings. The check-in staff are friendly and spoke good English. The guest room was well appointed with all the amenities that you expected from a 5 star hotel.

The breakfast lounge on the 21st floor had a great variety from the local congee to the western style sausages and eggs, cereal, etc. The juices provided were freshly squeezed. They were great. It was bout USD40, but it was worth it.

The bar on the ground floor was priced as if it was in Beijing or Shanghai, but it was still full of people at night. However, if you are adventurous, there are plenty of local restaurants within 5 minutes walk.

Overall, it is as "Shangri-La" as you will get anywhere -quality food, well-appointed guest room and exceptional services.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RelaxEatTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This Shangri-La is consistent with Shangri-La hotels in other part of the world and could be one of the best hotels in Hohhot. The rooms are being renovated thus some might have smell of new carpet and furniture. Rooms, restaurants, other facilities, services, etc are all impeccable. However the only complaint might be the noise from a park behind the hotel, where local people gather early in the morning to single and exercise.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YQTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Greeted by Alex on the door and swiftly escorted to the Horizon Club check in service, we were immediately impressed with the service at the hotel. We arrived early, around 10am, however we were immediately shown to our room. The room itself was large and well furnished, with all the amenities you'd expect from a 5 star establishment.
The club staff were extremely courteous and attentive, and helped us organise our trips around the city. The canapés were some of the best we had experienced, and breakfast was equally fantastic. A few days later we stayed in the Baotou Shangri-La, which was appalling to say the least, we wished we had returned to Hohhot instead as it would have been worth he 2 hour drive.
We would like to thank Alex for his outstanding service from start to finish, I'm not sure how many hours a day he works, but he was forever available and present.
Top tips for eating outside the restaurant, try the Little Sheep, it's about 5 minutes walk to the right of the hotel. Food there was amazing and we had a really enjoyable evening.
If Shangri-La management are reading this review, please send you Baotou staff to Hohhot so that they can see how a Shangri-La experience should be!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Stephen_Booth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Overall a good choice and there are not that many in Hohhot at this end of the market. Rooms are well appointed, bathrooms fine if a bit small, breakfast was good with a large selection of fruit.

Only one real issue to point out is that most staff are new and not from Hohhot so they can only direct you to the most mainstream tourist areas and restaurants. As can any guide book. I asked the older guy out front for local restaurant recommendations and they were really good. Granted you need to like mutton, but great food and they were so happy to see me there! He also helped me get to the largest Mongolian Buddhist monastery which is on the outskirts of the city and certainly off the beaten path.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hotel is certainly pricey for the city it is located in, but the extra benefits make the extra cost more palatable. When you arrive you'll be impressed with the exterior, and once you enter the lobby you'll be even more impressed. We've stayed here a number of times, but the time we enjoyed most was on Spring Festival Eve. We stayed on the Club floor and watched the fireworks from the Club Floors lounge. It was fantastic. The food and drinks were all included in the price of the room, as was the breakfast buffet the next morning. The swimming pool and spa is also very impressive. All in all, if you are looking for some wonderful comforts in a city where they are at a premium this is the place to stay. The second best choice is the Sheraton if this one is fully booked.

Room Tip: The club floor is definitely worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Good location, excellent staff, health club facilities are very high quality, and there's a very nice atmosphere in the lobby lounge with live music in the evening. If the breakfast is not included in your stay, the buffet breakfast is expensive (120 rmb) and, I think because they don't have many ordering breakfast from the menu, the ordered breakfasts were not good. Room service evening orders were quite good and the lobby lounge food options were also good. Using the Shangri-La as a home base, good nearby places to visit were the lamaseries and surrounding area as well as the Inner Mongolia Museum. Walking distance from the hotel, just to the right, as your heading out the front door, is a wonderful park, and just to the left, about a 10 minute walk down the road is the large and interesting Victory Shopping Mall. Within 2 hours drive of the hotel is the Resonant Gorge...basically the nearby edge of the Gobi Desert. Many things to do there at a cost of 190 rmb per person for a ticket that enables you to participate in all the activities (sand buggy, train, camel riding, sand slide). We really enjoyed a day trip to this attraction.
We also spent a night in a yurt out in the Xilamuren Grasslands. The timing was early October and it was cold. It was an excellent experience to visit the grasslands and enjoy the novelty of staying in a yurt, but be prepared, it's a far cry from the comforts of the Shangri-La and the "Water Closet" is not for the faint of heart.
If I'm back in Hohhot I'd return to the Shangri-La, the staff were exceedingly welcoming and went out of their way to help us, answer questions, provide restaurant suggestions, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hohhot hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Hohhot Hotel
Sheraton Hohhot Hotel
#1 of 461 in Hohhot
192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hohhot
Holiday Inn Hohhot
#4 of 461 in Hohhot
185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inner Mongolia Hotel
Inner Mongolia Hotel
#5 of 461 in Hohhot
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Wanda Vista Hohhot
Wanda Vista Hohhot
#3 of 461 in Hohhot
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lixin International Hotel
Lixin International Hotel
#128 of 461 in Hohhot
11 reviews
1.4 mi away
7 Days Inn Huhhot Railway Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Hohhot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Hohhot

Address: No.5 Xilin Guole South Road, Hohhot 010020, China
Location: China > Inner Mongolia > Hohhot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hohhot
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hohhot
Price Range: $90 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Hohhot 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the commercial district and just 25 minutes from Huhhot Baita International Airport, Shangri-La Hotel, Huhhot is the city's first international luxury hotel offering tranquil view of Qingcheng Park. The hotel boasts the most spacious accommodations, the finest cuisines, and, of course, legendary Shangri-La hospitality. Complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity service is provided throughout all 365 guestrooms and suites as well as 11 spacious serviced apartments for long-term guests, and even in hotel limousines. Shang Palace, Xin Cafe, and the Lobby Lounge combine to offer guests with an outstanding variety of cuisines from around the world. It is also home to the largest grand ballroom among the hotels in the city, and another 10 well-appointed function rooms provide full state-of-the-art conference facilities to satisfy all meeting and event requirements. The hotel’s Health Club, with sauna, jacuzzi and gym, is an ideal place to refresh and re-energize. A 25-metre indoor swimming pool is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Hohhot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel Hohhot Inner Mongolia, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing