We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
20
41
8
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
41
8
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 72 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile

I'm actually a resident Hohhot and have been since 2011.  I came to this hotel to purchase a year membership for their swimming pool and everything was going just fine when suddenly a woman that worked there came and handed me my money back, stating that I cannot swim there.  I asked why and she said because I am too fat.  I immediately asked to speak with who ever was in charge and so came another guy who said the same thing.  All this being said in Chinese, and I asked if they could please bring someone who can speak English so I can fully understand just what the hell was going on here.  They said their one and only person who can speak English, mind you at this huge International Hotel, has gone home for the day.  I tried my best to explain in Mandarin that this was ridiculous.  They said at first that the pool ladder was very weak and could not support me.  I retorted that I came here three weeks ago and found no problems with their ladder. Then they said my blood pressure was too high.  I've never met anyone who can tell a persons blood pressure on sight, but I finally got fed up with it, they were just going to keep coming up with excuses.  This is terrible business ethic.  I was humiliated, offended, and worst of all, profoundly disturbed.  I've been in China over 4 years now and this is by far the worst treatment I have ever received here.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
3  Thank Loken83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel itself has all the amenities you need. The rooms are of a decent size- the deluxe ones is 38 sqm. Even though the location is not "central", we found that it was very easy to go to these tourist attractions in the city- the Inner Mongolian Museum and Xilitu Zhao Si- by bus. Most of the time, apart from rush hours, the buses are quite empty, just get your one-yuan note ready. We didn't have breakfast here, but if you are into local food, there are plenty of local restaurants including chain "sanitized" version of it around the area.

What we found a bit difficult was communicating with the staff. The hotel tries to assist their guests by setting up a "duty manager" desk near the reception counter. However, very often we found getting our message across to the manager quite difficult (even when two of our friends do speak a bit of Chinese) and one of the "managers" even sounded unwilling to help.

All these impressions could just be due to what was lost in translation. As when we found that our domestic flight was cancelled and that we were transferred to another much later flight, the "manager" let us have a very late check out without charge. The hotel also helped arrange for our visit the grassland the day before.

By the way, the one day "tour" to the grassland- Xilamuren Da Caoyuan- didn't do anything apart from having taken us there and given us lunch. The "guide" didn't even give any information about tracks or routes that you could be on to see different spots in the grassland, all she said was "don't go far" (there was a Chinese gentleman in our tour group and the same non-information was given to him). If this is the "standard" for most of the tours, it means that you need to do the rest yourself eg. bargaining for a ride to the "attractions" yourself. So if you are doing it through some tours like the one we did, study beforehand where you want to see and walk there yourself as you can easily do, and avoid that "beating the fish's head in a bucket" (?) approach from the touts there.

All in all, we did enjoy our stay here. However, we would not recommend it for a non-Chinese speaking persons, as this could prove very frustrating.

Room tip: We stayed on 18 floor, ok view.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuangnoi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The rooms are pretty nice, but the overall furnitures are a bit eighties. The service is obviously excellent. We didn't try the restaurant for lunch or dinner but the breakfast was ok (not excellent for a european taste, but good enough). The location is a bit noisy due to the terrible traffic and doesn't offer any special attraction, but allow to easily find a couple of good reastaurant in 5/10 minutes walking. Good enough if you stay a couple of days for business purposes.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gab01976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews