We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning scenery”
Review of Three Gorges

Three Gorges
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,388.15*
and up
Luxury Yangzi River Cruise - 4 days and 3 nights
Ranked #2 of 52 things to do in Yichang
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“stunning scenery”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Viewed largely from a river cruise vessel, stunning mountains and villages, a peek into the simple lives of Chinese farmers and villagers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank w4sssup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    59
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lambertville, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Interesting Journey”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

we sailed on the brand new President No.7 (maiden voyage was April 2013) and upgraded to a deluxe suite with balcony (well worth the money....regular balcony cabins were closets). Beautiful ship with grand dining room, all purpose entertainment lounge with bar and good observation decks. English speaking shipboard tour guide, Alice, was a real delight....taught me how to play Mahjong. Food quality was just adequate (we were disappointed overall with food in China). The gorges themselves were nice, but nowhere as spectacular as the Inside Passage in Alaska in terms of dramatic mountain landscape. We recommend the 3night Chongqing-Yichang as being long enough as opposed to 4night in opposite direction.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Thom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A spectacular place to visit”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you sail to the Three Gorges from Yichang organise the boat yourself when you get there. It's not expensive and I think more fun if you are on a boat full of local people rather than an excursion full of Brits and Americans.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Pursuitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cruise to tour the Yangtze River”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Being Chinese, I've heard so much about the Three Gorges and knew about how the Dam has greatly affected the scenery and diminished its original glory. Therefore, I decided to choose a cruise company that would at least make the journey more enjoyable. I was really pleased to find Yangzi Explorer (apparently a British and Chinese JV) which is a very well managed and comfortable luxury boat.

It does feel a bit old, but the decoration is tasteful and the beautiful Jade Suite that we stayed in was an oriental theme and really felt like a hotel suite, not a cabin. All sheets etc spic and span. What I loved about the boat is how spacious everything felt even though the boat itself is quite small (exclusively fitting only 124ppl). It has all the facilities u need even though the trip is only 3 days. And like anything else, what made the boat special is the people. The staff is amazing- friendly helpful, As in very eager to please, to help and always trying to make you feel special and comfortable. Very well run and managed. The sites aren't always that exciting so a lot of cultural activities were organized on board. Very good especially for foreigners who're interested in Chinese art & culture. All in all, had it not been for Teddy the GM for getting and training such lovely staff and guides, the excellent head chef from HK who offered pretty good meals even for a normal restaurant, the tour along the Yangtze would've been average.

Lastly, on the Gorges: it was more beautiful than I had expected especially down the narrow streams and I got some beautiful pictures. Learning about the whole Three Gorges Project was also interesting and educational.

Helpful?
4 Thank Goodmoodvood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

A tour of the gorge is well worth it. We did our tour via Yichang Shunda International Traver and booked it in Yichang.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Gorges also viewed

 

Been to Three Gorges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing