We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Optics Valley Hotel Wuhan Wuchang
Ranked #12 of 2,376 Hotels in Wuhan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Spectacular hotel with a revolving restaurant on top of landmark building in Optics Valley, Wuhan. Level of service is excellent, reaching Western standards. Breakfast includes traditional specialities of the region, including custom made noodle soup variations (highly recommended). For those missing Western tastes, there is a KFC across the road. Room quality is nice, comfortable beds in junior suite. Staff friendly and professional. Western tourists were rare. Nearby shopping centre hosts karaoke bar, another one across the roundabout has a Starbucks lookalike. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobyGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 937 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good points:
- convenience if you have apointments around this part of town, most hotels and downtown Wuhan are quite far away
- that's the only reason to stay here unless you like the usual Chinese oppulent lobby type hotel that delivers littel behind the facade

What I didn't like:
- wirless internet is prety useless most of the time and when it works so slow that you give up
- rooms are OK but no more - 3-4 star
- fitness center is closed, there is a little provisorical room but not worth going
- pool is closed
- beds are ulra hard (I like firm but this is the next level)
- Japanese restaurant is average, service is shoddy
- guest services speak very little English
- breakfast is sub-standard - no chance of a decent coffee either

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100daysperyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I spent 4 nights here (on business in Wuhan)- on checking in I was advised that I was being upgraded from a ‘superior’ room to an ‘executive’ room on the Executive (24th) floor. The room was a little on the small size but very well appointed, very clean, good bathroom with bath and shower. The bed was very firm (with lovely 'fluffy' pillows!)- but that suited me well. My only gripe was the air conditioning- an issue I seem to recall with other Trip Advisor reviews of this hotel. The room was pretty warm when I arrived so I endeavoured to adjust the air-conditioning. Eventually I set it down to 10 and, finally, 0 degrees and it made no difference. A call to housekeeping resulted in a visit from the maintenance man who whirled his thermometer around and then proceeded to offer me a report in Chinese and then left. I assumed that action of some kind was being taken. 12 hours later it was the same so I called again. 5 minutes later someone arrived with a portable a/c unit, turned it on and departed. Alas, this unit (when I had worked out the Chinese instructions) did very little. I just put up with it after that. I suspect that the a/c in this hotel simply doesn’t work all that well!
The hotel was typical of many Asian 4-4½ star hotels with its diamonte-studded and glitzy gilded edges! It is also well-appointed and the service couldn’t be faulted (English is a bit of a challenge with many).
Breakfast is geared mainly to the Asian clientele but there’s enough of everything to satisfy anyone’s tastes. I dined in the 28th floor revolving restaurant a couple of times, once ordering from the a la carte menu and the other time from the buffet. My a la carte order was very simple- Pasta Carbonara. It took 50 minutes to arrive and the end result was a little short on the bacon and swimming in a lake of cream- not great. The buffet spans a circle about 100 metres in circumference and although, again, mostly Chinese choices, should have something for everyone. Desserts were the highlight for me. For Western tastes outside of the hotel nearby options are really only the fast-food options such as KFC, MacDonalds, Pizza Hut, etc.
There are vast shopping malls close to the hotel, but, in exploring these of an evening, I certainly felt the ‘odd one out’. Outside of the hotel, in 4 days, I saw 2 Westerners and probably a couple of dozen INSIDE the hotel!
The hotel is situated in a very busy part of this city (come to think of it from what I saw of this city (described by some, I note, as ‘apocalyptic’) ALL of it is frenetic) and the noise is incessant.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for one of the higher floors- the roads below are choked and noisy 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed in Deluxe room during 25 - 29 October 2012. The room is wonderful, equipped with razor blade, shaving cream, comb, toothbrush, toothpaste etc.. The hotel surrounds by several shopping malls and local restaurants. So the traffic condition there is bad and I heard the sound of car horn even I stayed at 11th floor. One problem that I found in the room is about the air conditioner. At the maximum fan power and lowest temperature level, the temperature is 25.6 degC (the hotel technician showed me). This might due to the a/c is central and my room is very far from the AHU. Anyway, the hotel provided me the portable a/c. In addition, its breakfast buffet is tasteful and variety. Furthermore, the hotel allowed me to check out at 2 pm on the date that I checked out (my flight is at 7 pm)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ireung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel is situated in optics valley (about 1hr cab ride from airport). Walking distance to lots of restaurants, shopping & activity. Lots of outdoor karaoke Friday evenings. Suite (11th floor, corner) is very spacious and nice. Very clean. Western style Buffet breakfast is great, hotel is beautiful. Friendly staff- great option

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndigoGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is comfortable and the food quality and bar servce was very good. It's quite tricky to get into the hotel via the roundabout outside which is always busy, so be prepared for quite a delay. This is compounded by an main road exit not be available due to adjacent building. When I stayed the internal shops and health centre were all closed (for rennovation!). Internally the decor of the place looks grand (until you look at the wiring on the floor level behind the reception desk) and the rooms are well furnished, but in a slightly worn looking condition. The bathroom shows signs of a number of DIY fixes, with consequent eye sore legacies in poorly finished work. The tiling was mostyl clean but not perfect. Turn down service does not seem to occur. All room services were working. As other reviews imply the beds are more than firm..there is a thin cushioning matress now on the bed. I found it very firm but ok. There is no conditioning in bathroom so it gets rather warm in there. Food in Chiinese restaurant and revolving top floor restaurant is very good but service somewhat distant..plenty of people just no action! So overall this is certainly not 5 star but 4 yes, and in Wuhan that means this is a good place to stay!

Room Tip: Always go for a high elevation room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

When I first saw the hotel, everything seemed nice. That was until I'd been there overnight. There were lots of fancy features, but somehow, it just didn't quite come together. Examples are illustrative:

- There were two TVs in the room. One wouldn't stay turned off. It kept powering up to the hotel channel with terrible music. I had to get housekeeping to unplug it so it wouldn't keep me up at night.

- The stand for your suitcase was in the living room, 30 feet from the closet or bed where you'd actually need your stuff. It made no sense.

- The air conditioning was noisy -- a common cheap motel flaw, but not appropriate in this kind of room

- there were multiple plugs by the desk, but none available by the bed.

Somehow, this fancy suite I had just didn't come together. What should have been a nice room somehow just wasn't up to snuff. So much pretension, and the little details were wrong. It's sad really - they've got a fancy hotel that's pretty mediocre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T9-Orca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wuhan hotels
Xudong
Renaissance Wuhan Hotel
Renaissance Wuhan Hotel
#9 of 2,376 in Wuhan
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shangri-La Hotel, Wuhan
#7 of 2,376 in Wuhan
1,524 reviews
Wanda Realm Wuhan
#13 of 2,376 in Wuhan
70 reviews
Westin Wuhan Wuchang
#2 of 2,376 in Wuhan
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Optics Valley Hotel Wuhan Wuchang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Optics Valley Hotel Wuhan Wuchang

Address: No.726 Luoyu Road, Wuchang District, Wuhan 430074, China
Location: China > Hubei > Wuhan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Wuhan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wuhan
#19 Best Value Hotel in Wuhan
Price Range: $95 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Optics Valley Hotel Wuhan Wuchang 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Optics Valley Hotel Wuhan Wuchang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Optics Valley Wuhan Hotel Wuhan
Ramada Wuhan
Wuhan Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing