We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting old, but pink room is hilarious.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Wuhan Mayflowers Hotel
Ranked #24 of 2,350 Hotels in Wuhan
Albury, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Getting old, but pink room is hilarious.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is my second stay at this hotel, I choose this one as it's the closest to where friends live. Both times I've paid for an executive room but on this visit the executive lounge was not open for breakfasts but didn't matter as the main restaurant was probably better - good choice of food. Compared to hotels in Hankou the rooms here are quite small and expensive, getting a bit dated but were clean and quiet. This time I was given the female executive room, burst out laughing when I walked in with the pink lacey curtains, pink bed linen, pink bathrobes, pink trinkets on bedside tables and the funniest bit - the teddy bear in a pink dress on the sofa - just what every female executive needs : )
Beds are quite hard (a Chinese thing), water pressure could be better, and no wifi in rooms. All staff are friendly, even with the language barrier, not all reception staff speak English but you can usually find one who does. Was not impressed when I asked the bellboy to get me a taxi, he stopped and asked one cab, it didn't want to go where I was going so the bellboy walked back inside the hotel and left me to find my own cab.
Next trip I will look to see if anything at least 4 star near my friends place but if not I guess I'll be back here again - it's not too bad but could be better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    760
    245
    33
    7
See reviews for
13
12
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Date of Stay: March 2012
I was here for work, simple and discreet hotels. English is well spoken at the reception while the level is average by the waiters in the breakfast room.
At the Hotel you can buy tickets for the plane and train, just ask the friendly reception staff.
Very convenient location, within 300m because there are different types of supermarkets and restaurants (Western, pizza, Mc 'Donald's, and Japanese).
Not far from the Yellow Crane Tower in Wuhan famous.

I enclose a business card (March 2012)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcVicenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our family has stayed at Mayflowers a number of times over the years. We keep returning because of proximity to in-laws and central location in Wuchang. From here it is fairly easy to get to anywhere in Wuchang and a strait shot to Hankou (if you can get a cab to take you).

We do not regret staying here this trip but will not do so again next year if renovation is not performed. The area rugs and carpet in public areas are beginning to get ragged and dirty. I am not sure why they do not replace as it would be easy and not too costly.

The rooms are satisfactory but certainly showing age. The carpets are barely clean and could use replacement. The rooms are sufficiently sized. For a family of four, two connecting rooms was perfect. The price/room was RMB400 which is fair in Wuhan.

I recall the western breakfast being much better. There was more variety and I think they cooked omelets to order. Not so any more. The Asian breakfast was quite good.

The concierge was moderately helpful. Do not expect much English anywhere in the hotel. We were able to perform basic transactions in English but not much more. The doormen had to be coaxed into getting cabs - it takes some effort to get a Taxi in Wuhan. Overall, the service was barely acceptable even by China standards.

We did eat regularly in the restaurant on the third floor. It is consistently good. Everything there is quite pricy but the environment is quite nice and naturally convenient.

We did extend our stay once and run up a modest restaurant tab and asked to increase the deposit on the credit card twice. In most countries, the hotel takes the credit card once when checking in then settles up upon departure. In China, keeping a deposit current is the norm as there is very little trust in a country that largely operates on cash.

There is a new hotel a couple blocks away called the new beacon new times hotel. We had dinner there and it looks good. If Mayflowers is not renovated within the next year, we will stay at the new place next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The twin bed room offers two beds with 1.2m with what suits the whole family. Good value for what you get. A disappointment was the pool since the kids were very much looking forward to. The whole pool area is a bit run down, the pool very cold and the showers/changing rooms are used as smoking and dressing room for staff :-(

Pro:
- good value rooms
- good location close to Wuchan railway station
- nice rooms with good view
- bathroom with shower and bath
- free hight speed internet access (no WiFi)
- swimming pool in summer (otherwise water very cold)

Cons:
- has seen it's best times some years ago
- staff needs to get better into english for a 5* place
- wellness area is a bit run down and not clean

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family_Mischmisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed one night here in Wuhan - rooms were fairly small but nicely done out with great views of the city. Staff were pleasant. Buffet was OK although there were a few odd dishes (must just be my Western tastes!). Aircon in the rooms was a little ineffective but otherwise no complaints!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazandbabs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Close to the Wuhan Station. Reasonable price. The room is clean and tidy, bathroom has both shower room and bath tub. Free internet access. But no entertainment around the hotel. We needed to take a taxi to go to the town centre for fun.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stayed here in August while in the process of adopting our second daughter. The hotel was very nicely located, the staff helpful and the breakfast buffet my husband's favorite during our stay in China. The hotel staff was kind enough to have toys and a crib (one that was just fine) in our room. There was also a baby bathtub placed in our bathroom. I will agree that it was a bit shabby, but it was still clean and quite nice. Although another guest complained of smoke, we had no experience with it during the time we were there. There is a lounge on the main floor and we saw no one smoking there ever. Our room was always cleaned nicely and it and our floor never smelled of smoke. The indoor pool was quite lovely and each time we used it, we were the only ones there. Men and women enter from separate very fancy dressing rooms.
Wuhan is a very busy city and the street below the hotel has to be one of the busiest. You can see a McDonald's across the street, but it is far easier and safer to stay on your side of the road and walk a very large block past some cute shops to a major intersection. When you look to the left, you will see a McD's about halfway down the block. Right before the McD's is a department store and on it's top floor is one of our favorite food courts. You do order at each stand, get a ticket, pay for the item and then go back and pick up your food. Once you get used to the system, it's a snap.
You will be stared at in Wuhan. It can be a bit disconcerting, but we had no incidence. The places listed in your guide book of worthy to visit are pretty much it. They are lovely, however, and we enjoyed both the Rare Stone Museum and Yellow Crane Tower very much.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wuhan hotels
1.6 mi away
Wanda Realm Wuhan
Wanda Realm Wuhan
#12 of 2,350 in Wuhan
66 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Wuhan Riverside
Hilton Wuhan Riverside
#21 of 2,350 in Wuhan
33 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wanda Reign Wuhan
Wanda Reign Wuhan
#15 of 2,350 in Wuhan
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Tian LU Hotel Wuhan
2.3 mi away
Westin Wuhan Wuchang
Westin Wuhan Wuchang
#4 of 2,350 in Wuhan
257 reviews
4.7 mi away
New World Wuhan Hotel
New World Wuhan Hotel
#1 of 2,350 in Wuhan
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Wuhan Mayflowers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Wuhan Mayflowers Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER Wuhan Mayflowers Hotel
Address: No.385 Wuluo Road, Wuchang District, Wuhan 430070, China
Location: China > Hubei > Wuhan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wuhan
#22 Luxury Hotel in Wuhan
#24 Best Value Hotel in Wuhan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Wuhan Mayflowers Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Wuhan Mayflowers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wuhan
Wuhan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing