We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Wuhan Wuchang
Ranked #2 of 2,362 Hotels in Wuhan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Impressive building, far away from downtown, very poor service, breakfast very Chinese, and most of staff don't speak English. After a struggle ordering my dinner they got the order totally wrong. I don't know if this is the case of all hotels Wuhan.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77Alchemist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWestinWuhan, General Manager at Westin Wuhan Wuchang, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear ‘77Alchemist77’

Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read about your experience and have shared your comments with our team. We will certainly look for opportunities to improve the service we offer our guests and hope we have the chance to welcome you back to see the changes.

Regards - Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Westin Wuhan Wuchang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 291 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a large group of 30+ and we all enjoyed it. The pool is heated to 28C so its not too cold but just nice. A tip is to have breakfast, brunch at the cafe downstairs it is quite nice. I ended up getting some of their items in the shop e.g. dumplings, macaroons as souveniers :)

Location is being built up and can certainly only get better in the future. At present there are no malls or shops nearby so no McDs, starbucks etc..

I must highlight the front desk service. In china, there is a habit for someone to cut queue if they feel they have a quick question or a small task, and they dont feel bad asking and staff tend to respond. This happened to me while i was checking out, the front desk staff listened while continue to process my checkout, then politelty asked him to wait as she was serving me. Nice! Would love to see this in more places/cities in china.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacGyver-SG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWestinWuhan, General Manager at Westin Wuhan Wuchang, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear “MacGyver-SG1”

Thank you for giving feedback on your recent stay at The Westin Wuhan Wuchang.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding the pool, restaurant and particularly the service experience you had at the Front Desk.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards - Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Newly opened, well loacted overlooking the Yangtze and Han rivers, facing the older part of Wuhan. Service attentive, Breakfast and Brunch delicious. Walking promenade just across the street. Overall and enjoyment and a pleasure for the family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrotherYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWestinWuhan, General Manager at Westin Wuhan Wuchang, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear “BrotherYo”

Thank you for giving us a wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to The Westin Wuhan Wuchang again soon!

Regards - Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed there a month and half ago for business. The hotel was pretty much a standard Westin. My window was directly facing the Yangtze River, which was a major plus. However the location left a lot to be desired. It was not anywhere near the city centers. So if you want to go anywhere, you will have to either take a cab or first walk for like 10-15 minutes and then use the subway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWestinWuhan, General Manager at Westin Wuhan Wuchang, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear “LewNY”

I appreciate you giving feedback on your recent stay at The Westin Wuhan Wuchang and we are pleased you enjoyed the view over the Yangtze River.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a hotel with what you can expect from a five star Westin. Great looks, clean, good restaurant, spacious well decorated rooms, good bed and a good shower. What else do you need! Well first of all there is not much to do around the hotel although the sub way is at walking distance if you want to go into town. And yes you can take a taxi. But unfortunately no shops or restaurants or bars close by. The gYm is great and if they want to make your stay even better they should make sure that check in time 3 PM is 3 PM and not 4.30 PM and paying 60 RMB for 24 hours wifi internet......!?! WiFi should be free of charge in a 5 star hotel or be clever raise the price a bit and make me happy at check in by offering me free Wifi. Would give me a different feel....!!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ronald3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWestinWuhan, General Manager at Westin Wuhan Wuchang, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear “Ronald D”

Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback about your recent stay at The Westin Wuhan Wuchang.

We were pleased to read your positive comments about our rooms, restaurants and Westin Workout Gym.

I also see that you would like internet included next time you visit. I would certainly suggest you take advantage of booking a Westin Executive Club room which includes internet, access to the Club Lounge and much much more.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Wuhan. Stunningly large and beautiful lobby. For a city which is not much known outside of China, an amazing property in the middle of China on the banks of Yangtze river. Serves as good place to stay for business and leisure travellers. Fast Internet, good breakfast, comfortable bed and friendly service. All delivered at a not so high cost. Staff understanding of english needs attention.

Room Tip: Rooms on riverside have a good view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manishgour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWestinWuhan, General Manager at Westin Wuhan Wuchang, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear “manishgour”

Appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us at The Westin Wuhan Wuchang.

Your comments are very encouraging to the team and we are pleased to see that you rated internet, breakfast, our ‘Heavenly’ bed and friendly service so highly for both leisure and business travelers.

Your comments regarding English levels are noted and please be assured we have plans for this in place so we can steadily improve.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Westin Wuhan Wuchang. It’s a beautiful hotel that’s well designed for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel’s most stand-out feature is its grand lobby. Wow! It is graced with a massive chandelier, soaring columns and ornate, gold-colored artwork along the walls. It’s unfortunate that very few new hotels these days have grand lobbies. I was pleased to see that the Westin Wuhan’s didn’t disappoint.

The hotel’s location by the river means some rooms have views of the mighty Yangtze River. The room was very spacious with a huge king-sized bed and comfortable pillows. The décor had a polished, luxurious, Chinese feel without being over-the-top. There’s a very cool window between the bathroom and bedroom. It makes both sides of the glass feel roomier and brighter. The bathroom is well appointed with an excellent rain shower and plenty of shelf space.

This hotel has the best black-out curtains I’ve ever encountered: large, heavy, flowing drapes set on tracks that overlap so there’s no annoying gap to let light in where the drapes meet in the middle. I also appreciated the in-room safe that was large and opened from the top (instead of the side) for easier access.

The breakfast is excellent with plenty of Chinese and Western options. I also enjoyed the classy lobby bar with plenty of comfortable seating. There is a lovely garden in the back of the hotel. It’s a wonderful place to wander around and relax.

I found the service to be excellent. The staff were proactively helpful, eager to please, welcoming and friendly. Every staff member I encountered had excellent English language skills. I think the hotel has resolved the service shortfalls mentioned by previous reviewers – perhaps just some early teething issues. I recommend the Westin Wuchang to business and leisure travellers visiting Wuhan.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank PeanutButters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWestinWuhan, General Manager at Westin Wuhan Wuchang, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear “PeanutButters”

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Westin Wuhan Wuchang.

We very much appreciate your positive comments particularly on our lobby, rooms, food & beverage venue‘s and most importantly - service!

Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wuhan hotels
Shangri-La Hotel, Wuhan
#7 of 2,362 in Wuhan
1,520 reviews
New World Wuhan Hotel
#1 of 2,362 in Wuhan
696 reviews
Xudong
Renaissance Wuhan Hotel
Renaissance Wuhan Hotel
#9 of 2,362 in Wuhan
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Wuhan Wuchang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Wuhan Wuchang

Address: No.96 Linjiang Road, Wuchang District, Wuhan 430062, China
Location: China > Hubei > Wuhan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2,362 Hotels in Wuhan
Price Range: $102 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Wuhan Wuchang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Westin Wuhan Wuchang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing