We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for a business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Optics Valley Kingdom Plaza Hotel
Ranked #806 of 2,338 Hotels in Wuhan
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great choice for a business stay”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have been at this hotel at least 5 times and rooms are all high quality, with clean and modern furniture, spacious, clean and very funtional. A great service -- better English among staff would be desirable, but I always managed without speaking Chinese -- very nice breakfast and dinner buffets and a couple of blocks away from the lake and from the commercial centers. Fitness center and indoor pool are also great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena_RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

While I'm certain that this is one of the more comfortable places to stay in Wuhan, my two-star rating is based on comparisons only to other hotels in this price range, rather than hotels across the board.

This hotel has been infected with the same trend towards trendiness and gadgetry that seems to be sweeping China in general. I recently arrived at this hotel at 9pm after a long transpacific flight sequence during which the airlines lost my luggage. As I had business meetings the next morning starting at 9am, I was in a bit of a quandary since I had no clean clothes -- I mean, none at all -- to change into. I could not exactly hit the streets looking for a laundry as I had nothing to wear while getting my clothes washed.

One would think that a hotel with 800 (I'm guessing) staff on the payroll and eleven hours at their disposal would figure out a way to wash one set of clothes. But apparently the Wuhan Kingdom believes that what the business traveller really wants is lots of marble, seven different lighting buttons next to the bed, a shoehorn, a picture window between the boudoir and bathroom (why?) and all sorts of other gadgets and trinkets adorning the walls. No. What the business traveller wants from a high-end hotel is the ability to help out in the event of a minor crisis such as having one's bags lost by the airlines.

I ended up washing my clothes myself in the bathtub that night and drying them with the hair dryer. This, I feel, is a failure of management and not of the hotel employees, who were endlessly courteous and endlessly unhelpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
312 reviews
233 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

OK, how should I go about rating this hotel?

First, it is relatively new and it is a local China hotel that wants to make itself a modern European hotel. On this, the hotel has to try harder as this goes beyond dressing up th staff bjut also in terms of its decor and furnishing.

Room in my opinion stilll has a "Chinese" feel with lots of wooden furnishing and they tried too hard at creating the see through shower which is not tastefullly done.

For hotel at this price, I would expect the room to be much bigger and it has a rather complicated lighting system that leave my customers complaining.

On the whole, level of service was good as staff try to make you feel comfortable top down. The breakfast is good as well which is crucial.

Location wise, it is almost an hour from the airport but within 10 mins to the main shopping area.

Would want to see how time will wear this hotel down or would they maintain the good standard

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_TravellerSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Located in the Optics Valley region of Wuhan, this hotel is right in the center of lots of activity. The hotel has beautiful furnishings and a very warm and gracious staff. I stayed on the 17th floor which has an "executive lounge" for cocktails or snacks and open for a very good breakfast in the morning. The room was spacious, with very nice furniture, including a sitting area with couch, a (somewhat incongruous) desk, and large comfortable bed. The bathroom had both a bath and shower stall. The room was absolutely quiet and looked out over a spacious park, lake, schoolyard and businesses.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wuhan hotels
Xiongchu International Hotel
#224 of 2,338 in Wuhan
184 reviews
Junyi Dynasty Hotel
#32 of 2,338 in Wuhan
49 reviews
Wanda Reign Wuhan
#18 of 2,338 in Wuhan
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guanggu Square
Logosun Hotel
Logosun Hotel
#247 of 2,338 in Wuhan
203 reviews
Zhongnan
New Beacon New Times International Hotel
Poly Hotel Wuhan
#91 of 2,338 in Wuhan
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Optics Valley Kingdom Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Optics Valley Kingdom Plaza Hotel

Property: Optics Valley Kingdom Plaza Hotel
Address: No.1 Te Wujiawan, Luoyu Road, Hongshan District, Wuhan 430074, China
Location: China > Hubei > Wuhan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #806 of 2,338 Hotels in Wuhan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Optics Valley Kingdom Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 367
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Optics Valley Kingdom Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing