We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hostel, with good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pathfinder International Youth Hostel
Ranked #18 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Wuhan
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Hostel, with good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here with a friend whist the school I was working at in Guangzhou was on Christmas holidays. We were at the hostel for 3 nights and I must say it is one of the better hostels I have stayed in.

There is a really nice and relaxed atmosphere there which I think is helped by the staff encouraging visitors to leave their stamp on the hotel in the form of art work in pretty much every room you go in to. There is a large seating area with comfy sofas and seating for lounging, going on your laptop, or ordering food. Or there is a smaller area next to the reception to order hot drinks form when if you are only having a quick one.

The room I stayed in was a 8 bed dorm. There was plenty of lockable cupboards should you want one, and the WIFI connection seemed to work fine throughout the hostel when I was there. The only thing I would probably change if I should ever return would be to get a room which had its own toilet. As we were there in December the place was really cold and during the middle of the night I have to go down 2 flights of stairs and out into a an outside courtyard where the toilets and showering facilities were. These were FREEZING and not lit the best. The showers in the morning were also just as cold, so maybe being in the comfort of your room, as so not to brave the elements would make this experience a little easier.

It is not exactly the most cleanest of hostels, but Wuhan is an industrial town, so therefore not entirely clean itself. I left with a bad chest and throat jsut from the couple of days we were there.

Wuhan is massive, even in Chinese terms. The city has actually been made up of 2 other cities, so therefore you will find things to do, it is just a case of actually getting there and back easily. However I found the taxi drivers to be really friendly and helpful (there was no metro at the time I visited, however I know that there was talk of one being constructed.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennett_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    65
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
7
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. We were only here for about 2 nights in June 2012, but we really enjoyed it.

We chose a room with double bed and private bathroom. Our room was "fairly clean" ... not the cleanest hostel we stayed at during our travels around China, but it was pretty good. The beds were pretty comfortable for a hostel too which was nice.

The grounds of this place are quite quaint. The hostel is set back from the road, and it has it's own courtyard with greenery, and nice places to hang out. We also enjoyed a drink down in the hostel lounge & cafe every now and then.

Overall we would definitely return to this hostel if we return to Wuhan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ains19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

On Annual Leave, I decided to go to Wuhan for siteseeing and experienece the different culture in mid of China.

Found the hostel on www.hostelworld.com and it was recommended by the previous customer.

I booked their private double room, the Wifi works pretty good in my room and in the common area. The only weakness is the hot water in the morning turns warm when temprature is only -3 outside.

Receptionist is very kind and helpful.

Me and my girlfriend joined the Drum party on 22 Dec. 12 which was the end day of Maya Calendar. We enjoyed the moment organized by the Pathfinder.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarodZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

This is my third time staying here. The only factor being I needed a cheap place nearest to Wuhan university.

Stayed in May, June and December. All mixed dorms (the only type available).

Although my third time, this was the only time when I saw an activity carried out, and I must say the atmosphere was great. It was a performance, singing and instruments playing mainly. One could sing if so desires, there's a keyboardist for accompaniment.

Rooms are as others said, quite dirty. Saw small insects crawling in the middle of the night around the edges of the wooden cupboards. So just don't place food items there.

Liked that the beds are especially comfortable, seems bigger than hostels I've stayed in, could put a row of things on my bed and still having enough space to stretch my legs and flip and turn.

The first time I came, I met more locals, subsequently it was more foreigners or from outside Wuhan. The lobby or bar area was a convenient meeting place bar smoking. But the entire Wuhan is probably a smoking cove.

Service wise, I preferred the boys working night shift, they were more willing to meet my demands compared to the morning shift.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

after booking the hostel i had quite a few worries about the nature of the facilities here.
(after reading all the reviews about the place being dirty and the staff unfriendly)
i must say i was very surprised! (so surprised that i felt obliged to write this review)
the room is very nice! with comfortable bed and a well working Air conditioning
(most welcome in the excruciating heat of Wuhan!)
the toilet are Chinese but clean and the shower is good and new!
big mirrors in the room and shower :) and a vintage TV (that i don't think work - but is cute)
the staff are very friendly and helpful and the common areas are very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed @ the Pathfinder International Youth Hostel June 2012. There were a lot of activities going on: movie premières, they were painting the bar, etc. Staff is very friendly and they speak English. During my visited, the cleanliness of the room and shared bathroom was very poor. I think the staff focusses too much on the hipness of the place and forgot about the quality. Food quality was also poor.

They have a great outdoor garden terrace. The inside bar/restaurant area is also very nice, with a separate TV room to watch sports games, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evert_d_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We (1 couple + 1 friend) spent a couple of days at this hostel before moving to a hotel next door. We were traveling in China for a month staying at similar places but this was by far the worst experience. I want to point out that neither of us are picky and we have slept in all kinds of places but this just wasn't okay.

Positive:
+ excellent coffee
+laundry facilities
+ nice enough staff that spoke english
+ comfy bed

Negative:
- We booked a cheaper room for 2 people but when we arrived we had to pay for a more expensive room.
- It says that they have 24 h hot water, however there was no hot water between 2pm and 6 pm (this is not a problem if you know in advance)
- Wifi didn't work in our room which was apparently "too far away" from the router
- we had a private bath and had to shower on top of the squat toilet (didn't check the common showers maybe they were better)
- the floor in our room was very dirty, I made the mistake of walking barefoot from the bathroom to the bed (2m) and my feet were black (seriously)
- the bathroom was not clean either and there was a very old and dark toilet brush laying on the floor.
- we had to empty the trash can in the bathroom oursleves
- the windows had no isolation so it must be freezing in winter
- there is a dog next door that howled all night so we couldn't sleep (this is of course not the hostel's fault but it might be good to know).
- they say they book tickets but that does not seem to include long-distance trains and buses

At the end we moved to a hotel in a building almost next door, for the same price we got a excellent room.

All in all, if this hostel were cheaper it might do for a night or two but for the amount of money they want for a double room you might as well get a hotel.
I want to underline that I am not picky and I can sleep anywhere as long as it is clean and the bed is okay. But please look into other options, I am sure there are several in Wuhan. Checking into a chinese hotel is not difficult if you have a phrasebook.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wuhan hotels
Dorsett Wuhan
#16 of 2,314 in Wuhan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
New World Wuhan Hotel
#1 of 2,314 in Wuhan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Shangri-La Hotel, Wuhan
#5 of 2,314 in Wuhan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jinjiang Inn Wuhan Liuduqiao
#905 of 2,314 in Wuhan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Hankou Railway Station
Super 8 Wuhan Hankou Railway Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pathfinder International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pathfinder International Youth Hostel

Property: Pathfinder International Youth Hostel
Address: No.368 Zhongshan Road, Wuchang District, Wuhan 430061, China
Location: China > Hubei > Wuhan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Wuhan
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pathfinder International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing