We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, nice room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou
Ranked #474 of 1,462 Hotels in Zhengzhou
West Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, nice room.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The best hotel in Zhengzhou for Westerners hands down. One or two english speaking staff helped make this hotel a real treat. The service was excellent. We booked a room without a window not realising that after a few days room got hotter and hotter due to centralized heating system. When I told the staff they very kindly gave us a free upgrade to room with a window which was much more comfortable. Room without window would be suitable 3 nights max. Location is just ok. A few 7 Elevens within walking distance. Taxis are easy to catch right outside hotel. Hotel concierge will also phone for a taxi and also help organise tours and buying train tickets. Room cleanliness was not too. bad - carpet could be cleaner but bottled water and other amenities supplied daily

Room Tip: If staying only a couple of days choose room without window - excellent price. But if staying longer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liu c, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou. We will try our best to settle the problem you complainted and we are looking forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    81
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
3
5
3
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Though can't compare by number of stars. This hotel is value for money, secure, honest & helpful staffs in this hotel. Very good for business trip, also, we rent hotel car to travelled to different tourist spots from this hotel. 45 mins to see the Yellow River, 80 mins to famous Shaolin Temple located in Song Mountain in Dengfeng City. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks for reading.

Room Tip: Very nice quiet on this street compare to the main road outside. Nice import fruit downstair next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devilcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liu c, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou. We will try our best to settle the problem you complainted and we are looking forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiehl, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The hotel is quite good but located not very well. Further, some refurbishment could do it much better. However, value for money is fair and also in-house food acceptable. Breakfast could offer a bit more western-style.

Room Tip: Check out: vouchers at the reception desk offer reduced rates for dinner buffet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Detlef N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liu c, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
All the guest advices and suggestions will help us to make progress and provide better service.Again, thank you for staying our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Zhengzhou can be a dreary city in wintertime, and the Ramada turned out to be a decent place if you're not expecting perfection. The best part was that we were lucky enough to find one of China's coolest hole-in-the-wall bars, Target, just a block away (filled with a good mix of expat teachers and young Chinese).

As for the hotel....

The Good: Excellent and friendly help from the front desk (Zoe, who is truly first-rate) and the concierge (Lowell) in helping us arrange a trip to Shaolin. Not a bad breakfast. Clean rooms. Reasonable decor. Location did not seem special at first, but there were a number of interesting bars within 1/2 mile of the place.

The Bad: Rooms were too warm at night (mine was 26 C, or 78 F), with no way to adjust the thermostat. The "modern" lighting is extremely dim. The Executive Club is the most depressing lounge I've ever seen. Looks like a storage room with ugly and uncomfortable high-backed chairs arranged in a grid. We ordered a couple of drinks there but they never showed up (the alcohol is kept on the first floor, while the club is on the top floor). There were some decent-looking sofas in a dark, unlit corner, but the staff said they were off-limits!

Overall: Either shut down the lounge or remodel it into a real one. Put real thermostats or air conditioning in the rooms. Add some lights.

Room Tip: Get a window room. More light and possibly cooler by opening the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAsiaTraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liu c, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
All the guest advices and suggestions will help us to make progress and provide better service.Again, thank you for staying our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raanana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This was not the hotel listed on our itinerary and the guide made an effort to ensure that we had a good room The staff spoke limited English but the atmosphere was friendly
The hotel is in a commercial area
We couldn't find anything interesting to see or a suitable place to eat.
Had we spoken Chinese our experience may have been better
Glad we only stayed one night

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtsraanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liu c, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
All the guest advices and suggestions will help us to make progress and provide better service.Again, thank you for staying our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I arrived at the Ramada Plaza around 6 PM after an extended cab ride from CGO. When I opened the door of the cab at the front entrance to the hotel I was assaulted by the most foul stench imaginable. Some combination of sewer and rotting organic matter. It was absolutely awful. This did not bode well for the rest of the trip. The staff at the front desk spoke very limited English and checking in was quite an ordeal. I had reserved 'exquisite suite' online with my company travel agent. When I arrived in the room, I'm sorry to say that it was neither. The room was small, dirty and very old. I expect to not drink the tap water, but I certainly don't expect the water itself to stink. This made the shower an uncomfortable experience and even made the towels smell with a similar odor. The windows were so dirty that I could barely see out, even in the daylight. The bed was a nightmare. I sank into the middle and felt many springs in my back. In fact, had the place actually been clean, I probably would have slept on the floor instead. I realize that this is inland China and that Zhengzhou is still an emerging market to western business. However; I would expect a US hotel to be a little more friendly to western visitors. I wont be back to the Ramada Plaza.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liu c, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou. We will try our best to settle the problem you complainted and we are looking forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We arrived really late at the hotel, following a long train delay, to find that the booking we had made through Hotels.com for 3 nights wasn't there. The staff spoke a limited amount of English and us very little Chinese. They didn't appear to know what to do so in the end I called Hotels.com on my own mobile. I ended up passing my mobile to the receptionist who ran around looking panicked and eventually disappeared with it. I had to ask for it back and for the hotel to use their own phone to call the UK...they ended up putting us in a windowless cell, with faulty airconditioning. By this time it was almost midnight and we were exhausted and hungry. We told them we were not happy and that we wanted to move the next day. The room stank of cigarettes and the TV kept freezing up on the English language channels. Room service dinner was mediocre to say the least.

This did happen and we moved to a room with large windows which was fresh, modern and clean. They offered us fruit and weirdly two bags with crisps and cans of Coke in as compensation. They also offered us two free breakfasts from the buffet which is extensive and good (though not replenished after about 9.15 so if you go late, there is little left). On check out, they tried to charge us for the room we moved too and this led to 20 minutes of arguing. Eventually the manager was called and he knew all about out situation, shouted at the receptionist we'd been dealing with in Chinese and we paid only for what we owed rather than paying again for the accommodation. Unfortunately, this led us to miss our onwards train as we crawled through the endless tailbacks in the town.

The town itself doesn't really warrant a stay. We only went due to difficulties in getting trains and because it was a useful base for Shaolin and the Longman Caves (which we didn't get to due to the very late night and the need to shift rooms again). The hotel booked us onto a trip to Shaolin which was Chinese speaking only even though we had asked for an English guide, an experience but we learned very little about the place. The Chinese people on the trip with us were very kind and warm.

The hotel is very modern but I don't think that they are used to Western guests. They were hosting a conference whilst we were there and the delegates were all Chinese and Indian. They stated that they had a pool online and in their printed materials but they don't actually have one. There is a public one around the corner but we didn't go.

Location-wise, it isn't in the centre of the town and it is a big place to try and walk around. It is surrounded by the apparently best bars and restaurants in town though they were quiet (and we were there over a weekend).

In all, if the booking situation hadn't happened and we hadn't had a windowless cell for a night, I would give the place a better rating. Its fine as a business hotel (indeed the business centre as the cheapest I came across in China) but there isn't much reason to be in Zhengzhou really.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank confen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liu c, Front Office Manager at Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
All the guest advices and suggestions will help us to make progress and provide better service.Again, thank you for staying our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zhengzhou hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Zhengzhou
Hilton Zhengzhou
#3 of 1,462 in Zhengzhou
183 reviews
2.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Zhengzhou
JW Marriott Hotel Zhengzhou
#2 of 1,462 in Zhengzhou
188 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Meridien Zhengzhou
Le Meridien Zhengzhou
#1 of 1,462 in Zhengzhou
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Jako Inn(Zhengzhou Erqi)
#47 of 1,462 in Zhengzhou
1 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jinjiang Inn (Zhengzhou Dashiqiao)
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Zhengzhou Zhongzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou

Property: Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou
Address: No.11 WeiSan Road, Jinshui District, Zhengzhou 450003, China
Location: China > Henan > Zhengzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Zhengzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Zhengzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zhengzhou Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing