We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RENOVATIONS with NOISE”
Review of Great Wall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Great Wall Hotel
Ranked #465 of 1,462 Hotels in Zhengzhou
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed two nights on different dates.
There were renovations done on one floor.
On the first date of stay at 2:00 am, in the middle of the night they started to drill in the concrete just one floor under us. I went down one floor to meet some working men. They were not to be disturbed. I went to the reception angry. They responded and stopped most of the sound of reconstruction in the night.
So beware: the hotel is dated and renovations are under way. They just started!
The hotel is also far from the center. We booked because it was the only one available through Agoda. Other online bookings in Mandela were not possible.

Far way from the center. Difficult to get transport. Taxi is € 7 to center.

Room Tip: ASk whre the renovations are and book a room on the furthest floor away from it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WouterBaliIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Great Wall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 81 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

No English speaking staff at the reception. Rooms were quite small. All of them are smoking rooms so all the rooms smell. The tariff was a bit on the higher side. The buffet breakfast wasn't too great. Very few choices in western cuisine. Overall an expensive hotel and not worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulite99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I've stayed in the Great Wall hotel twice. The first time I found it cramped and underwhelming, but my recent trip in September was much improved. It is well frequented by recently-moneyed Chinese tourists.

I stayed in a deluxe queen room for about 450 yuan per night. The bed is comfortable, the furnishings fresh, and the toiletries (including bath salts) better than average in China.

The distance from the hotel to the main part of Zhengzhou (erqi plaza, railway station) is a bit far, but the walk is a pleasant, encompassing several large parks &/ temples. The character of Zhengzhou can thus be savoured.

The breakfast is local style. Foreigners, particularly Americans who begrudge Chinese establishments that don't serve copious bacon and coffee, might be disenchanted, but I was delighted with the several kinds of congee.

The one quirk, which I cannot wholly blame on the hotel, was a rogue kettle that tripped the power every time it reached climax. The electrician came three times to reset the power - each time I told housekeeping (using a combination of Chinese and hand gesturing) that the kettle was at fault, but it was never replaced. I also told the staff at reception, but who can blame them for not caring, when it is housekeeping's responsibility. The consequence was that I missed out on hot green tea each time when taking a bath, but it wouldn't be a four star Chinese hotel if it were perfect.

Housekeeping did miss a woman's stocking discarded behind the coffee table for the entire duration of my stay. I didn't mind - I treated it as a conceit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 28, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed October 11, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed July 30, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed July 28, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zhengzhou hotels
Hilton Zhengzhou
#3 of 1,462 in Zhengzhou
187 reviews
JW Marriott Hotel Zhengzhou
#2 of 1,462 in Zhengzhou
196 reviews
Le Meridien Zhengzhou
#1 of 1,462 in Zhengzhou
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jako Inn(Zhengzhou Erqi)
#44 of 1,462 in Zhengzhou
1 reviews
Railway Station
Sofitel Zhengzhou
Sofitel Zhengzhou
#4 of 1,462 in Zhengzhou
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wall Hotel

Address: No.14 Jingsan Road, Zhengzhou 450003, China
Location: China > Henan > Zhengzhou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #465 of 1,462 Hotels in Zhengzhou
Price Range: $38 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Wall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Great Wall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing