We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old hotel, great service, good value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou Zhongzhou
Ranked #10 of 1,413 Hotels in Zhengzhou
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Old hotel, great service, good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is definitely old, historical even!...in need of renovation which the staff said will happen anytime soon. But what really impressed me was the staff's attitude. Nothing is too difficult and they go out on a limb to please. I had forgotten to bring my shampoo and conditioner (I detest those tiny bottles they have in hotels which are usually impossible to squeeze out) and when I mentioned to the room staff, the next thing she came back with two big bottles of shampoo and conditioners. Such liitle touches meant more to me than a spanking new hotel that laks soul. It was nice that the hotel staff understood and speak some English. In China this is not common, especially in secondary city like Zhengzhou. The food there is good too. Breakfast at the coffee shop had lots of choices for foreigners, and the Italian restaurant was superb. My 4 nights stay there was one of the best in my travel across China. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valerie g, Manager at Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou Zhongzhou, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou and satisfaction of our service.
We are doing the renovation one floor by one floor from 1 Jan. We will deliver more luxurious facilities and amenities for guests by then. We are truly looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    159
    41
    12
    4
See reviews for
9
5
6
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nice 5 Stars Hotel in Zhengzhou!! Location is excellent as it is in the nicer part of town. Breakfast is very good from authentic chinese to western choice. Nothing to complain about!

The Concierge is very attentive and one of the best I experienced in China. I came back late from the day tour and have only 3hrs from my night flight, the concierge manager on duty help to prepare the drop off car and put all my luggages in the car while I rush back to my room for a quick shower. Once I return to the desk to checkout, everything is ready and without any delay off I go to the airport. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valerie g, Manager at Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou Zhongzhou, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou.

We do appreciate you taking the time to share your pleasant experience at Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou. It certainly is a pleasure to know that our efforts are recognized. I have passed on your positive comments to the departments concerned.

We’re look forward to welcoming you back and extending Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou international's high standards of luxury hospitality to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 for one week while completing an international adoption. Pros: a breakfast buffet with something for everyone; diligent cleaning staff; huge indoor swimming pool; onsite Italian restaurant with terrific pizza, staff who treated our newly adopted child with compassion and kindness (we were having issues!). Cons: the rooms are a bit dated and a little cramped, and at times, seemed to have a bit of an odor. We also had trouble getting really hot water. We never complained. The service was great, so I'm sure if we had complained, we would have been moved. There wasn't much else within walking distance as far as shopping or restaurants. The hotel restaurants were a little pricey for our family, so we would have enjoyed finding some less expensive options nearby. This hotel is on a very busy street in a busy area. There are local flavor places to walk back behind the hotel, but the larger shopping area is about a 20 minute walk. You can get a cheap cab it if it's too hot or too far to walk. We did try the Holiday Inn's noodle shop - not bad, but not great. Our favorite find was the nearby coffee shop (can't recall the name) that is on the second floor of the building in front of the Holiday Inn -- large, affordable menu with Western and Chinese choices. We did, on our last day, find a wonderful park worth within walking distance. Wished we had found it sooner!!! In short, this hotel met our needs and we would stay again; it just would have been nice to be able to really get out and explore the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMomfromTX76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valerie g, Manager at Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou Zhongzhou, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou as you home away from home in our city. We are delighted to have you as our guest.
We do appreciate you taking the time to share your pleasant experience at Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou.
We are devoted to offer excellent high quality service to all guests. To improve the staying experience of the guest, we already have planned to renovate. We will deliver more luxurious facilities and amenities for guests by then. We are truly looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you are looking to kick back a few with the local expat crowd, visit the White Horse tavern in the Crown Plaza Hotel. There is a pool table, ESPN sports, Carlsberg beer on tap and a live Filipino band. A good place to let your hair down and share some stories with local American, Aussie and Irish expat regulars who tend to take over the bar on Friday nights.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDWhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valerie g, Manager at Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou Zhongzhou, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou.

We do appreciate you taking the time to share your pleasant experience at White Horse Bar. It certainly is a pleasure to know that our efforts are recognized. I have passed on your positive comments to the departments concerned.

We're look forward to welcoming you back and extending Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou international's high standards of luxury hospitality to you again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The service and beauty of this hotel were outstanding, I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valerie g, Manager at Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou Zhongzhou, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou and for your good review. We are delighted to have you as our guest. We look forward of welcoming you back to one of our hotels in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Nice hotel and a few good places in the nearby area. Nice music in the lounge but watch out for the mosquitos!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valerie g, Manager at Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou Zhongzhou, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou.

It certainly is a pleasure to know that our efforts are recognized. I have passed on your positive comments to the departments concerned.

We’re look forward to welcoming you back and extending Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou international's high standards of luxury hospitality to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I was on a business trip in Zhengzhou, and due to the rush I booked to stay at the Crowne Plaza without checking out the reviews.

Now I have to say that the professional photos displayed, are indeed very professionally taken. In fact, when I was in the cab going to the hotel and when I saw it, I dropped my jaw in aghast. "Could this old, derelict building, be the Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou?"

The building is in desperate need of serious renovation. In fact, even the Holiday Inn located behind the Crowne Plaza looks much newer, although both are opened around the same time and they share the same facilities. The room looked very tired, walls strewn with old wallpaper flanked with faded wall trims that have been plastered over and over again. The bathrooms, are of course, old. I think the newest thing about the room is the flat panel screen TV. And if you're looking for the mini-bar fridge, it's not where you think it is: It's located under the writing desk.

Breakfast has much to be desired. I realized that the "continental" side of breakfast isn't exactly continental. Eggs benedict are pretty far off from the real thing, and the type of noodles used for laksa (a type of South East Asian cuisine) are waaaaay off. The best breakfast items they have are the Chinese dishes, and this is probably because the majority of guests at this hotel are domestic guests, hence a full fledged continental spread is probably not as welcome.

However, the service standards of the staff amazes me. Extremely polite and courteous, they are friendly and attentive to your questions and needs. Doesn't matter if you don't speak Chinese, they can speak enough English to help you around, and even recommend you to a couple of bars and hot spots.

Location is great, easy access to most parts of town. However, to get to the hotel sometimes the cab driver will have to make a detour around due to traffic flow restrictions. Expect rates to drop within the next two years as more 5-star hotels open in the city, otherwise a complete renovation overhaul is definitely a must to maintain market superiority!

Room Tip: Only one of the wings is non-smoking, so choose in advance and choose wisely! Hotel has only 200 plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PR_MLSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valerie g, Manager at Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou Zhongzhou, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou with us during your business trip in Zhengzhou.

We thank you for your kind comments regarding our standard services and breakfast continental buffet.
To improve the staying experience of the guest, we already have planned to renovate.

We do appreciate you taking the time to share your pleasant experience at Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou. It certainly is a pleasure to know that our efforts are recognized. I have passed on your positive comments to the departments concerned.

We’re look forward to welcoming you back and extending Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou international's high standards of luxury hospitality to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zhengzhou hotels
Hilton Zhengzhou
#1 of 1,413 in Zhengzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Railway Station
Sofitel Zhengzhou
Sofitel Zhengzhou
#5 of 1,413 in Zhengzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
JW Marriott Hotel Zhengzhou
#2 of 1,413 in Zhengzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Zhengzhou Zhongzhou
#15 of 1,413 in Zhengzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou Zhongzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou Zhongzhou

Property: Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou Zhongzhou
Address: No.115, Jinshui Rd, Jinshui Dist, Zhengzhou 450003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Henan > Zhengzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,413 Hotels in Zhengzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou Zhongzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou is located in city center, close to business center and Henan Provincial Government, and is managed by IHG hotels group. Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou, Holiday Inn Zhengzhou and Holiday Inn Express Zhengzhou are in one place and share the facilities. Stay at the peaceful Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou for 5-star service, brand new renovated guest rooms and top facilities, you will enjoy a wonderful Zhengzhou journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou Zhongzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing