We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Option in Zhengzhou”
Review of Sofitel Zhengzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Zhengzhou
Ranked #4 of 1,486 Hotels in Zhengzhou
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Overall Sofitel offers a nice business stay in a convenient location.

Downtown location, close to many restaurants and easy drive to Erqi Square and Zhengdong CBD.

Room is clean, cozy and chic, nice L'Occitane bath products, free internet.

Lobby looks a bit dated, the breakfast area is nice, buffet offers a variety of food.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knapweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy2011, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Zhengzhou, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Bonjour!

Thank you for taking the time to complete the guest satisfaction survey and rating your experience.

We are pleased to see that you were generally satisfied during your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your constructive comments.
 
We would like to inform you that our hotel renovation will start this year. This will be done with the purpose of enhancing our facilities and improving services in order to satisfy our guests needs and expectations.
 
Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Zhengzhou on your next stay.

Best regards

Nancy Wang
Director of Marketing and Communication

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 389 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

Clean and comfortable rooms with good views and soft sheets. Good location near one of the more busting areas of the city. Tasty buffet was a welcome respite from Chinese food. Decent gym. Can't ask for much else in Zhengzhou.

Room Tip: Corner rooms a good view for when it's not too smoggy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beetlebath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy2011, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Zhengzhou, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Bonjour!

We are pleased to see that you were generally satisfied with our hotel during your recent stay with us. As you know, it is feedback such as yours that enables us to reinforce the quality of our service and we really appreciate your comments.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Zhengzhou on your next stay.

Best Regards,

Nancy Wang
Director of Marketing and Communication

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for one night. Hotel is old and looks very jaded especially in the public areas.
Rooms are acceptable but also tired. Overall impression of the hotel is that hygiene standards are well below what you should expect from a so called luxury hotel. Staff was friendly. Breakfast at the Restaurant was so so, entrance door out of order and the worst part was the rather poorly equipped gym with a running machine sporting heavy rust stains!!
Lift is magnifique?.....unfortunately not at the Sofitel Zhengzhou

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxP188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy2011, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Zhengzhou, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

We sincerely apologies that some items in our hotel did not meet your expectations. We would like to inform you that our hotel renovation will start early this year including new equipment for our Gym. This will be done with the purpose of enhancing our facilities and improving services in order to satisfy our guests needs and expectations.

Thank you for your comments. We hope that you give us the opportunity to serve you again with the true Sofitel quality and service standards during your next visit in Zhengzhou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I generally choose my hotel from the reviews posted on TripAdvisor and other sites. I chose this hotel as there was really not that much choices in this city and the reviews appeared to be pretty acceptable. My two nights stay was really nothing to write home about. The good part was the location in the center of the city so easy to get around. The room was tidy but overheated so sleep was a challenge. Breakfast was good enough with okay selection but the buffet dinner in the western restaurant was most disappointing. The service was slow, a lot of the buffet items were empty by 7.30pm and took a while to refill and some of the hot items were lukewarm. We were shown to our seats, then had to wait more than 20 minutes before a waitress came (after much flagging) to take our drink orders. It was difficult to get the staff to understand what we wanted. We did not stay in the restaurant too long as it was so cold. The hotel is dated and I could see the dirt and poor maintenence in the room and public areas. Luckily we found this wonderful Mama Mia Italian restaurant at the Holiday Inn hotel next door.
All in all, I will not return nor recoemmend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joolee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy2011, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Zhengzhou, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

We sincerely apologies that our room condition didn’t meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. We will have a complete renovation plan for our rooms and public areas this year.

We are very concerned about the lack of service and food variety you experienced when dining in our restaurant . We take your comment very seriously and we have discussed this matter with our restaurant team. We can assure you this is a one of mistake that should have never happened. We are very sorry that your are taking this poor impression of our restaurant and we promise you that we will rectify this situation from happening again.

Thank you for your comments. We hope that you give us the opportunity to serve you again with the true Sofitel quality and service standards during your next visit in Zhengzhou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel would have been glamours and grand 10 or so years ago, now it is very tired and old. The rooms seem to have been renovated at some stage but the carpet was warn and a little dirty. After staying here I later stayed at the Sofitel in Ningbo and Guangzhou compared to these properties Sofitel Zhengzhou really is a let down.

I am a loyal Sofitel guest however, I will not be returning to Sofitel Zhengzhou as it simply does not represent what the Sofitel brand stands for. One key note unlike most Western branded hotels in China, including Sofitels in other cities, this Sofitel has Chinese style beds - HARD AS A ROCK.

Please look at alternative options if you are looking for the typical Sofitel experience, as at Sofitel Zhengzhou you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, if expecting Sofitel quality, stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DapsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy2011, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Zhengzhou, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Please accept my sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience during your recent stay with us at Sofitel Zhengzhou International.

I am pleased to inform you that a complete hotel renovation will be done in our hotel this year. We will update our facilities to be in par with our other new Sofitels.

We appreciate your constructive comments and we are very sorry we did not meet your expectations this time.

Thank you for your continued patronage to Sofitel and we hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future with the true Sofitel elegance and comfort our hotels are well known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had been travelling through China for two weeks and was booked into this hotel by my Chinese colleagues. The room was great, the bed not hard (a pleasant change for China) and the staff spoke passable English and were very helpful. After some of the other places I stayed in China, this was a welcome oasis for me. Is it as good as a Sofitel in Australia or the UK, I couldn't really tell the difference myself.

The breakfast bar was excellent too, and it had one of the best choices of menu that I have experienced.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trw1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy2011, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Zhengzhou, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Bonjour!

We appreciate your nice comments to our restaurant Dome Brasserie and the service offered throughout your stay.

Your kind words have been shared with all our management and team. Reviews like yours are aimed to motivate our ambassadors to continue providing the best service in Zhengzhou City. We are currently offering them intensive english courses in order to meet our guest expectations as the market in Henan province has grown considerably during the last 2 years.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Sofitel Zhengzhou International. Let this not be the last time you visit us.

Kind Regards,

Nancy Wang
Director of Marketing and Communication

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The photos of Sofitel Zhengzhou make it appear to be a modern, clean, and western friendly hotel in Zhengzhou. However, the staff are poorly equipped to deal with English speaking guests. They can manage to check you in, tell you your room number, and tell you 150RMB ($21USD) for a cup of coffee, but that's it. In other words, don't expect to be able to 'chat up' the hotel workers for information on the city, restaurants, or anything else in English. Most 4-5 star hotels in China are rated by the government and the high rating usually means they are more reliable and open to Westerners visiting for business or pleasure. The photos posted were either taken when the hotel was new and posted by a hotel employee or either someone got very lucky with their room. There were ashes on the floor in my shower/toilet/bathroom. I'm not sure if the former guest had left them or if they were left by the housekeeper smoking while on duty with the vent fan going, but it gave me the sense that the room had NOT been cleaned after the previous guest. That's not what I expected from the Sofitel brand or for the price of this hotel. I had been on business in a small neighboring city that was 120km away. A taxi to drive me 120km was 300RMB (about $47USD). That's the same price charged by the hotel to take you to the airport which is about 25km away. This hotel banks it's image and reservations on the Sofitel name and fails miserably to live up to that reputation. They know it, and they will take advantage of every opportunity to get as much money out of your pocket as possible. Zhengzhou doesn't see a lot of international visitors and it's obvious. I travel all over the world for work and pleasure, and honestly have never been quite as shocked to find hotel, restaurant, and airport employees so ill equipped to deal with foreigners. Zhengzhou is about 8 million people and considered a small city in China. From the photos and prices at Sofitel Zhengzhou, I expected the quality of a similarly priced and rated hotel in Beijing or Shanghai. Those expectations were dashed upon arrival. If you go to Zhengzhou, when you arrive at the airport, notice the signs. The photos are all beautifully landscaped, clear blue skies, and vibrantly rich colored photos. As you will see before you land, although you may not take notice until you've been there a couple of days, the polution is about 3 miles thick above the city. In my two weeks there, I never saw the sky, the sun or moon or anything resembling the photos in the airport or of Sofitel Zhengzhou hotel. There is more 'photoshop' art work done in these photos than is done to the magazine covers in the US of celebrities. Drastically altered and misleading. But, as I found, when you book online, you've paid for the room, and what you get is marginal at best. You can change hotels, but you're not likely to find anything better in Zhengzhou, and you certainly won't get a refund on any money you've paid in advance for the room. At least with some of the other hotels like Holiday Inn, most people expect a 'mid level' quality acccomodation. I expected something better from Sofitel. As you can see in several of the replies from the hotel, they even admit they are remodeling and trying to upgrade the hotel. In China, 'losing face' is a serious violation of basic humility. The fact that they even admit to the poor standards is a significant statement alone. I expected a hotel at least as nice as most Days Inn or Holiday Inn hotels in America and what I got was on the level of a Motel 6 in a depleted urban blight area. Sofitel should be ashamed. The hotel employees shoud be embarrassed by the divide between cost and quality at this hotel.

Room Tip: While you might get a better rate online, I suggest you wait until you arrive to find a hotel in Zhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank struct84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy2011, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Zhengzhou, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

We are sorry to know that your last visit in Zhengzhou City and Sofitel was generally disappointing. We regret letting you down on this occasion.

We take all your comments seriously and are taking significant steps so that we can improve the level of product and service.

Please be assured that every issue encountered and mentioned in your review is being followed up accordingly. We are concerned about the cup of coffee pricing of RMB 150, as it is discrepant to the one in our hotel menus. Please be assured that the necessary investigation is under processing.

We remain committed to providing the highest quality service to you and promise to work even harder to regain your trust and confidence in us.

Best Regards,

Nancy Wang
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zhengzhou hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Zhengzhou
Hilton Zhengzhou
#3 of 1,486 in Zhengzhou
197 reviews
2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Zhengzhou
JW Marriott Hotel Zhengzhou
#1 of 1,486 in Zhengzhou
303 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Meridien Zhengzhou
Le Meridien Zhengzhou
#2 of 1,486 in Zhengzhou
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Zhengzhou Zhongzhou
Holiday Inn Zhengzhou Zhongzhou
#58 of 1,486 in Zhengzhou
201 reviews
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Zhengzhou Zhongzhou
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Zhengzhou Zhongzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Zhengzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Zhengzhou

Address: No.289 Chengdong Road, Jinshui District, Zhengzhou 450003, China
Location: China > Henan > Zhengzhou > Railway Station , Provincial Government , Er'qi District , Jinshui Diistrict
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zhengzhou
#7 Best Value Hotel in Zhengzhou
Price Range: $72 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Zhengzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Zhengzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zhengzhou Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing