We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Foreigner Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Romantic Hotel Harbin
Ranked #244 of 1,152 Hotels in Harbin
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have never been to such a poorly run and foreigner unfriendly hotel as this one. Not a word spoken at check in, apart from 'passport' and not even a proper 'ni hao' greeting. Also they wanted a sizable deposit in Chinese cash and would not accept a western credit card or even my Chinese bank card! This took most of my Chinese cash for the trip (no money exchange there either) and as other nearby hotels were full and I had no Internet access, I had to stick out my 5 nights there. The first room I had smelt badly (from the plumbing), especially in the bathroom. Luckily I was moved on the 2nd night, but not for that reason. The air conditioning controls in both rooms had setting issues and was stuck on 25-6 the whole time. Also my next room's main table lamp didn't work so impossible to see much in the room at night. Daily cleaning consisted of emptying the bins and towel replacement. Cups, glasses and bed sheets were not changed for 4 days and the bathroom cleaning was a quick lick that often left hair behind, especially the first day as the previous guests hair was on the floor, toilet seat and hair dryer!! There is also no tea or coffee in the room (only cups) and no daily paper like some hotels of this calibre. The main reason I stayed was because of the pool, but that has been out of order (along with the gym) since May with no signs of progress and an out of order sign in Chinese!!. On the 2nd morning, I was refused their so so breakfast due to a wedding I wasn't told about which started at 8am. (I was shown a sheet in Chinese after I complained about this saying breakfast was 6.30am-8pm that day, although I almost attended the wedding breakfast). Check out was a shouting match after they wanted to see a receipt for the deposit which I wasn't given. Glad to leave (didn't even bother to ask them for a taxi when I did based on previous poor service) and this hotel doesn't seem to be much renovated as some sites suggest!

Room Tip: Even the delux room had a bad smell, but the standard didn't. Not point paying more for a delux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilijp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

This title sums it up pretty well. We did not find the hotel dirty like some other reviewers, but certainly worn down in some places. We've tried to find reasonably priced hotels in several Chinese cities and unless you're willing to pay MUCH more than you would in the western world then it seems this is what you get. Rooms are as low as $50 and rate about 2 stars. The pool was closed during our 2 day stay so cannot comment there. The breakfast dining has a small fee and the buffet style was so-so quality, although there was an egg prep cook available. We observed many russian speaking families at other tables as well as asians. From this hotel it was a fairly easy walk with a stroller to the nearby famous church square and the very commercial walking street. The location is good, the hotel nothing fancy.

Room Tip: ecause of the street noise I would recommend an inward facing room. But then some may prefer the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pressonjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

THE HOTEL ROOM: The hotel is old and dilapidated. For the amount I paid for the room (RMB 296) I expected better.The carpet on the floor looked stained and dirty. The area where the window is was raw wood (whatever that used to cover it looked like it was stripped off). The windows had masking tape to seal the sides. The walls and ceiling had cracks on them. The bedsheets were clean, thank goodness. But NO BOTTLED WATER in the room. We had to buy it from a dingy looking convenience store downstairs in the hotel.

THE BATHROOM: The bathroom was clean, with good water pressure. But they were very, very stingy with the toilet paper. It seems like they only gave us HALF a roll. And whoever did the housekeeping did not give us a new roll on standby. Imagine doing your business halfway and realise that you're out of toilet paper. And what kind of 3-star hotel doesn't even have a box of tissues in the bathroom?

THE BREAKFAST: The breakfast (which was NOT optional), was horrible. For a 3-star hotel, I didn't have any high expectations. But the food was cold, oily and way too salty. There was dry, stale bread and no toaster to toast them in. The coffee was premixed and horrible, like they emptied those 3-in-1 sachet mixes into the pot and poured water in. That's not all. There was no proper seating where we ate on the 3rd floor. There were tables but not all of them had chairs. Some chairs stacked up against the wall in one corner but were we supposed to help ourselves to those?

SERVICE: Below average. Overall not very helpful. And it's quite sad that not a single staff member spoke English.

Location is good but for this price, I've stayed in better 3-star hotels with better service, food and rooms. Totally NOT recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wandernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

This hotel is descent for the price you pay. There is lots of street noise thought and the walls are paper thin. We could hear the people above us and in the room next to us along with the constant car and taxi horns most of the night.

The beds were hard, and the room marginally clean.

The staff was friendly and you can book train and tour tickets with them. Breakfast was included which was average.

Note the Staff does not speak English.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TX_Flyer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELENA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Не берите зимой 906 номер, в нем проходит тепловой узел, зимой в номере 34 градуса тепла
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ксения К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olgaAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harbin hotels
0.3 mi away
Gfour Holiday Hotel
Gfour Holiday Hotel
#120 of 1,152 in Harbin
78 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wanda Realm Harbin
Wanda Realm Harbin
#9 of 1,152 in Harbin
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jingu Hotel
Jingu Hotel
#10 of 1,152 in Harbin
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn City Centre Harbin
1.8 mi away
Harbin Longda Holiday Hotel
Harbin Longda Holiday Hotel
#336 of 1,152 in Harbin
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Hotel Harbin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Hotel Harbin

Address: No.178 Shangzhi Street, Harbin 150010, China
Location: China > Heilongjiang > Harbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 1,152 Hotels in Harbin
Price Range: $36 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantic Hotel Harbin 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Ctrip TA so you can book your Romantic Hotel Harbin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing