We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and large rooms”
Review of New Gloria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Gloria Hotel
Ranked #288 of 1,123 Hotels in Harbin
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great location and large rooms”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This hotel is right by the main shopping area, main road and main shopping pedestrian street as well as the river.
This location is great.
you can go shopping without seeing too many cars.
You can eat within a few paces and also has a super market in the next block.

there is also a amusement opposite block for night time fun . even 4D games.
On the pedestrian street there are ice carvings and are lit up at night.
The river also has ice carvings, and ice skating.
The main attraction was the ice slide. its great to slide down to the river from the top of the bank.

There is an open area where the monument stands for the great flood . look for the gold bar where it shows the height of the water.

Further down is a cable car open in the summer.

This hotel also has a restaurant with lots of food.
Also frequently visited by officials which i also noticed.

Oh. forgot to mention people here speak very little English so you may need your Chinese speech book

Room Tip: inside rooms will be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    80
    34
    20
    6
See reviews for
14
14
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We checked in for one night on 21 Jan 2011.

Contrary to what other said, the room is newly renovated and is pretty chic. It has flat-screen TV (without satellite), a minimalist desk, a chair, a couch by the bed -- all in a matching chocolate brown / camel / beige colour scheme. But the bathroom can do better -- the glass screen between the shower and the toilet bowl has a large gap under it, so that it was flooding around the toilet bowl. The floor of the washroom also needed a good scrub -- it's sticky and I wouldn't put my bare feet on it. One of the wardrobe door was jammed and it's a bit difficult for us to get the bathrobes out of the closet.

The breakfast isn't bad either -- well, there's more of a NE Chinese selection like rice and noodles than Western style ham and egg for sure. But it's not so bad that we had to grab Mickey D's either. When we were there, there wasn't any coffee cup and the waitress asked us to drink our coffee out of soup bowls... Apart from that, the breakfast meets our expectation.

We paid RMB 958 for a night -- a bit on the steep side. Hotel staff said it's the peak season for the ice lanterns and Chinese New Year. We recommend to others if not for the price tag.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaylowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

The location is very central, the rooms are OK. The service is amazingly bad if you don't speak much Chinese. The concierge was only interested in selling the hotel's tours and did not help with planning at all. You have to pay for a map of Harbin. No toilet paper in the public toilets on the ground floor, and a very rationed amount in the room itself.
The breakfast was quite bad, even the cooked eggs were not done right! Chinese style breakfast barely OK.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ullrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harbin hotels

Shenyang, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2010

This is a fairly typical Chinese hotel- no frills rooms that are not comparable to Western hotel rooms in any way. However, our room was as clean as any we have ever stayed in. The bed is typical of China, also- hard as a rock. Surprisingly, my husband and I both had an incredible night of sleep. Maybe it helped that we never heard a sound from anyone else whenever we were in our room.

We had two meals in the hotel's restaurant and they were both excellent. Breakfast is a typical Asian breakfast buffet. If that's not to your liking, there's a McDonald's just down the street.

The location can't be beat if you're in Harbin for sightseeing.

Every one of the hotel staff we talked to spoke some level of English and were incredibly helpful. The concierge service was the best. Helpful with sightseeing tips and taxis. We never had a problem with a taxi, which if you've lived in China, you realize that's just about a miracle.

Bottom line, if you have to stay in a Western-style hotel with lots of amenities, you probably won't like it here. But if your not picky about your room, this is a good place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancina2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Rooms were large and comfy but dated (plus we didn't have a outside window), bathrooms were modern and clean. Hotel wasvery overheated. The breakfast has to be one of the worst we have ever encountered in 18 years on 4 continents - we are not picky eaters but could find nothing but a boiled egg each for the children as the rest was either finished (we had breakfast at 8am!?) or was just slops in watery gravy or was hard bread! Tables were stacked with dirty dishes and coffee was like gold dust! Dreadful - so much so my husband ran out to MacDonald's (1/2 a block away) in minus 18 to get us breakfast the next day at 7.30am.

Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beijingfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights. Location was perfect at the river end of the main pedestrianised street next to th eriverside park. Our twin room was OK. The beds were hard but that suited us. Buffet breakfast with good choice and great view to river was in the adjoining and plusher sister hotel. Little English spoken but that was to be expected.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJWChichesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We booked our trip via Ctrip too and did not encounter the same problem that the other reviewer had as we were prompted for our credit card details to confirm our stay. We had booked a river view room and it is worth it.

Room is relatively clean and we asked for extra pillows and they were delivered quite promptly! Towels a bit worn could do with a change. Chinese restaurant on 2nd floor, food wasn't too bad, cooking is quite good. Breakfast was OK, small spread but much better than some other chinese hotels we've stayed in! Staff at breakfast service really bad, not attentive andbasically NO service.

Only thing we didn't like was there was no specific non-smoking floor, so some of our "inconsiderate" Chinese neighbours(they left door open) spoke/argued loudly and were chain smoking. The smell wafted into our room occassionally and also in our room there were obvious cigarette burn marks on the carpet(potential fire hazard!).

Staff were quite helpful, if you can speak in Chinese. They helped us arrange whole day car rental at very reasonable rate.

Overall we enjoyed this hotel mainly due to location and the view. Relatively clean too.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harbin hotels
0.4 mi away
Romantic Hotel Harbin
Romantic Hotel Harbin
#245 of 1,123 in Harbin
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jingu Hotel
Jingu Hotel
#10 of 1,123 in Harbin
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn City Centre Harbin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gfour Holiday Hotel
Gfour Holiday Hotel
#102 of 1,123 in Harbin
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel
1.8 mi away
Post Hotel
Post Hotel
#359 of 1,123 in Harbin
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Gloria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Gloria Hotel

Property: New Gloria Hotel
Address: No.259 Central Street, Daoli District, Harbin 150010, China (Formerly New Gloria Plaza Hotel)
Location: China > Heilongjiang > Harbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 1,123 Hotels in Harbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Gloria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your New Gloria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Hotel Harbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing