We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay with window facing the sun rise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
Ranked #3 of 1,135 Hotels in Harbin
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“2 night stay with window facing the sun rise”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

First up I'd get a room where the window doesn't face the sun rise. Room was warm so managed to get the temperature down by leaving the curtains open at night & setting the room to 17C. Temp outside was minus 2 to minus 6.
That aside, room was clean and comfortable. Bed was comfy but the pillows were all too soft. Laundry is expensive compared to India - twice the price - but cheap compared to Australia. Plenty of bottled water. Shower had good pressure and water temp. Internet is ok except for the restrictions China has.
Ate in Coffee Garden one night & both breakfasts - food is satisfactory & tasty. plenty of choice. Could do with more vege choice. Scrambled eggs were good.
The restaurant was good - the spicy beef dish was excellent but it leaves your lips numb. Good sized dishes so you don't need one per person. The seasonal veg was cooked perfectly, whatever it was, but it was green veg.
Would stay again.
Good location for a nice walk to Central Street.
Only average because of the temperature issue.

Room Tip: Don't get one facing the sun rise. Otherwise quiet & acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    389
    94
    20
    12
See reviews for
63
80
21
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for our visit to the Snow and Ice Festival. We arrived late but were able to order food which was good as the restaurants along the streets looked very closed. Our late arrival was due to waiting for a taxi for 2h after having arrived by train.

Room was ok, but I found it smelled of mould which wasn't too nice. Service was neither good nor bad.

Gym was nicely equipped with some machines and treadmills and cross trainers. The spa area was empty and in here the staff was attentive and brought towels and water (to drink). A lady got a massage while I was there, but it was in the open area between the jacuzzis and the sauna. I would not be very relaxed with that.

Breakfast was excellent with omelettes, pancakes, loads of western as well as Chinese alternatives. However the room was quite noisy

The location is great for the ice festival. You can book a car from the hotel to take you there as getting there can be hard if trying to get at cab. There is a line bus going there too (from opposite the pedestrian street with Starbucks) which costs 2 RMB.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights in early January. Situated next to the Songhua river and a minute taxi ride to Harbin shopping street. Was there in the middle of winter. Strong heating system. Wonderful buffett breakfast with a wide variety of selctions from Western to eastern selectios. I tried the hot pot at the Shang palace ice restaurant whic is only open in winter. Had the RMB288pp hot pot. Food was ample but the real attraction is the restaurant made completely of ice. Service was attentive. There is a heater underneath the table to keep ypu warm and glove are provided. Temperature in the restaurant is approc -15c.Try going for lunch when it is not full. Recommend to book ahead. The rooms at the hotel are dated and needs a refurbish. Not really up to a 5* Shangri La elsewhere. However it is still one of the best in Harbin and the price are reflective also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penangtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

There is so much wrong with this place I don't even know where to start. First, I have stayed at other Shangrila branch hotels an live in China, therefore I know what to expect from international chains vs. local brand hotels. This place operated like a local brand hotel as opposed to an international brand hotel. In addition, I get that language can be an issue but I am fluent in both Chinese and English.


1.) Room was falsely advertised as non-smoking: I specifically requested a non- smoking room which was in my records and they placed me next door to a chain smoker. There are smoking floors and non- smoking floors. Why they placed this man in a non- smoking floor, I will never understand. I get that in China you will sometimes encounter cigarette smoke in a non- smoking area, but this was ridiculous. The man was smoking non- stop and in the hallway. I complained twice and a maid came to spray my room and ignored the fact that there was a person smoking in the hall in front of my room. At 1:30am on my first night input in my 3rd complaint and at that point they offered to change my room, but refused to address the issue with the smoking man in the hall. My clothes and belongings smelled like smoke. I felt i deserved a discount on the first night because a non- smoking room was advertised to me, the manager offered to take off the service charge and included a few eye rolls with it. He made me me feel like it was my fault that the man was smoking on a non- smoking floor. Laughable. These people don't know the first thing about what it takes to run a decent international hotel.

2.) Food tasted horrible and dining hall was poorly run: We were never informed about the breakfast hours- not at check-in or ehen going into the dining hall. We walked in at 10:15 and all the food was out away at 10:30, yet they still made us pay for a buffet breakfast. How does that work?

3.) Gold circle means nothing here: what happened to getting fruit with gold circle? Well they forgot the first night. I thought this was a custom and a must across all Shangrilas.


This experience put me and my colleagues over the edge. I will never stay at another Shangrila after this because I can accumulate my hotel points at other better name brand hotels. In addition, this won't be a reccommendation when my company opens chains in Harbin. I'd rather save my other co-workers and leaders the trouble of staying at a second rate hotel.

The fantastic ice festival and the tiger reserve helped redeem this trip, but both have nothing to do with the Shangrila.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexlc211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMao, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Harbin, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for your review Alexlc211. We feel regretted that you had an unpleasant stay with us. The investigation on this issue is under going. If there is anything we can do or any details you want to offer, please email me directly at michelle.mao@shangri-la.com. Wish there would be another opportunity to serve you in the future and all the best wishes to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A very good hotel, but not quite exceptional. We stayed here during the Harbin ice festival, so it was very busy, however, this did not detract from a very pleasant stay. Reception staff were efficient and helpful and all the dining room staff were very eager to please. The breakfast menu catered to all tastes and there was a very good choice of both Western and Asian food. For a busy hotel, breakfast service was quick and friendly. The ice bar was great fun and again, the staff were friendly and eager to please.
Our room was excellent, comfortable and clean with a magnificent view across the Songhua River to the ice city; spectacular at night. Would stay again

Room Tip: Choose a high level room overlooking the Songhua River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPBConnect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Shangri-La is one of our most preferred hotel companies in China. We stayed at Guilin and Xian properties in the past month as well with our family of 5 plus a nanny. The Harbin property is a bit old and the rooms are smaller than average. Also, they have very few connecting rooms. Our driver told us that they are building a really big new Shangri-La in Harbin near Sun Island.

Miss Fiona Wu greeted us on arrival and provided plenty of recommendations and assistance. She is EXCEPTIONALl! Limo driver and Concierge Manager were also exceptional.

During our stay, we had the same driver pick us up at the airport, drive us to Ice World, Sun Island Snow Park, Siberian Tiger Park, St. Sofia church, downtown shopping district, and back to the airport. He was great.

Had a quick dinner in the cafe and told the restaurant that we were in a hurry. They delivered our food very quickly. Breakfast was pretty good. The cafe is not as nice and big as a major city Shangri-La buffet restaurants, but good variety. The cafe was very crowded due to the peak season weekend. They were so busy that they made some tables communal tables. That was a turn-off.

GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE: Fiona booked dinner for us at their Ice Palace restaurant. The entire restaurant was made of ice. Great hotpot dinner and such a fun experience for our family. Note: It was really cold in there.

GREAT SERVICE EXPERIENCE: After checking out, we realized that our son left an inexpensive toy behind in the room. It was not worth turning around for so we used it to teach our son a lesson about keeping an eye on his toys. Halfway to the airport, our driver received a call from Fiona saying that Housekeeping found a toy in the room and that they had another limo departing shortly for the airport and that they would send it with the other driver. We told them that it wasn't necessary, but they said that they would still try to get it to us. Their airport staff found us at the check-in counter and delivered the toy to us.

Room Tip: Very hard to get connecting rooms and rooms are on the small side. Due to the peak season, no rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asia_Lodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel service was great from the start. We checked in actually in our room, where the girl booked our tickets for the ice & snow festivals.
The staff were always helpful in getting taxis and explaining where we were headed etc

Breakfast was good, Ice Palace was nice for a drink only, not sure wearing coats and gloves for dinner would be comfortable.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank S11JJX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harbin hotels
4.4 mi away
Sofitel Harbin
Sofitel Harbin
#2 of 1,135 in Harbin
490 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn City Centre Harbin
3.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Harbin
Kempinski Hotel Harbin
#7 of 1,135 in Harbin
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel
4.9 mi away
Aoluguya Hotel
Aoluguya Hotel
#1 of 1,135 in Harbin
105 reviews
3.3 mi away
Songbei Shangri-La, Harbin
Songbei Shangri-La, Harbin
#9 of 1,135 in Harbin
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Harbin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Harbin

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
Address: No.555 Youyi Road, Daoli District, Harbin 150018, China
Location: China > Heilongjiang > Harbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harbin
#9 Best Value Hotel in Harbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Harbin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A best business hotel in Harbin. It boasts a picturesque window view of the Songhua River. It is a 15-minute drive from an over-a-century Central Street featuring the Continental architecture, and from the Sun Island rated as a National 5-A Tourist Attraction. It is a 45-munite ride from the city’s international airport and 20 minutes from the railway station.The Hotel has 404 rooms with a spectacular view out of the river-facing windows, especially in icy and snowy winters. The rooms are finely decorated and fully equipped with free broadband internet access. The rooms are extremely clean and well maintained. The Hotel is well-known for its market-leading cuisines in its Chinese and Western restaurants. The Chinese restaurant serves Cantonese and local foods. The Coffee Garden caters international buffets, à la cart foods and beverages. In-room dining runs 24 hours. A vegetarian menu is available in all the outlets. Singing is performed in the Lobby Lounge every night. The hotel is really proud of its unparalleled catering services as well as its excellent banquet and conference facilities in the city. The hotel has a health and fitness centre, a business centre and a sundry shop. It also provides services like massage, air ticketing, laundry and limousine transport and parking. A waterfront park which stretches about 2-km is a few steps from the hotel. There you can enjoy a pleasant walk as well as a morning workout. An internationally acclaimed brand, professional service and hospitality philosophy will be an assurance of a high-end business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Harbin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Harbin
Shangri La Harbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing