We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
Ranked #1 of 1,115 Hotels in Harbin
Certificate of Excellence
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights in early January. Situated next to the Songhua river and a minute taxi ride to Harbin shopping street. Was there in the middle of winter. Strong heating system. Wonderful buffett breakfast with a wide variety of selctions from Western to eastern selectios. I tried the hot pot at the Shang palace ice restaurant whic is only open in winter. Had the RMB288pp hot pot. Food was ample but the real attraction is the restaurant made completely of ice. Service was attentive. There is a heater underneath the table to keep ypu warm and glove are provided. Temperature in the restaurant is approc -15c.Try going for lunch when it is not full. Recommend to book ahead. The rooms at the hotel are dated and needs a refurbish. Not really up to a 5* Shangri La elsewhere. However it is still one of the best in Harbin and the price are reflective also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penangtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    386
    92
    20
    10
See reviews for
61
79
21
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

There is so much wrong with this place I don't even know where to start. First, I have stayed at other Shangrila branch hotels an live in China, therefore I know what to expect from international chains vs. local brand hotels. This place operated like a local brand hotel as opposed to an international brand hotel. In addition, I get that language can be an issue but I am fluent in both Chinese and English.


1.) Room was falsely advertised as non-smoking: I specifically requested a non- smoking room which was in my records and they placed me next door to a chain smoker. There are smoking floors and non- smoking floors. Why they placed this man in a non- smoking floor, I will never understand. I get that in China you will sometimes encounter cigarette smoke in a non- smoking area, but this was ridiculous. The man was smoking non- stop and in the hallway. I complained twice and a maid came to spray my room and ignored the fact that there was a person smoking in the hall in front of my room. At 1:30am on my first night input in my 3rd complaint and at that point they offered to change my room, but refused to address the issue with the smoking man in the hall. My clothes and belongings smelled like smoke. I felt i deserved a discount on the first night because a non- smoking room was advertised to me, the manager offered to take off the service charge and included a few eye rolls with it. He made me me feel like it was my fault that the man was smoking on a non- smoking floor. Laughable. These people don't know the first thing about what it takes to run a decent international hotel.

2.) Food tasted horrible and dining hall was poorly run: We were never informed about the breakfast hours- not at check-in or ehen going into the dining hall. We walked in at 10:15 and all the food was out away at 10:30, yet they still made us pay for a buffet breakfast. How does that work?

3.) Gold circle means nothing here: what happened to getting fruit with gold circle? Well they forgot the first night. I thought this was a custom and a must across all Shangrilas.


This experience put me and my colleagues over the edge. I will never stay at another Shangrila after this because I can accumulate my hotel points at other better name brand hotels. In addition, this won't be a reccommendation when my company opens chains in Harbin. I'd rather save my other co-workers and leaders the trouble of staying at a second rate hotel.

The fantastic ice festival and the tiger reserve helped redeem this trip, but both have nothing to do with the Shangrila.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexlc211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMao, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Harbin, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for your review Alexlc211. We feel regretted that you had an unpleasant stay with us. The investigation on this issue is under going. If there is anything we can do or any details you want to offer, please email me directly at michelle.mao@shangri-la.com. Wish there would be another opportunity to serve you in the future and all the best wishes to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

A very good hotel, but not quite exceptional. We stayed here during the Harbin ice festival, so it was very busy, however, this did not detract from a very pleasant stay. Reception staff were efficient and helpful and all the dining room staff were very eager to please. The breakfast menu catered to all tastes and there was a very good choice of both Western and Asian food. For a busy hotel, breakfast service was quick and friendly. The ice bar was great fun and again, the staff were friendly and eager to please.
Our room was excellent, comfortable and clean with a magnificent view across the Songhua River to the ice city; spectacular at night. Would stay again

Room Tip: Choose a high level room overlooking the Songhua River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPBConnect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Shangri-La is one of our most preferred hotel companies in China. We stayed at Guilin and Xian properties in the past month as well with our family of 5 plus a nanny. The Harbin property is a bit old and the rooms are smaller than average. Also, they have very few connecting rooms. Our driver told us that they are building a really big new Shangri-La in Harbin near Sun Island.

Miss Fiona Wu greeted us on arrival and provided plenty of recommendations and assistance. She is EXCEPTIONALl! Limo driver and Concierge Manager were also exceptional.

During our stay, we had the same driver pick us up at the airport, drive us to Ice World, Sun Island Snow Park, Siberian Tiger Park, St. Sofia church, downtown shopping district, and back to the airport. He was great.

Had a quick dinner in the cafe and told the restaurant that we were in a hurry. They delivered our food very quickly. Breakfast was pretty good. The cafe is not as nice and big as a major city Shangri-La buffet restaurants, but good variety. The cafe was very crowded due to the peak season weekend. They were so busy that they made some tables communal tables. That was a turn-off.

GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE: Fiona booked dinner for us at their Ice Palace restaurant. The entire restaurant was made of ice. Great hotpot dinner and such a fun experience for our family. Note: It was really cold in there.

GREAT SERVICE EXPERIENCE: After checking out, we realized that our son left an inexpensive toy behind in the room. It was not worth turning around for so we used it to teach our son a lesson about keeping an eye on his toys. Halfway to the airport, our driver received a call from Fiona saying that Housekeeping found a toy in the room and that they had another limo departing shortly for the airport and that they would send it with the other driver. We told them that it wasn't necessary, but they said that they would still try to get it to us. Their airport staff found us at the check-in counter and delivered the toy to us.

Room Tip: Very hard to get connecting rooms and rooms are on the small side. Due to the peak season, no rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asia_Lodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel service was great from the start. We checked in actually in our room, where the girl booked our tickets for the ice & snow festivals.
The staff were always helpful in getting taxis and explaining where we were headed etc

Breakfast was good, Ice Palace was nice for a drink only, not sure wearing coats and gloves for dinner would be comfortable.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank S11JJX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
324 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

To put my review into perspective, I have stayed at several Shangri-La's and competitive hotels such as the Intercontinental across China and Asia. The Harbin Shangri-La was by far the worst. This is not a case of being the worst within a strong set of luxury hotels. This hotel won't even make that elite group of hotels. They are, at best, a good mid-range hotel.

Club Floor is a Rip-off: We splurged and stayed on the Club floor. However, the lounge was small and had only a few seating areas. Many people walked in and out because there was no room to sit. Refreshments were meager, cookies and soda. Everything else needed to be ordered. At the Intercontinental and even Crowne Plaza (Intercon's mid-level brand), several dishes are available until 9pm or so including free wine and beer. But not here. The breakfast in the lounge has a fraction of available choices as compared with the main breakfast downstairs. And the a la carte items took 30 minutes or more.

Main Restaurant: Because we are not big eaters, we ordered a la carte for dinner. This seems to have thrown the staff into a tizzy and it was clear that they wanted us to order the buffet. When the food was served, the meals arrived over a period of 30 minutes. To add to the frustration, a few of the adults got their food first. This meant the kids had to watch their parents eat. Big hospitality mistake, Shangri-La! My meal arrived last after everyone had finished eating. The waitress was super apologetic and at the end even offered me the buffet for free. The problem s the kitchen because she kept rushing in and then told me the chef was too busy with other people's food, even though my order was an hour old! And the food was not worth waiting for, a euphemism for average.

Check-out: This really pissed me off. I was asked if I wanted to pay in RMB or USD. When I inquired about the exchange rates, the clerk was baffled but did oblige. Turns out they were charging 5.80 per USD while the rate at any Bank of China branch is 6.20 (I live in China so I exchange money a lot so I know what I am talking about). On my bill this would have resulted in a bill $75 higher.

Rooms: Very, very small for an up-market brand. But the hotel did honor our request for adjoining rooms.

Lobby Restaurant: Shangri-La charged more for some items than was listed on the menu. When I called them on it they gave me sob story how prices were changed but had not yet been reflected in the menus. While they did reimburse me the difference they seemed not to grasp that this sort of thing should never happen at a 5-star brand.

Employees: Some of them freaked me out because of their overcooked courtesy. The smiles were too big, too frequent, and the eyes did not show the same emotion. I suspect that the Shangri-La training program said, "Smile a lot because foreigners like that." Not at all genuine!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DHWShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMao, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Harbin, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks for your comments DHWShanghai. Your opinions are very important to us. We are following up the issues you mentioned and making effort to improve our service. If you want to give us more details, please email me directly at michelle.mao@shangri-la.com. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This Shangri-La will be turned into a Traders. They are building a new Shangri-La across the river. I guess they realized how bad this one can be.

First off, it's China and you're gong to deal with a lot of random personal space invasion. The staff go above and beyond being courteous. There's been times where I've never met a person but they greet me with my name. Now I know greeting someone with their name in the hotel business is standard, but not when you've never met that person. It's just creepy.

Room service will just barge into your room whether you have your Do Not Disturb light on. Then they will call 4 times if you have the lock on the door so they can't come in. Then they will knock one more time and slide 50 million pieces of paper under your door. So if you're going to be naked or want some private time just get used to putting the lock on the door every time you walk in.

Food in the place is average. They like to put onions in everything. Definitely not a standard Shangri-La cooks. Breakfast is pretty good though.

I'd say the one saving grace of this place is the rooms are pretty nice. There are a few staff members that go out of their way to help you out, and there's others that just are an annoyance every time you step off the elevator.

Don't know how much company pays for the room, so I can't really state the value. I'd pay maybe 100-120 a night for a room here.

They will sometimes do massive construction in random parts of the year. When they do expect to get barely any sleep because they work non-stop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank um0k1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMao, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Harbin, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks for your comments um0k1e. Guests' experience are our prior concern. Your suggetions will be considered seriously in our staff training. If you want to give more details, please feel free to email me at michelle.mao@shangri-la.com. Thanks again and best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harbin hotels
4.4 mi away
Sofitel Harbin
Sofitel Harbin
#2 of 1,115 in Harbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn City Centre Harbin
1.5 mi away
Ibis Harbin Sophia Church Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Harbin
Kempinski Hotel Harbin
#4 of 1,115 in Harbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wanda Realm Harbin
Wanda Realm Harbin
#7 of 1,115 in Harbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sheraton Harbin Xiangfang Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Harbin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Harbin

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Harbin
Address: No.555 Youyi Road, Daoli District, Harbin 150018, China
Location: China > Heilongjiang > Harbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Harbin
#6 Best Value Hotel in Harbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Harbin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A best business hotel in Harbin. It boasts a picturesque window view of the Songhua River. It is a 15-minute drive from an over-a-century Central Street featuring the Continental architecture, and from the Sun Island rated as a National 5-A Tourist Attraction. It is a 45-munite ride from the city’s international airport and 20 minutes from the railway station.The Hotel has 404 rooms with a spectacular view out of the river-facing windows, especially in icy and snowy winters. The rooms are finely decorated and fully equipped with free broadband internet access. The rooms are extremely clean and well maintained. The Hotel is well-known for its market-leading cuisines in its Chinese and Western restaurants. The Chinese restaurant serves Cantonese and local foods. The Coffee Garden caters international buffets, à la cart foods and beverages. In-room dining runs 24 hours. A vegetarian menu is available in all the outlets. Singing is performed in the Lobby Lounge every night. The hotel is really proud of its unparalleled catering services as well as its excellent banquet and conference facilities in the city. The hotel has a health and fitness centre, a business centre and a sundry shop. It also provides services like massage, air ticketing, laundry and limousine transport and parking. A waterfront park which stretches about 2-km is a few steps from the hotel. There you can enjoy a pleasant walk as well as a morning workout. An internationally acclaimed brand, professional service and hospitality philosophy will be an assurance of a high-end business traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Harbin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Harbin
Shangri La Harbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing