We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Russian church”
Review of Sophia Square

Sophia Square
Book In Advance
More Info
$200.00*
and up
Small-Group Customizable 1 Day Private Harbin City Tour
Ranked #4 of 208 things to do in Harbin
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful Russian church”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Beautiful Russian orthodox church that has been well preserved. Well worth a visit if you are in Harbin.

The outside of the building is stunning, we went during the summer time, so we were happy to be able to take our time walking around the church.

I actually really enjoyed the inside of the church as well. It's no longer used as a church, but the inside of the building is beautiful, a great space with really nice light, and it has been well preserved too. It's used as a museum now, and has photos (mostly black and white) showing the development of Harbin. The photos were interesting - no English captions though and a lot of them are quite grainy. Tickets are 20RMB per person if you want to go inside.

There are also lots of beautiful old buildings on the streets around here as well as you head back towards the walking street area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    172
    72
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Qingdao, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Architecture”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I would recommend reading up on a some of the churches history prior to visiting. It just gives it more feeling.

The church wasn't as big as I expected and at the time I wasn't able to go inside, but the architecture was beautiful. The building is located in a large square and you are able to walk completely around the church. This gives you many different angles to to take photos from. Best time to visit would be around late afternoon (in my opinion). I went in the morning and it was very hot but not as many people. The sun seemed to be right in the way of when I wanted to take pictures.

Also, when I visited there were many birds and when photographing they flew around. That gave my photos a unique effect and added to my experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank slayer4ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
152 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great outside, nothing inside”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is totally a nice spot to have some pictures, even a couple did their pre wedding shots when we were there. However, I suggest to not enter the church. The fee was 20 RMB (we got 10 each thanks for being a student in China) but you actually cannot see anything good inside. It was just some photographs inside and nothing more.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Abraham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Church no longer a church”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Picturesque outside. Church is now a Harbin historical photo museum, which is interesting and worth price of admission. Especially interesting to see how they cleared the square of all the clutter.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 11bravo_apc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pay the 20 RMB and Go Inside!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

St. Sofia's was great. It's beautiful to look upon from the outside (see it by day AND night if possible) but it's definitely worth the nominal fee to go inside. The interior is Harbin's history in photographs. There's very little English, but you can still get a clear idea of what built this eclectic city.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank flyingethiopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophia Square also viewed

 

Been to Sophia Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing