We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure if this was the same place as Polar Land”
Review of Harbin Polarland

Harbin Polarland
Book In Advance
More Info
$295.00*
and up
Private Day Tour: Winter Highlights of Harbin including Manchurian-Han Style...
Ranked #7 of 207 things to do in Harbin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Harbin Polarland is the first polar amusement park in the world. It’s one of the four major scenic spots in Harbin International Ice and Snow Festival. It is a national AAAA level scenic spots with unique themed entertainment in China. "Polar Whale Performers" perfectly shows the most famous polar animal stars with seven themed performances at a world level. It has an unique polar beluga subaqueous show and the top two female animal trainers in China. They both create a world-touching legend ——The Heart Of Ocean! The little Antarctic penguin Mumble who was the first born in inland city all over the world is a happy angel. He is also Harbin tourism mascot. The Chinese funniest polar bear brothers Tangji and Hede,Russian walrus Eno and Eva,magic star sea lion Billy and his super star team, will present a fantastic polar performance for you.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not sure if this was the same place as Polar Land”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

If this is the same place...they had a large aquarium, with all sots of Arctic animals Polar bears, wolves, etc. Their enclosures were not large enough for my taste.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    102
    35
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beluga whales are amazing”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

There are many animals here, and with the large glass displays you can see very well the polar bears, the Arctic wolves, Arctic foxes, and Beluga whales. However, I do wonder as to the size and .. interestingness of their habitats, I feel like these animals can get bored quite easily, as there is not much to do in their enclosures.

The Beluga whales have been trained very well, the performance was amazing. Definitely worth seeing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank setek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enclosures were too small and concrete”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Plus: closest i've been to these animals.
sealions in the sealion show did impress me. they were really fast and smart but do wonder how they tolerated the loud music and lights.
good place to warm up in between outdoor activities. (located close to the snow sculptures)

Downs: very small enclosures and what disturbs me most is that no effort was made to make the exhibits more comfortable/natural for the animals. it was literally a box with bad wallpaper and flooring and nothing else. To see these magnificent creatures in such environment.. just feels wrong.
Thankfully the animals do look well fed and the belugas were very close to their trainers.

Tickets, as per almost all the sites in Harbin, overpriced. ~CNY150/pax

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MInt15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“animal torture... :'(”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The next went to the Harbin Pole Aquarium
We paid 520yuan/ RMB for persons just to get in.
About 100USD
Many exhibits were based on trains, like models covering 35% of the total space of the exhibit. The sea lion show that we entered, and the announcers were shouting through the mike. There was music blasting everywhere. The sea lion is probably deaf by now. The polar bears exhibit was too small. It was literally pushing itself from wall to wall. There were cages displayed at the corner of the exhibit, I had no idea why the people would put the cages there. The arctic wolves and foxes were sleeping. I can't believe they would turn on blinding white LEDs while the poor things were trying to sleep! The beluga whale exhibit was two floors in height and there were two of them. The space given to them was so small, that they were doing circles under water! There was a final aquarium where there was one shark, turtle, and stingray surrounded by a bunch of common fish. That aquarium was not polar at all. Sharks and stingrays do not live in the Arctic Ocean. Animals like this shouldn't be kept in captivity, and I hope that the aquarium would make a change to the way they are treating their animals. Hopefully release them back into the wild. I hope this would send a message to the aquarium. In hope to change the lives of the animals kept in captivity here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank fluttershy5645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this experience”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We thought this aquarium was very well done. I have seen posting from people that are concerned about the size of some of the displays being to small. That maybe true, however, visiting it to support it will definitely provide the funds to expand.

We loved the Beluga whale and Sea Lion shows.

Truly well done. It is next to the Snow World on Sun Island and the Ice and Snow Festival.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank EastCobbFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbin Polarland also viewed

 

Been to Harbin Polarland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing