We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great ambiance average food”

Lu XiYa Coffee Western Restaurant
Ranked #308 of 730 Restaurants in Harbin
Cuisines: Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great ambiance average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012


The service and ambiance were great. Staff very welcoming and keen to help. The red soup and Russian sausage were also very nice but the Sheep in a jug was a but plain. Overall not a bad place!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank alek815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    21
    14
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quaint atmosphere but that's about it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

We went here on a recommendation of a friend. Walked in and the place was packed. We had to fight for a table because the locals kept trying to cut in front of us - having a hostess would solve this problem. We sat ourselves and waited for about 5 minutes for menus. When none arrived, I walked over myself and picked 2 of them up. As we perused the menu, it was obvious that a non-native English speaker had written them. I didn't know what half of these dishes were! Items such as "Juggle Shrimp" and "Fried Bag" are listed. Waitress spoke nearly no English so she couldn't explain what these things were. We pointed to about 3 things to order, but they were not available. In fact, she said that only 2 items were available to order in an already small menu. So we put our coats on and left. It's a nice-looking place but I won't be going back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durianfan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Don't go for the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Quaint restaurant atmosphere but abrupt service, food was very disappointing except the bread rolls filled with mince meat. Our meal was Rmb400 and we left still hungry but not wanting to try anything else as food was poor quality and service non existent. My husband ordered a beer and it came at the end of the meal, when I went to the bathroom I had to walk through the tiny kitchen and realised why things were the way they were. There's a very good Chinese restaurant opposite, you will get a better meal there.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Average but the meat stuffed breads were nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Yes, service poor. Even speaking Chinese to them the service was poor. Menu not extensive. Only OK food but found the stuffed breads very delicious though. Great ambiance. A bit pricey for what it is I thought. No English spoken but has English menu (although you will need to also translate the English to figure out what you are getting - ha ha). Good luck.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZFamilyTravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quaint surrounds doesnt make up for poor food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Having read a few reviews from different websites and also having seen the quaint little house while walking down the street, we were very much looking forward to trying this place for some authentic Russian food.

I'm glad we made the trip as the room and surrounds were very quaint, cute and made for an interesting viewing but the food and the service were right down terrible.

We ordered 6 drinks and only 3 showed up. Asked about the others and 2 more showed up. Asked one more time about the last one (a bottle of beer) and was told "yes, yes". After another 5 minutes with no beer, having asked again the beer finally showed up.

Tried to order a variety of dishes for our family of 5 but found most of the cooked foods were "no, no, not avail" and the few were available were extremely disappointing. Cold sausage on a plate with nothing else. Processed cheese cut into triangles; very disappointing considering we spent just over 400RMB and walked away hungry.

I would suggest diners give this place a miss. There are much better alternatives around.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FiresAndKnives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lu XiYa Coffee Western Restaurant also viewed

 
Harbin, Heilongjiang
Harbin, Heilongjiang
 

Been to Lu XiYa Coffee Western Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing