We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mandarin FANS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Ranked #2 of 1,330 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mandarin FANS”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

It's really amazing experience to stay in Mandarin Oriental Sanya, just like we stayed in other sisters Mandarin before. We work in HK but come to China very often, like Sanya very much. On the arrival day, we got warm welcome from the staff with flowers, welcome ice tea. U just relax in the lobby, reception staff will come to help u do the check in, and explain the resort map for u in detail. Buggy service is really very convenient for guests. All the resort staff are smiling and greeting politely. Maybe because of more than 5 years history, the facilities are getting a little bit old. The safe in the room was very sensitive. I called operator for help. Here I wanna express my deep appreciation to the duty manager Mr. Pure, he came in 5 minutes and opened it quickly, very professional. He is a real gentleman and very talkative, of course very "PURE" as well, hahahaaaaaaaaa.....always can give us suggestion and meet our expectation, always drive us back personally by his private DM logo car. As we like seafood very much, he recommended us had dinner in fresh restaurant which is super. Hope to see the pure duty manager and lovely staff again in next Oct. Cheers!

Room Tip: far away from the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blingbling123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    214
    38
    7
    3
See reviews for
275
186
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were initially going to stay at the MO for four nights, but we stayed only a night as we couldn’t find any Malaria tablets in China after misplacing some Malarone we brought from the UK. We also thought that the sea seemed a bit polluted to dive or even swim in. These two issues together were the reason why we cut short our stay in Sanya.
To be fair we need to mention that the hotel is set in a huge and beautifully landscaped garden, by the pool they had a station with iced bottles of water and bowls with different fruit; a nice touch! If you like to stay by the pool this hotel will be perfect for you.
We had a Terrace room which was very spacious, clean and well appointed. The bed linen was exceptionally smooth and felt gorgeous.
The breakfast offered a very impressive variety of fruit, breads, freshly made fruit Yogurts and freshly squeezed orange juice.
We have stayed at the MO before, we are fans, and this one didn’t disappoint.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My fiancée and I stayed for 5 rather rain soaked days over the past week, no thanks to a typhoon out in the South China Sea. Nevertheless we enjoyed ourselves immensely and were able to relax, unwind and recharge in the beautiful, lush, extensive grounds of the Mandarin Oriental.

The staff battled against the inclement weather with friendly faces, big smiles and their service was top notch. The only reservation against them was their competency in English - you would expect a decent grasp in an international chain to be a requirement of the staff, but room for improvement from the otherwise excellently trained team - were it not for my Chinese speaking partner it may have been a much more "raw" experience!

The rooms themselves were great - we had an ocean breeze pavilion which was a pleasant retreat to shelter from the rain - the room was spacious, the bed enormous and the balcony overlooking the sea a very comfortable place to pass time. The regularly topped up fruit basket awaiting your return to your room was always warmly received!

The swimming pools were extensive, although suffered from some debris (possibly due to the typhoon). The water slide, bubble beds, basketball hoops, mock sandy beach provided alternative entertainment, otherwise I'm fairly sure you could swim 50 metres at least uninterrupted if desired, the main pool is that big; for good measure the other pools provided decent lengths to paddle along too.

The beach - exclusive to the Mandarin Oriental due to the location of the the hotel tucked away on its own in the edge of Datonghai Bay consisted of coral particles and stones - explains the sandy portion of the main swimming pool. We spent little time here (again unfortunately due to the weather) but the water was warm and the scenery nice - being west facing its good for sunset watching.

The restaurants - good selection of Asian and Western foods, with Fresh winning hands down - the fish, oysters and rock lobster tails went down a treat! The wines were heavily marked up though. The buffet breakfast catered for all tastes again; it will be hard to find someone who won't find something they liked. The restaurants also ran cookery classes every day (some free, some requiring a supplement) - I would highly recommend the noodle making class from Mee & Mian; a lot of fun and a nice bowl of pulled noodles to follow it up - made by the professionals!

The spa aided relaxation on the trip - go for the lava sea shell full body massage for a more unique experience. And for those seeking to burn off some excess fat gained from overindulging at the breakfast buffet there's always the recreation centre where a well equipped gym lies, table tennis and 2 flood lit tennis courts.

One small issue I had - in this day an age, charging for wifi in a hotel as a full paying guest I think is really disappointing - but to also charge for usage in the business centre (above 15 minutes) is criminal! Mandarin Oriental please review this policy pronto!

All in all a very enjoyable stay - we will return, and hopefully the weather will be kinder to us next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Overall the Mandarin was excellent. After receiving flower lei's after immediately stepping into the lobby and complimentary cold drinks at check in we were off to a great start. The buggies take getting used to due to the size of the resort and do not take more than 5 minutes to arrive. We were booked into an Ocean Terrace room and on finding that Traifinders had not booked us twin beds we were upgraded to an Ocean View Suite thanks to GM Pure Li.

You would think that the Wifi would be included and were horrified to find that it would be 100RMB per day.

Breakfast was superb, quality of ingredients were top notch and variety was vast. A few quibbles with Chinese/English communications but this is to be expected in a Chinese resort. We were abit disappointed with the variety of restaurants on offer, on our first night only 2 were open and given 2 weeks of Chinese food, had to resort to the Pavilion restaurant where we had eaten from the same menu for lunch. You would expect a buffet or different menu to be available.

As it was very quiet during our stay staff were over attentive (if thats even possible) and felt like we were being watched when eating and plates being removed the minute we had taken our last mouthfuls of food! Our meal at Fresh on the last night was great, right on the waters edge enjoying fine dining at its best.

The many pools and grounds are vast with added extras like a jacuzzi, basketball hoops and a slide. Gym is ok with modern equipment and beach is rocky and encouraged not to go in the sea because of jelly fish.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank td08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I am very very disappointed my first meal here tried salmon and sea bass you woul expect that a hotel by the sea should have great fish it tasted streight out of the freezer what a shame
Also no hot water in the shower
The lounge pool on the balcony is dirty I wouldn't let my dog step into it this is my first time back to the manderin after a long time I am very very disappointed will try to change hotels today if they will let me
Also after paying close to $500 USD per night you would expect not to be charged for Internet

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Snooz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Let's start with the only drawback to the Mandarin Sanya... the beach (and because of the price it is probably not for everyone). It is not the white sandy beach of Yalong Bay. It is fairly rocky and only the beach at one end of the resort has places where you can really lie on the beach. Everything else about the Mandarin Oriental Sanya is fabulous, especially the staff, which is really saying something in China. The staff are very, very well trained and except for a few hiccups in english interpretation, as good as any hotel I've stayed. The grounds are beautiful (huge), lush, tropical and very well maintained. The pool is ridiculously large, has a slide, basketball, bubble beds, jetted seats, waiter service (free cold towels, cold water, fresh fruit) and it is easy to find a private area to hang out. The food is really good. The breakfast buffet has everything you could want (especially delicious fresh fruit and fresh squeezed juice) and their premier restaurant "Fresh" is wonderful. I highly recommend the grilled whole fish and the clams in XO sauce. Even though these are to share... you won't want to share them. The spa is also top notch. Go here! Relax! Then go back and deal with the real world.

Room Tip: There are so many ocean view rooms... but many also face Sanya city in the distance so ask for the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avatarNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

...this was an excellent hotel, with everything you would expect from a Mandarin Oriental.

We stayed here for four nights at the end of a two-week trip round China, so were just looking to relax and not do very much other than lie by the sea and lounge around the pools.

The hotel itself is tucked away down what seems like a back alley, but this helps with the relaxation and the impression that you're miles away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Sanya (which isn't all that amazing in and of itself). If you do want to go into town, there's a shuttle bus that runs up until 5pm, but taxis do not cost much at all if you want to go out later than that.

There's no real reason to leave though - you're not missing anything in town and the hotel has everything, including an "adults only" pool and a selection of restaurants and bars. There's also a spa (although we didn't use it) and you can hire kayaks to paddle out in the sea. Yes, it's expensive (entry level bottle of wine coming in at £40) but then you know that when you book. The rooms were beautiful - we had an Ocean Breeze room looking out over the South China sea with an indoor/outdoor bath, a day bed on the balcony and a large shower. Fresh fruit was provided in the rooms every day and there was also a wide-ranging breakfast buffet to cater for all tastes.

Would definitelty stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Herton Seaview Hotel
#172 of 1,330 in Sanya
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MGM Grand Sanya
#11 of 1,330 in Sanya
438 reviews
Club Med Sanya
#1 of 1,330 in Sanya
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Sanya

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Address: No.12 Yuhai Road, Dadonghai Scenic Area, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Hedong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#1 Family Hotel in Sanya
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#2 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#53 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Sanya 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the privacy of a secluded 1.2 Km nationally protected coral bay and nestled amongst lush tropical flora, Mandarin Oriental, Sanya is an exclusive retreat where nature is celebrated and tranquillity is assured. The luxury resort features a series of private low rise and villa accommodation with ocean and tropical garden views, innovative restaurants and bars, recreational facilities for both adults and children, a blissful Spa Village and distinctive indoor and outdoor conference and banqueting facilities. Located just 20 minutes from Sanya International Airport, the luxury resort provides convenient access to all of the area's major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya Hotel Sanya
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing