We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service..staff never without a smile...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Ranked #8 of 1,373 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I still have a smile on my face when I remember the wonderful service of the staff at MO, Sanya. We do travel a lot and have been impressed by many hotels, but I was constantly very touched with how every member of the staff genuinely wanted to do his best. Being vegetarians, we are used to a minimal menu choice and are ok with it, so it was wonderful to see how the restaurant sat MO Sanya going out of their way to accommodate us and even creating new dishes. Uma Paro, Bhutan was my previous benchmark..this will be my new benchmark for customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HongKongfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

I took my baby to the hotel when she was 2 years old. very comfortable,very happy journey. Baby like the gift,a pirate monkey tool. and we have the daily-renewed shower/shampoo, including the baby ones. the restarants are very good, traditional taste of the noodles impress us. breakfast includes a lot of choice, lots of fresh juice.
the only problem is the beach, a lot of small stones there, not as tiny as the beach in the Yalong wan. While the hotel owns a long, clean and quite beach.
Don't eat outside the hotel, the seafood is much more expensive in the Great East Sea district.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunny9518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is very beautiful however the service is not up to the Mandarin Oriental standard and we found ourselves waiting for over an hour for lunch at the pool and were horrified by the lack of supervision provided to the children at the kids club. We had to rescue a 2 year old girl escaping down the path in distress from the kids club while the attendants looked on with disinterest. The kids club consisted of a room with a dvd on playing constantly and lacked any energetic staff to play with the children let alone provide them with basic care. Not good enough. We won't be coming back here and have decided that we will head next time to thailand as we normally do as a beach holiday there is not only cheaper but better service. The true stand out of this place is the spa which is really great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vantoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The setting of the hotel is amazing - they have a beautiful bay/beach to themselves. Hotel facilities are everything you could want - great restaurants, gym/spa,tennis, endless swimming pools some hidden away, rooms are great - I had a pool room which led out onto a pool with lovely view beyond to the beach. Service is top notch. The property is spread over a huge area and is designed to blend with the landscape and the stunning gardens all around.
Even though it is very child friendly not a problem to find peace and quiet if you want it as there is so much space and choice of places to swim or lounge around.
My only criticism would be that the hotel sets such a high standard that Sanya beyond the hotel could be a bit disappointing. But if you are there for a few days just to relax there's really not much reason to leave this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamiebLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The grounds are lovely and even when full its so large thats its very quiet. A great place to chill out for a few days but I think other Mandarin hotels have a higher standard of service.
I have seen this in other top hotels in China that dont match up to their counterpart elsewhere.
Its stilla great place-check out FRESH restaurant

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgppres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have recently spent 5 nights in this hotel with my wife and our 2 daughters (2 years and 6 months old) . Will we be back : YES.
The + are : the great welcome upon arrival, the very quite location, the size and comfort of the rooms (which includes great beds), the friendly staff, the pools (the real highlight of the hotel, pools for kids specifically designed as such and under the shade which is very much appreciated), the sand close to the pools where kids can play, the fact that the property is quite big and directly on the beach, very close from the airport (as compared with Le Meridien Hainan where we have stayed)
The few - are : not so stroller friendly (a lot of stairs in the property), real beach quite small and ok view from it (we stayed prior at Le Meridien in Hainan and the view was better).
Overall, very happy, very relaxing stay !!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank bebs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

That sounds a little miserable, if not spoilt, but I'm only reporting this in the context of the brand's pretty stellar reputation. I had a large and comfortable "hill" room. Good spaces, a huge shower, walk-in dressing room, but all a little cheaply put together and a little rough round the edges. The marble floor still bore the marks of a big spill some time in the past.

But, absolutely beautiful gardens with stone pathways weaving through them, along which would frequently bomb the electric buggies, sometimes carrying guests, other times with only enthusiastically grinning gardeners and maintenance staff. A gigantic pool which took some exploring. A really well-equipped fitness centre was a pleasure, even more so the huge spa complex.

Big breakfasts which somehow just failed to feel any different from any part of the world ( does that matter ? - I'm not sure...), a nice drink in the rather empty Sunset bar and dinner by the sea one night under the stars.

A great spot with charming staff. I was there on business so didn't spend entire days at the hotel : I'm sure you'd have a restful time if you did. There's not a great deal to explore outside the hotel but it's certainly a change of scene : a military barracks and Chinese brides in full white standing on the rocks by the sea having their pictures taken against the setting sun.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoochlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
MGM Grand Sanya
#18 of 1,373 in Sanya
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Sanya EDITION
#1 of 1,373 in Sanya
946 reviews
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Sanya

Address: No. 12 Yuhai Road, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Hedong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#7 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#41 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: $227 - $907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Sanya 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the privacy of a secluded 1.2 Km nationally protected coral bay and nestled amongst lush tropical flora, Mandarin Oriental, Sanya is an exclusive retreat where nature is celebrated and tranquillity is assured. The luxury resort features a series of private low rise and villa accommodation with ocean and tropical garden views, innovative restaurants and bars, recreational facilities for both adults and children, a blissful Spa Village and distinctive indoor and outdoor conference and banqueting facilities. Located just 20 minutes from Sanya International Airport, the luxury resort provides convenient access to all of the area's major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya Hotel Sanya
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing