We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My top 3 resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Ranked #4 of 1,350 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I'm someone who has high expectation. Esp for something we pay 500usd per night.
I stay at the plunge pool ocean front pavillion. The two bedroom villa was fully booked, so we stay next to each other with my family.

The booking was really hard. They hardly reply to our email. Ask for special promotion, the credit for F+B is helpfull. We need to fax or email the front and back of our credit card for security.

People do complain about their english here, I know my english aint that good, but at least we still can communicate. And I don't find a problem at all. You can't expect them to speak fluently like the american does. They're chinese. But hey, their service and their politeness and the way they remember you, your room no, and the way they try their best to please you, I never get this in any other places before.

The plunge pool pavillion has two floor, and the one staying at our second floor was sooo noisy, we need to close our balcony door at all time.

Buggy call was slow since the resort is very big and they're always busy esp at night, so we always do a lil walk, but it is nice, the weather, the pathway is clean, so if one of the buggy pass by we just jump in.

Breakfast was not that much, but people says that's the best in sanya? Yet it is high quality. I like the fact they make their juice freshly one by one, grill the bacon one by one as well. Breakfast staff at pavillion was fantastic.

The food menu price is not expensive. I mean it is price for a hotel food. 70rmb for a noodle. 200rmb for steak, I find it reasonable. I know there's a hotel who charge 50usd for a fried rice, and 20usd for a normal iced tea.

I went to the yiyang restaurant for dinner, and the staff hardly speak english, which is ok, because at least they tried, but we don't like the way she pour the tea, crossing infront of our face to reach the others cup. She should consider move closer to the other and pour the tea. We find it rude. Esp its should be their fine dining chinese restaurant. Food was great.

We went to the moBar for wine for the 1st night, there was a philipino singer joining in, they were great. But it become like as if its their own party.

We also went to the sunset bar, where we ordered a bottle of wine and a mango juice, and it never appear. But someone who sat beside me who just came, get his mango juice first than me. Then I asked them for that. They then make their mistakes by serving us a hot chocolate marsmallow fondue, which is appreciated. It was a nice one.

The guest relation staff, choi from korea is really friendly and helpfull. And so jerry from reception. The two concierge guy. All the buggy staff was top notch. I feel like I'm treated equally here.

The spa, I don't go there, since they never have a lot of space and its always fully book. So I send my mom and my dad, let them enjoy the facility. They go for foot massage. My mom love it so much, she says, the best massage she ever get. And she wanted to go for the full bodied massage. (She didn't since we don't have much time)
My dad hate it so much, the masseur was having flu, and can't give a good preasure for the massage, so during the 1hr, all he says is "please press harder". And yet she's still fail. My dad think its a ripp off and he canceled the chinese healing medicine appointment for the next day. Though he really have a bad backache. So my advice is, ask for the senior masseur.

I went to yalong bay as one of my city tour trip. And it was looks like so cheapo beach full of wannabes. So I'm happy with dadonghai beach. Enjoy the resort, enjoy the guests activities that they made for the guests and the kids.

I really regret spending many of my time for travelling and sight seeing in sanya. I'd rather stay in the hotel, enjoy the food and the facilities.

The hotel location is close to the shopping area, close to the food stalls, and its fun. You can grab a taxi to get back to the hotel by one 8rmb.

I don't have any idea if I would come back to sanya, but to mandarin oriental sanya, they made me think twice.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank beautifulmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2011

If you'd like a resort with exquisite grounds where every 10 meters is a photo opp, has great food, wonderful rooms, multiple lovely pools and excellent service this is it. The hillside rooms, or sky villas if you'd like to get pricey, are the way to go- terrific views and a short walk through immaculately manicured grounds. The resort location certainly feels removed but is a reasonable walk, or complimentary shuttle ride, to Sanya. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. As other guests have noted there are better beaches and ocean swimming locations in Asia but what this resort offers more than makes up for it. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Hillside or sky villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TEEducator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

THis is actually in between 3 to 4 stars on the overall rating scale. The rooms are lovely- very big. Very nicely laid out with a very relaxed feel. Was there for a conference but it felt reasonably relaxed environment. This is China not Thailand or Cambodia, so don't expect stunning beaches- so the beach at Sanya is obviously a letdown. The Spa is lovely though- not cheap by any means- but deserves all the plaudits it gets. Definitely world-class spa (and I am a spa junkie). Food is decent- liked the breakfast. Service is what you would expect of a Mandarin- language barriers non-withstanding. All in all pretty good really- I generally like Mandarins, and this lives up to the standard. Wouldn't say that Sanya would be a first choice holiday destination for me given other choices in Asia- but not a bad place to spend a few days if you need somewhere within 90 minutes flight of HK.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scalpel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have visit mandarin oriental sanya in July for 3 days, i have booked a hillside roome with sea view. The room was perfect, unlike the other hotel in Sanya, the room was decorate in a tropical style and was really relax. the view was very good too.

The pool and the private beach was also superb. The pool have many different area and was really big, you can even play basketball in the pool! Although the beach was a little bit too small, but the water was very blue and they even provide special shoe for you if you went to swim to prevent your feet hurt by the stone.

The best things was the breakfast, usually i didn't have breakfast when i go for travel, but you really need to try the breakfast here, you won't be disappointed.

I will visit this hotel again when i back Sanya~

Room Tip: Th hotel was quite far away from the airport, and it is difficult to take a taxi there. It is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We recently went to the Mandarin Oriental in Sanya, our second time in two years, and again we were not disappointed. We booked the two bedroom Sky Villa over looking the beach with its own pool and outdoor dining area and outdoor showers (children's favourite). The service as always for the Mandarin was perfect. The food choices were bountiful and diverse to please little peoples' tastes. The food at Yi Yang restaurant was fantastic. Because we booked the villa we had access to the Rock Lounge which was a mini version of everything the main hotel offered but away from the hustle and bustle. They served breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails and were located a stones throw away from the villa. Otherwise, we took hotel buggies everywhere. On our second to last day we had an unexpected visitor as rather large monkey stole into our villa and left with all the bananas from our fruit bowl! The kids club was perfect for younger guests with large outdoor climbing frame and air conditioned inside with video games, television, pool table and lovely ayis who did an assortment of arts and crafts with the children. The swimming pools were also perfect for children with the sandy bottoms and array of toys, but strangely enough the large slides for the pool were not working which would disappoint the older children. A very enjoyable holiday otherwise. We shall be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyHennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Delicate hotel design, wonderful pool, great spa. Spending a vacation here is certainly fascinating and enchanting. The only handicap is the beach, it's ok to me but if you are a beach lover, you'd better choose a hotel in yalong bay. The children's sand pooI is great, I brought my 2-year-old son and he loved it so much.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nefertari2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Having spent a month in Sanya I was looking for a place to have a decent English style breakfast. The Mandarin was recommended by a friend. I was not disappointed , perfectly cooked eggs , any style , and all the usual bits to go with them. An excellent selection of fresh fruit , juices and breads was also on hand.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank nudgerHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
The Sanya EDITION
#1 of 1,350 in Sanya
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Club Med Sanya
#6 of 1,350 in Sanya
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Sanya

Address: No.12 Yuhai Road, Dadonghai Scenic Area, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Hedong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanya
#1 Family Hotel in Sanya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#4 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#48 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: $185 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Sanya 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the privacy of a secluded 1.2 Km nationally protected coral bay and nestled amongst lush tropical flora, Mandarin Oriental, Sanya is an exclusive retreat where nature is celebrated and tranquillity is assured. The luxury resort features a series of private low rise and villa accommodation with ocean and tropical garden views, innovative restaurants and bars, recreational facilities for both adults and children, a blissful Spa Village and distinctive indoor and outdoor conference and banqueting facilities. Located just 20 minutes from Sanya International Airport, the luxury resort provides convenient access to all of the area's major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya Hotel Sanya
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing