We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sweet spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya
Ranked #29 of 1,354 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed at this resort for Hainan golf tournament and it was surprisingly affordable and stunning. The reception area is spread out in grand fashion and open with tropical fresh sea breezes. The room was quite spacious and well furnished. The layout was very classy with poolside balcony view, very clean with great bathroom and large soft bed. Staff are attentive and the location is very central to Yalong bay golf, water sports, restaurants, shopping and beautiful beaches. Highly recommended...

Room Tip: Pool side, 3rd or 4th floor has great view and good privacy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jgh45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 861 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the Sanya Crown Plaza Hotel during the Mid-Autumn Festival in 2011. I read many reviews mentioning that the hotel is a bit old and needs rejuvenation, I completely disagree with those reviews. It is true that the Crown Plaza is one of the oldest hotels in the area but it is really well maintained and has that Pagoda feel with decoration influenced by the Orient but still very modern- we thought the rooms were just gorgeous.

Rooms are large, beautiful bathrooms with stand-alone bathtubs. Great decoration and large terraces that have outdoor sofas one can spend the whole day on reading. The beds were super comfortable and the staff was very responsive in providing whatever we needed for the room ( e.g. extra water bottles, towels etc).

Restaurants: there are many places to eat at . Apart from the wide selection of hotel restaurants ( japanese, western, chinese food, beach bar), there are also tens of restaurants in the plaza area. The big plaza area is an independent development that is built on the premises of the hotel but is independent from the hotel. There we found Bejing Duck restaurants, Cantonese restaurants, Western coffee shop even. There was also a shopping mall ! This enriched our choices for food and we did not have to eat at the hotel the whole time

Pools: apart from the private beach ( a bit on the small side compared to the nearby hotels, but very clean and well maintained) , the hotel has 2 very large pools , one of them with a Jacuzzi that we definitely enjoyed quite a bit. The pools are very large, free form pools , with different depth and one of them even has a bar that you could order drinks from while still soaking in the water. The only drawback is there was not kid`s pool!

Beach: the beach is small and you have to cross the street to get to it. But the hotel provides transport to it. The walk to the beach was around 5 minutes so it was really not a big problem for us that the hotel was not directly at the beach. But the nearby hotels ( Horizon and the Mangrove tree had a much larger beaches in comparison).

Our only complain was that the bathroom and toilets seemed to not have ventilation ( very strange for a hotel of this caliber) so it was quite uncomfortable at times!

Definitely will recommend it to family type of trips but might be a bit boring for young couples or solo travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank longyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were there on April 2010. It was a very nice stay. The weather was fine, the beach clean, the sea calm. We arrived early in the morning and in the afternoom went to the swiming pool. The breakfast has options for all kind of tast. At the evning we just enjoy the shows at the restaurant areas. The hotel is very big and offer a lot of fun. It is perfect to the families. The service was good. The beach you just need to walk around 200 m in an agreable gardem. Only hte seats at the beach are in a number not coherent with the size of the hotel and if you arrive late you wont find a free one.
The rooms are excellent, confortable and clean. It is an excellent choide.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
1  Thank Familia_Sampaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We searched for the U.S. chain beachfront hotels in Sanya, but they were all quite expensive. And we did not dare to try the local hotels. This hotel came up. It was not beachfront, but they had golf cart to take us to the nearby beach. That was fine with us. The hotel's private beach was just a small stretch of Yalong Bay. As usual, China beach was crowded. Beach chairs and towels were provided, but chairs were very closed to each other. We ended up spending more time at the pool. Hotel had the convenience of locating in a mall. Restaurants were right there, but the price was very high. The taste was just ok. Nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank made2worship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We've been to there for five times since it has been opened. We stayed for 5 nights in a suite and the room is a great size with big and comfortable king-size bed. The staff were all very nice and polite. If you want to have an enjoyable family journey, here would be the best one you are willing to try. There is the biggest shopping street of Yalong Bay just close to the hotel, you can try different flavors of cuisine from various regions. For kids, there are a few lovely pools and sports activities waiting for them, kids can make friends and have a great time. Generally we dined out of the restaurant for dinner, but somehow one night, I had tried Chinese restaurant at hotel and found the food was great, value for money. We would return to this hotel someday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenYangSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza Sanya on my first ever trip to Sanya, was very surprised by the hotel, gorgeous, clean, efficient, and right next to an area full of shops and eating places. Room was huge, had a bathroom that was bigger than some hotel rooms. Service was first class in each of the restaurants. Only issue was that, this being a tourist enclave, prices were a lot higher than one would expect for China, especially for food and shopping. But overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gryphon1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSanya, Public Relations Manager at Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Thank you for your kind review. We do be honored you enjoyed your time in our hotel. Hope to serve you soon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

My fiancée and I went to Crowne Plaza Sanya in Mar 2011 for a 4 days 3 nights trip, we were check in the hotel at 9pm, and I asked for the front desk staff for the late check out and the staff came back to me and said 1pm is the latest time to check out on Sunday, then I told the front desk staff I made the reservation through the travel agent with the remarks down for late check-out and one kingsize bed, then the manager came up and said 2 pm is the lastest check out time. We went to the room, with very bad smell and 2 single beds and then I went back to the front desk and asked for the room changed, the front desk staff told me they have no kingsize bed available in the hotel and this is the room I have reserved for, I told them the travel agent already put the remarks for me with one kindsize bed, after arguing with the front desk staff, they finally gave us a bigger room but still with 2 single beds. I have been Sanya for 5 times, I have been stayed in Hilton 2 times, Ritz Carlton and Kempinski, Crowne Plaza Sanya is really the worst hotel I have ever been in my life, my fiancée and I will never go back there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank keropiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSanya, Public Relations Manager at Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2011

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Sanya.

First of all, we are glad to see your first contribution on TripAdvisor which is about our hotel. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and believe it must have happened because of misunderstanding and communication issue.

We checked the reservation order dated on Jan. 31, 2011 from Westminster Travel Ltd. In "remarks" line, it shows "Rq non-smoking, size bed & late checkout" and your booking is 1 twin room (Deluxe)...If you would like to check on our home page or other travel agents' web sites, you will see our Deluxe room is all with two single beds which is differently priced from king size bed room (Premier). That's why the hotel could not provide you King size bed room when your booking was Deluxe room with only a remark "size bed" even if we had King size bed rooms available that day.

Your second issue is about late checkout. The hotel official checkout time is 12:00 noon. With courtesy, the hotel will offer one-hour late checkout to guests in need sometimes, but it must be subject to hotel occupancy and the hotel will never guarantee this issue until the happening day.

We will surely check remarks or requests on the reservation order to prepare rooms for guests, but that doesn't mean confirmation or guarantee. The hotel will try to meet every request, but it should be subject to room availability and hotel occupancy.

As to the smell in your room, it would happen occasionally. We do apologize for this and the hotel is doing efforts to avoid this.

Thank you for your understanding.


Best regards,

Crowne Plaza Sanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MGM Grand Sanya
#15 of 1,354 in Sanya
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya

Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Hainan Island, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#27 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: $76 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On December 30th 2005, Huayu Resort & Spa opened its doors for the first time and has since been welcoming guests from around the world with true Huayu passion. The property is well recognized for its classical Chinese architecture standing proudly alongside the tropical seaside. Whether you need a short refreshing vacation, a couples getaway, family holiday, or corporate annual meeting, we can promise that all your desires will be fulfilled. Whatever experiences you seek, the Huayu Resort & Spa works to provide them all. We provide 583 spacious and luxurious rooms including Executive Suites, Honeymoon Suites, Lagoon Rooms, Sea View Rooms & Town Houses. Five star luxury at your fingertips and outstanding facilities to cater for your every need, recreating the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanya Crowne Plaza
Huayu Resort And Spa Yalong Bay Sanya Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing