We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is the Chinese tropical paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya
Ranked #28 of 1,330 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It is the Chinese tropical paradise”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were there on April 2010. It was a very nice stay. The weather was fine, the beach clean, the sea calm. We arrived early in the morning and in the afternoom went to the swiming pool. The breakfast has options for all kind of tast. At the evning we just enjoy the shows at the restaurant areas. The hotel is very big and offer a lot of fun. It is perfect to the families. The service was good. The beach you just need to walk around 200 m in an agreable gardem. Only hte seats at the beach are in a number not coherent with the size of the hotel and if you arrive late you wont find a free one.
The rooms are excellent, confortable and clean. It is an excellent choide.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Familia_Sampaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    396
    79
    14
    11
See reviews for
61
78
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose,ca
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We searched for the U.S. chain beachfront hotels in Sanya, but they were all quite expensive. And we did not dare to try the local hotels. This hotel came up. It was not beachfront, but they had golf cart to take us to the nearby beach. That was fine with us. The hotel's private beach was just a small stretch of Yalong Bay. As usual, China beach was crowded. Beach chairs and towels were provided, but chairs were very closed to each other. We ended up spending more time at the pool. Hotel had the convenience of locating in a mall. Restaurants were right there, but the price was very high. The taste was just ok. Nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank made2worship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We've been to there for five times since it has been opened. We stayed for 5 nights in a suite and the room is a great size with big and comfortable king-size bed. The staff were all very nice and polite. If you want to have an enjoyable family journey, here would be the best one you are willing to try. There is the biggest shopping street of Yalong Bay just close to the hotel, you can try different flavors of cuisine from various regions. For kids, there are a few lovely pools and sports activities waiting for them, kids can make friends and have a great time. Generally we dined out of the restaurant for dinner, but somehow one night, I had tried Chinese restaurant at hotel and found the food was great, value for money. We would return to this hotel someday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenYangSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
142 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza Sanya on my first ever trip to Sanya, was very surprised by the hotel, gorgeous, clean, efficient, and right next to an area full of shops and eating places. Room was huge, had a bathroom that was bigger than some hotel rooms. Service was first class in each of the restaurants. Only issue was that, this being a tourist enclave, prices were a lot higher than one would expect for China, especially for food and shopping. But overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gryphon1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSanya, Public Relations Manager at Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We do be honored you enjoyed your time in our hotel. Hope to serve you soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

My fiancée and I went to Crowne Plaza Sanya in Mar 2011 for a 4 days 3 nights trip, we were check in the hotel at 9pm, and I asked for the front desk staff for the late check out and the staff came back to me and said 1pm is the latest time to check out on Sunday, then I told the front desk staff I made the reservation through the travel agent with the remarks down for late check-out and one kingsize bed, then the manager came up and said 2 pm is the lastest check out time. We went to the room, with very bad smell and 2 single beds and then I went back to the front desk and asked for the room changed, the front desk staff told me they have no kingsize bed available in the hotel and this is the room I have reserved for, I told them the travel agent already put the remarks for me with one kindsize bed, after arguing with the front desk staff, they finally gave us a bigger room but still with 2 single beds. I have been Sanya for 5 times, I have been stayed in Hilton 2 times, Ritz Carlton and Kempinski, Crowne Plaza Sanya is really the worst hotel I have ever been in my life, my fiancée and I will never go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keropiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSanya, Public Relations Manager at Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Greetings from Crowne Plaza Sanya.

First of all, we are glad to see your first contribution on TripAdvisor which is about our hotel. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and believe it must have happened because of misunderstanding and communication issue.

We checked the reservation order dated on Jan. 31, 2011 from Westminster Travel Ltd. In "remarks" line, it shows "Rq non-smoking, size bed & late checkout" and your booking is 1 twin room (Deluxe)...If you would like to check on our home page or other travel agents' web sites, you will see our Deluxe room is all with two single beds which is differently priced from king size bed room (Premier). That's why the hotel could not provide you King size bed room when your booking was Deluxe room with only a remark "size bed" even if we had King size bed rooms available that day.

Your second issue is about late checkout. The hotel official checkout time is 12:00 noon. With courtesy, the hotel will offer one-hour late checkout to guests in need sometimes, but it must be subject to hotel occupancy and the hotel will never guarantee this issue until the happening day.

We will surely check remarks or requests on the reservation order to prepare rooms for guests, but that doesn't mean confirmation or guarantee. The hotel will try to meet every request, but it should be subject to room availability and hotel occupancy.

As to the smell in your room, it would happen occasionally. We do apologize for this and the hotel is doing efforts to avoid this.

Thank you for your understanding.


Best regards,

Crowne Plaza Sanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
187 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

I stayed here for several days in KIng room Poolview. Room is spacious with separate sitting corner and huge toilet-bathroom area. Sleeping quality is very good in soft bed. Breakfast buffet is great with lots of choice for western and asian food. The hotel is not directly situated at the beach, but for a walk of appox 400m you will end up on the private beach of Crowne Plaza. The hotel complex has also an area with several shops and dining places. All in all.. nothing to complain. One remark for this area (Sanya) is that hotel and other services are quite expensive for China-standard. I was used to stay also in Shanghai, beijing, Hanzhou, Suzhou, Ningbo, Xian, Guillin, Yangshou and Yunnan.....in comparable hotels.... Here the rates are twice as much.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetravelerNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Arrived at the crowne plaza with my partner and a group of friends and crown plaza could not find our reservation. The tour company we had booked with had confirmed paperwork from the crowne plaza and had to fax it through. This took over 2 hours! We were then told that we would be found a room even though the hotel was full. The hotel checked us in at 1.50am assuring us that we would be going to our room only to be told to take a seat and that they were cleaning the bathroom. We were eventually shown to the room at 2.40am which had mould running down two walls and stank despite the attempted cleaning by the staff. Finally put our heads down at 3am.

Following day we were asked to come to reception to change to a different room, we spent over an hour waiting whilst they tried to sort us out with another room only to be told that we should come back later. This was a clever ploy to get us out of our room so that a maintenance guy could come and scrape the mould and horrid plaster off the walls before we'd had a chance to photograph the room in daylight. We had already taken a video and the manager looked rather sheepish when we told him this.

The room we were finally moved to was not moldy but the cleanliness standards were simply appalling, the hallway was dirty and grubby, the windows looked as though they had not been washed inside or out for a very long time. We were missing glasses from the room which were never replaced despite asking everyday. Bathroom toiletries were not replaced everyday and only after a call to reception did a whole bundle get left strewn by the sink.

We had breakfast in bed one morning which was delicious but the tray was removed from our room and left outside our door for two nights by which point the column of ants was fascinating.

Our final evening we were returning from the beach and our door keys had been cancelled so we had to wait for a maid to come and open the door for us. Replacement keys took 30 mins to arrive.

Poorly staffed, dirty, dusty, rats, ants, cold (unheated) swimming pools, light fixtures that don't work, very poor level of English. I would never go again nor recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T1mtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MGM Grand Sanya
#11 of 1,330 in Sanya
438 reviews
Resort Horizon
#29 of 1,330 in Sanya
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya

Property: Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Hainan Island, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#26 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On December 30th 2005, Huayu Resort & Spa opened its doors for the first time and has since been welcoming guests from around the world with true Huayu passion. The property is well recognized for its classical Chinese architecture standing proudly alongside the tropical seaside. Whether you need a short refreshing vacation, a couples getaway, family holiday, or corporate annual meeting, we can promise that all your desires will be fulfilled. Whatever experiences you seek, the Huayu Resort & Spa works to provide them all. We provide 583 spacious and luxurious rooms including Executive Suites, Honeymoon Suites, Lagoon Rooms, Sea View Rooms & Town Houses. Five star luxury at your fingertips and outstanding facilities to cater for your every need, recreating the comforts of your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanya Crowne Plaza
Huayu Resort And Spa Yalong Bay Sanya Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing