We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful visit - especially in the low season!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 1,330 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit - especially in the low season!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We moved from DC to Beijing in January and were immediately told we should book a getaway to escape the city. We had three criteria: we wanted a short flight, a beach and we wanted to use Hilton points. We were nervous about staying in China, and some of the previous reviews reinforced this worry, but our visit was incredible. The property is spectacular, and because we got the upgrade we requested we ended up in a two-room suite with two balconies and amazing views of Yalong Bay. We stayed for 4 days and never left the resort. We were told by hotel management that the hotel was about half full, which meant that there was hardly ever anyone in the restaurant and we pretty much had the pools to ourselves. Service was, at times, excruciatingly slow, but we didn't have anywhere to be and the staff were all so friendly it was hard to be bothered. We really appreciated all of the efforts that Ivy, who I think managed the restaurants, made to accommodate us. We were also very impressed by Kevin, who worked in the Big Kitchen restaurant and the La La Bar. Our biggest disappointment was that the Kids' Club charged 50 kuai an hour, which was a surprise, but still reasonable. We would love to go back for a visit, but will definitely stick to the low season!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear QuartCourt
Thank you very much for taking time to share with us your experiences during your stay at our Resort and for your kind words on the services provided by some of our team members. We are indeed very fortunate to have great team members such as Ivy and Kevin working with us. I am very happy that you and your family had an overall very comfortable and enjoyable time in Sanya. Your feedback on areas were you feel that we can improve have been well received and disussed with our team members. Your comments have been indeed very helpful to us in our continued strive for excellence.
Thank you again for sharing your experiences with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort.
Kind regards
Stephan Stoss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    747
    102
    22
    16
See reviews for
166
148
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel arranged two adjacent ocean view rooms for my family and we enjoyed this beautiful resort very much. The rooms and public area are clean and well maintained, and the staff are all very friendly and attentive.

We enjoyed our ocean-view room on a higher floor, but I don't think it makes too much difference -- we didn't spend much time on the balcony at all. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. There is a huge bathtub in the middle of the bath area, while the bath area is separated from the bed room area by only a curtain. I guess the purpose was to give you a view to ocean from the bath tub but I personally don't really see the point or like the idea much.

The beach at Yalong bay is great and I think is better than the other beaches in Sanya, so I would definitely recommend a Yalong bay resort if white sand beach is the main reason you are in Sanya. The beach of this resort is quite and clean as Hilton is in the corner of yalong bay and pretty far from the public beach.

We liked the great breakfast buffet. We also tried the Chinese restaurant in hotel for diner -- the food is good and service is great. It would certainly cost much less eating in those markets downtown, if you can tolerate the environment and atmosphere and health risk of eating in a fish market.

Most of guests we met were Chinese, and most of them were from Shanghai area I think, maybe because that's where the hotel operator is based. The hotel as well as Sanya overall is quite and relaxing in June but can be very crowded and noisy around Chinese new year when every hotel is fully booked.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th or higher floors for better view and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmguan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is a nice hotel but it could be a lot better, particularly for the prices they charge.

I would however warn people who are considering booking an ocean view room. The pictures you will see adviertised are a little old and the palm trees and general foliage in the hotel grounds has shot up. Having been prompted by the travel agent that it was worth paying extra for the view we thought... well why not! The problem was that the ocean view rooms are below the tree height, floor 3 and some blocks (block 7) actually face away from the sea. When pointing out this I was told "small money small sea view" - Thanks.

After a bit of stopping and complaining we were offered alternatives were Ocean view duluxe rooms.... these are the same rooms but one floor higher, with a view... but we'd have to pay extra. After camping out at the reception desk, they relented as the hotel was only half full and let us has the room with a view, beware its not just one room with this problem.

The pool are was v nice (apart from guests phlegming up in the pool), the prices were very high, 50 RMB for a beer (excluding service charge), 200+ RMB for a Pizza with local options all at eye wateringly high prices, which is why the locals did not eat in the hotel.

You will also find that there is a room Tax to pay even if you have paid up front - its a 20 RMB govt tax, but a real pain to have to fumble about finding extra money to check out.

The area has a nice beach but other than that there are no local bars and the local restaraunts (20 min walk) are OK but you will tire of the made for tourist area.

If you want to lie on the baech Pool then this is ideal but if you want to experience anything Chinese this is not the place.

Room Tip: Aim for floor 4 or above - be very wary of ocena view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carrotcruncherUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chertsey
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I finished off our month long tour of China with a week at this hotel, from 24/5to31/2012, we loved our time there and found the staff and management to be of the very best, nothing was to much trouble for them, to make our stay as happy as they could, they really make you feel special. The pool area's are fantastic and if you don't want to stay around the pool you can stroll down to the beach within 2minutes as this hotel is on beach front, there are plenty of sun beds and cabana's and pool/beach towels are supplied. The restaurants are of a good standard and serve both Western and Asian meals which are reasonably priced for this standard of hotel. The room we stayed in was a Grand Ocean View, with oval bath overlooking the balcony with fantastic views of both the pool and sea, our towels/robes were changed twice daily and the room kept to a good standard. This is a large luxury resort style hotel complex with lots of things to keep you spoiled and relaxed, There is a small shopping mall 5 minutes cab ride away, with some shops and restaurants, other than this there is not much else other than some other large hotels, this however did not bother us as we liked the restaurants in our hotel. One thing to be aware of is the deposit of £700.00 you have to leave on your credit card when you check in, this is to cover anything charged to your room, we did not find this to be a problem. We found this the perfect place to unwind after our hectic few weeks previous sight seeing it is very calming and relaxing, We hope to go back in the future, and would like to say a special thank you to the managers and staff for making our stay so magical.Theresa & Nigel Picton

Room Tip: Book Ocean/pool view, Block7 floor 4 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Picton,
Thank you very much for taking time to share with us your experiences at our Resort during your recent stay. It is indeed very rewarding for all of our team members to receive such positive feedback as yours. It does encourage us to continue in our drive for excellence and for providing all of our guests a relaxing and most enjoyable time when staying with us.
Thanky you again for choosing Hilton Sanya Resport & Spa as part of your travels in China.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to Sanya and our Resort in the not to distant future.
kind regards
Stephan Stoss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Amongst the ‘highlights’ of our trip were:

- An orchestra of local guests ‘hacking’ up phlegm around the swimming people, with no attempt by the hotel to stop them.
- Hotel staff hacking and spitting behind the beach (on one occasion one person cleaned out his nose on to the beach!)
- Chamber maid refused to leave our room when asked and said she would not come back!
- ‘Concierge’ more interested in his ipad than helping us, he gave my wife the phone so she could make enquiries!
- Very expensive and limited food.
- Chefs playing on iphone in kitchen (health and hygiene?!)
- Check-in staff argued with us even though it was in the end their mistake.
- Barely any of the front-line staff spoke any English.

Generally I would say this is a sick hotel, which is a shame because the surroundings and grounds are beautiful. We complained on two occasions, and to be fair, the Operations Manager and the F&B Manager did listen, but there was little followup save for a bottle of wine in the room, although we did receive a lot of attention from the staff after so clearly our issues had been registered on some level.

On talking to the staff, it would seem that most of the front–line people are interns and not on full time positions. According to some of the interns this is to ‘save-cost’.

I would not usually take the time to complain about a hotel like this, but I did feel on this occasion that we were simply not delivered what we had paid for: in my view half of the price you pay is for good service, and it seems this hotel is 100% focused on local clientele. A big shame, a waste of a lot of time and money, and a big disappointment for us in the Hilton and in Hainan.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear Robert P
thank you very much for taking your time to complete a review on trip advisor.
I am very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at our Resort and would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologise for the service shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us.
While we always endeavour to offer the highest level of service we clearly did not deliver on this occassion. Your comments are well received and have been reviewed with our Operation Teams to ensure the issues you highlighted will be corrected immidiately.
We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Resort at some point in the future.

Kind regards.
Stephan Stoss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Firstly, a word of warning.....when we arrived we were asked to supply a card for 'incidentals' & were shocked to discover that they had debited 8000Yuan from our account without confirming the amount with us first; this equated to a little under £800 which is an awful lot of money to have tied up whilst on your holiday. We complained & they agreed to cancel the transaction, however, as this happened on a Sunday it took 5 working days for the money to be credited back into our account! We had previously stayed in four other hotels on our trip and none had taken any money from our card for incidentals prior to this one. So please be aware of this when checking in.

We were initially given a room in Block 7 but after our first night we asked to change rooms as the room and bedding smelt badly of stale cigarettes. We were told the reason for this was that all rooms except rooms in Block 1 were smoking rooms; we asked to be moved to Block 1 and were moved immediately without any problems.

Our new room was a King Grand Ocean View room which we were told was an upgrade, however, we were not asked to pay the difference, which is just as well as any ocean view was blocked by the palm trees. However, we were very pleased as it was a better style of room and had a much more pleasant smell.

As other reviews have stated the pools & garden areas are immaculate & a credit to the staff who work so hard to maintain the high standard. Towels are readily available on the beach & finding a bed was never a problem for us. As in other 5* hotels we have stayed in I would have appreciated bottled water being made readily available, when you bring it down from your room it doesn't stay cold for very long. However, the ice cold flannels & occasional fruit pieces were a nice touch. The beach area is well cared for with very few traders, the sea was lovely & warm but was quite rough for most of our stay.......great fun though!

We ate in the Big Kitchen on most nights but I have to say that the prices are way too steep for the quality & quantity of food delivered on your plate. Drink (especially bottled water) were overpriced also; we felt that Hilton were blatantly taking advantage of the fact that the hotel is very remote & that you are obliged to almost always eat & drink there. ** As there is not a separate mark for this area I have marked them down in the value section.

Nightly entertainment was very low key with the same duo performing in the lobby every evening - whilst they were good a little variety wouldn't go amiss.

Lastly I would just like to say a big thank you to duty manager Iwan for his helpfulness during our stay; his enthusiasm & commitment to customer service was extremely refreshing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear Fosh
Thank you very much for your comments on this web site. First and foremost our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused during your stay with us. Your feedback is very valuable to us in our desire to provide our guests with the highest level of service and hospitality. While we did not seem to meet all of your expectations and in particular the handling of credit card advance payment, I would like to let you know that we have reviewed our requirement for pre-payment for incidental charges at the Resort and in particular for guests such as yourself staying for more than a week with us, to avoid similar delays as you experienced when refunding amounts to a credit card. While you might also be pleased to now that we are step by step increasing the number of no-smoking rooms in the Resort over the summer month and will soon have around 50% of our guest rooms classified as no-smoking rooms. We have also taken note of your other observations and suggestions in our continued aim to strive for excellence. While I would also not like to miss to say thank you for your kind words on Services provided by our Team Member Iwan, whom we are very proud of and I will certainly share your comments with him.
I hope that dispite some issues you encountered your stay with us was an overall comfortable one and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful Resort when your travels will bring you back to Sanya
kind regards
Stephan Stoss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The suite is amazing......located on the 6th floor with ocean view. We love the round bathtub very much.

It's a little bit confusing for us as the hotel has several buildings. However, in this laid-back places we like to walk everywhere.

Staff are friendly. Room cleanliness can be improved.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3796363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,330 in Sanya
911 reviews
MGM Grand Sanya
#11 of 1,330 in Sanya
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Sanya Resort
#23 of 1,330 in Sanya
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Yalong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#8 Family Hotel in Sanya
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#16 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#40 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa is the first Hilton Worldwide Resort in China, features a total of 492 guestrooms, suites and villas. It commands a prime location on 400m of unspoilt beach front at the western of Yalong Bay. The seven restaurants and bars offer guests a range of dining options. Choose from a wide option of leisure facilities, including The Spa, nine outdoor pools, tennis courts, Kidz Paradise, Water Sport Centre. From dream weddings to business occasions, our pillar-free ballroom, 11 meeting rooms and beach lawn will suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sanya Resort And Spa
Hilton Sanya Hotel Sanya
Sanya Hilton
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing