We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,908)
Filter reviews
1,908 results
Traveler rating
998
763
106
24
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
998
763
106
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyalong baynice beachsea viewhainan islandswim up barroom ratepoolschinaenglishbathtubtaxi
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 1,908 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel arranged two adjacent ocean view rooms for my family and we enjoyed this beautiful resort very much. The rooms and public area are clean and well maintained, and the staff are all very friendly and attentive.

We enjoyed our ocean-view room on a higher floor, but I don't think it makes too much difference -- we didn't spend much time on the balcony at all. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. There is a huge bathtub in the middle of the bath area, while the bath area is separated from the bed room area by only a curtain. I guess the purpose was to give you a view to ocean from the bath tub but I personally don't really see the point or like the idea much.

The beach at Yalong bay is great and I think is better than the other beaches in Sanya, so I would definitely recommend a Yalong bay resort if white sand beach is the main reason you are in Sanya. The beach of this resort is quite and clean as Hilton is in the corner of yalong bay and pretty far from the public beach.

We liked the great breakfast buffet. We also tried the Chinese restaurant in hotel for diner -- the food is good and service is great. It would certainly cost much less eating in those markets downtown, if you can tolerate the environment and atmosphere and health risk of eating in a fish market.

Most of guests we met were Chinese, and most of them were from Shanghai area I think, maybe because that's where the hotel operator is based. The hotel as well as Sanya overall is quite and relaxing in June but can be very crowded and noisy around Chinese new year when every hotel is fully booked.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th or higher floors for better view and less noise.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is a nice hotel but it could be a lot better, particularly for the prices they charge.

I would however warn people who are considering booking an ocean view room. The pictures you will see adviertised are a little old and the palm trees and general foliage in the hotel grounds has shot up. Having been prompted by the travel agent that it was worth paying extra for the view we thought... well why not! The problem was that the ocean view rooms are below the tree height, floor 3 and some blocks (block 7) actually face away from the sea. When pointing out this I was told "small money small sea view" - Thanks.

After a bit of stopping and complaining we were offered alternatives were Ocean view duluxe rooms.... these are the same rooms but one floor higher, with a view... but we'd have to pay extra. After camping out at the reception desk, they relented as the hotel was only half full and let us has the room with a view, beware its not just one room with this problem.

The pool are was v nice (apart from guests phlegming up in the pool), the prices were very high, 50 RMB for a beer (excluding service charge), 200+ RMB for a Pizza with local options all at eye wateringly high prices, which is why the locals did not eat in the hotel.

You will also find that there is a room Tax to pay even if you have paid up front - its a 20 RMB govt tax, but a real pain to have to fumble about finding extra money to check out.

The area has a nice beach but other than that there are no local bars and the local restaraunts (20 min walk) are OK but you will tire of the made for tourist area.

If you want to lie on the baech Pool then this is ideal but if you want to experience anything Chinese this is not the place.

Room Tip: Aim for floor 4 or above - be very wary of ocena view rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carrotcruncherUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I finished off our month long tour of China with a week at this hotel, from 24/5to31/2012, we loved our time there and found the staff and management to be of the very best, nothing was to much trouble for them, to make our stay as happy as they could, they really make you feel special. The pool area's are fantastic and if you don't want to stay around the pool you can stroll down to the beach within 2minutes as this hotel is on beach front, there are plenty of sun beds and cabana's and pool/beach towels are supplied. The restaurants are of a good standard and serve both Western and Asian meals which are reasonably priced for this standard of hotel. The room we stayed in was a Grand Ocean View, with oval bath overlooking the balcony with fantastic views of both the pool and sea, our towels/robes were changed twice daily and the room kept to a good standard. This is a large luxury resort style hotel complex with lots of things to keep you spoiled and relaxed, There is a small shopping mall 5 minutes cab ride away, with some shops and restaurants, other than this there is not much else other than some other large hotels, this however did not bother us as we liked the restaurants in our hotel. One thing to be aware of is the deposit of £700.00 you have to leave on your credit card when you check in, this is to cover anything charged to your room, we did not find this to be a problem. We found this the perfect place to unwind after our hectic few weeks previous sight seeing it is very calming and relaxing, We hope to go back in the future, and would like to say a special thank you to the managers and staff for making our stay so magical.Theresa & Nigel Picton

Room Tip: Book Ocean/pool view, Block7 floor 4 or above.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Picton,
Thank you very much for taking time to share with us your experiences at our Resort during your recent stay. It is indeed very rewarding for all of our team members to receive such positive feedback as yours. It does encourage us to continue in our drive for excellence and for providing all of our guests a relaxing and most enjoyable time when staying with us.
Thanky you again for choosing Hilton Sanya Resport & Spa as part of your travels in China.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to Sanya and our Resort in the not to distant future.
kind regards
Stephan Stoss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Firstly, a word of warning.....when we arrived we were asked to supply a card for 'incidentals' & were shocked to discover that they had debited 8000Yuan from our account without confirming the amount with us first; this equated to a little under £800 which is an awful lot of money to have tied up whilst on your holiday. We complained & they agreed to cancel the transaction, however, as this happened on a Sunday it took 5 working days for the money to be credited back into our account! We had previously stayed in four other hotels on our trip and none had taken any money from our card for incidentals prior to this one. So please be aware of this when checking in.

We were initially given a room in Block 7 but after our first night we asked to change rooms as the room and bedding smelt badly of stale cigarettes. We were told the reason for this was that all rooms except rooms in Block 1 were smoking rooms; we asked to be moved to Block 1 and were moved immediately without any problems.

Our new room was a King Grand Ocean View room which we were told was an upgrade, however, we were not asked to pay the difference, which is just as well as any ocean view was blocked by the palm trees. However, we were very pleased as it was a better style of room and had a much more pleasant smell.

As other reviews have stated the pools & garden areas are immaculate & a credit to the staff who work so hard to maintain the high standard. Towels are readily available on the beach & finding a bed was never a problem for us. As in other 5* hotels we have stayed in I would have appreciated bottled water being made readily available, when you bring it down from your room it doesn't stay cold for very long. However, the ice cold flannels & occasional fruit pieces were a nice touch. The beach area is well cared for with very few traders, the sea was lovely & warm but was quite rough for most of our stay.......great fun though!

We ate in the Big Kitchen on most nights but I have to say that the prices are way too steep for the quality & quantity of food delivered on your plate. Drink (especially bottled water) were overpriced also; we felt that Hilton were blatantly taking advantage of the fact that the hotel is very remote & that you are obliged to almost always eat & drink there. ** As there is not a separate mark for this area I have marked them down in the value section.

Nightly entertainment was very low key with the same duo performing in the lobby every evening - whilst they were good a little variety wouldn't go amiss.

Lastly I would just like to say a big thank you to duty manager Iwan for his helpfulness during our stay; his enthusiasm & commitment to customer service was extremely refreshing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan S, General Manager at Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2012

Dear Fosh
Thank you very much for your comments on this web site. First and foremost our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused during your stay with us. Your feedback is very valuable to us in our desire to provide our guests with the highest level of service and hospitality. While we did not seem to meet all of your expectations and in particular the handling of credit card advance payment, I would like to let you know that we have reviewed our requirement for pre-payment for incidental charges at the Resort and in particular for guests such as yourself staying for more than a week with us, to avoid similar delays as you experienced when refunding amounts to a credit card. While you might also be pleased to now that we are step by step increasing the number of no-smoking rooms in the Resort over the summer month and will soon have around 50% of our guest rooms classified as no-smoking rooms. We have also taken note of your other observations and suggestions in our continued aim to strive for excellence. While I would also not like to miss to say thank you for your kind words on Services provided by our Team Member Iwan, whom we are very proud of and I will certainly share your comments with him.
I hope that dispite some issues you encountered your stay with us was an overall comfortable one and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful Resort when your travels will bring you back to Sanya
kind regards
Stephan Stoss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The suite is amazing......located on the 6th floor with ocean view. We love the round bathtub very much.

It's a little bit confusing for us as the hotel has several buildings. However, in this laid-back places we like to walk everywhere.

Staff are friendly. Room cleanliness can be improved.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3,796,363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews