We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I expected from a beach resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay
Ranked #40 of 1,328 Hotels in Sanya
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything I expected from a beach resort!”
Reviewed June 27, 2009

My trip to Sanya Bay didn't start off so well with touters, but the 3hour drive to the place was worth it. I arrived at night and wasn't impressed by the dim lightings and dimly lit pool, but there were still many people there. The cafe took about half an hour to serve up our dinner even though it was 10.30pm and we were 5 out of 7 customers there. However, the food was pretty good I'ld say, tourist rates. Try the Indonesian Nasi Goreng if you're there. Great rice.

Went to the room after, stayed in a 1st floor pool view room, cheapest rates but definitely compensated with a higher ceiling, so it looked bigger. Free wi-fi in the room, definitely a bonus. Toilet was really nice, with glass doors separating the toilet bowl and the shower and the rest of the bathroom which included a bathtub. Best thing is that I casually filled up a feedback form on the side table about the beds, ticking that the beds were too hard, and the next day, WALA! The beds were changed to softer ones! Deeply impressed by that. Also, a light spoilt that night and we left it there. The next day, wala again, it was fixed. A definite 2 thumbs up for the housekeeping services.

Staff are always all smiles and definitely gives you what you ask for at anytime, paying close attention to your needs. Another bonus is the bar by the beach. Fantastic atmosphere with great music playing and a huge flat screen TV at the bar. Great place to chill after dinner.

Only bad things were that the pool isn't very clean, perhaps because stayers always enter the pool after visiting the beach (which is beautiful by the way). Cafe and restaurants have slow serving times, mostly at night after 9pm, I guess because the chefs have gone home or something. Location wise, it is definitely near to the beach, a bonus, but if you're going from Hai Kou Mei Lan airport, prepare for a long ride. Otherwise, try to make your way to San Ya Feng Huang airport.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xidigou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    249
    59
    23
    19
See reviews for
76
67
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

The staff at this hotel really work hard to make you stay relaxing and beneficial. It was not full and so was wonderfully peaceful we appeared to be the only Westerners staying at this time and as the Chinese seem to shun the sun had the pool area to ourselves - it was like having our very pool. The local chinese people staying at the hotel appeared to like to swim at night so the pool was busy from 7-10, which is very sensible. The beach is also very nice and the staff at the beach bar work very hard to ensure you are

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemary1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
229 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We stayed here for 10 days and I was gobsmacked how beautiful it was, it certainly was paradise. If I was on a honeymoon it would be heaven. From entering the hotel to our room was gorgeous, the staff very friendly. The room was delightful with a balcony overlooking the pool. Happy hour was every night in the bar area. The pool area was breathtaking with a few pools and a secluded pool if you wanted privacy. Most nights of the week were set meals in the restaurant (seafood night, bbq night, western nights) so if you ate inside the restaurant and were there for a while it was repetitive. We found a nice little bar on the beach which was cheap and friendly. Slightly out of the way location wise but this is paradise so you tend not to leave.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topcat1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

The hotel was one of the cleanest we have ever stayed at, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing,and it was good to try the Chinese choices too! We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sanya.

Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jenksHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2008

This hotel is really lovely. The rooms are all modern, incredibly clean, beautifully laid out and with everything thought of ahead of time. My room even had a settee against the balcony doors. From my bathtub, I could either close or open the folding doors, so that while taking a bath I could choose privacy, or could choose to watch TV or look out the window.

One weird thing is that both the shower and the toilet area were enclosed by glass (see photo).

There is a wide variety of food available in the restaurants, and a huge variety of spa treatments available. I was impressed most, though, by the breakfast buffet, which had everything from two kinds of congee to make-your-own soup to cereal to oatmeal to bacon to salad to cheese to espresso. If you love breakfast, you should definitely go for this feast!!

My only complaint is that the "hot spring" water wasn't very hot. I actually was uncomfortably cold after only about 30 minutes in the water, and none of the (many, huge) pools were heated, meaning that i was unable to take advantage of the water after the sun went down.

Also, you have to pay for the treatment where you lay in the water and the fish eat your dead skin. It seemed kind of cheap on their part.

There is an outdoor-eating option which seems really lovely. it's just too bad that the hotel is so far from the beach (even though it appears to be close, it isn't) meaning that there's not much of a view. They've done their best to approximate it, though, and even installed a playground for kids.

Overall, this is a really lovely hotel (though feels a bit like a business hotel) and you would have a great stay there whether with kids, teenagers or your partner. My only complaint is the lack of a beautiful view -- but I guess you can get that in Sanya just by going for a walk.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The cold pool and crappy view
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackBeanSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
206 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

I’ve read some positive reviews about the hotel, but I can’t agree that this place is a paradise.The hotel is not new, the rooms are pretty small, the beds are hard, and the swimming pool is not the one you can dream of (by the way it is closed at 10pm). The hotel has a private beach, but to get there you should cross the road. The sea is not good in Sanya (the water is too dirty), but it is a general problem of the area. I would recommend staying at Crowne Plaza, which is much more comfortable. Free Internet is a good thing though.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed at this hotel during June 2008 which was during their low-season. The hotel itself is beautiful, set in beautiful very well maintained grounds. However, due to it being low season, it was very quiet in the evening and everything seemed to close at about 11pm. The room was fantastic with a sea view and the staff were all very happy to help.

On the plus side, we had a choice of numerous sun-beds and found breakfast to be a sedate affair without the usual scrum that ensues with a self-service breakfast.

On a minus side, this was a Holiday Inn and as such, we could have been anywhere in the world where it is hot. There was nothing about it to set it aside from other hotels in the chain.

It's location also lets it down a little as it really is in the middle of nowhere and it seemed that we were activley discouraged from going out without a 'guide' as we were told there were bag snatches by people on scooters. The beach is nothing special and I think we spent all of 10 mins on it.

The hotel entertainment was a the same every night, but I guess that's what you get when you go in the low-season.

  • Liked — Pools
  • Disliked — Not much to do at night
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Sanya Bay
0.2 mi away
Grand Soluxe Hotel and Resort Sanya
8.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sanya City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Baohong Hotel
Baohong Hotel
#37 of 1,328 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
8.8 mi away
Herton Seaview Hotel
Herton Seaview Hotel
#156 of 1,328 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay
Address: Haipo Tourism Resort Area, Sanya Bay Road, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#60 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Sanya Bay Resort - The Pearl of Sanya Bay, situated on the scenic Sanya Bay. It overlooks beautiful Sanya Bay sandy beach, East Island and West Island. The Resort is 15 minutes away from the famous The End of the Earth, Nanshan Buddhist Cultural Zone, Sanya Phoenix International Airport and the downtown. 226 tastefully decorated guest rooms and suites with wide balconies overlooking spectacular sea & mountain views. The Executive Club Floor features 35 guest rooms & suites and an elaborate Club Lounge, which provides coffee, tea and evening cocktails. You can enjoy a hot spring shower in the room.Every restaurant offers a choice of indoor and outdoor seating. The Marina Café, an oriental bistro restaurant & café, features global favourites with specially designed set menu and lavish authentic buffet spread to suit local taste and international travellers. Guest can enjoy exquisite Cantonese cuisine, as well as local popularities of Hainan Province in the Southern Hill Chinese Restaurant.A place overlooking the distinctive swimming pools and spectacular panoramic ocean view of Sanya Bay, the Harbour Lounge features snacks, pastries, coffee, teas and cocktails.Holiday Inn Sanya Bay Resort offers a very relaxing environment that features comprehensive recreational facilities. Hot spring massage gives you a wonderful experience. Only at the Holiday Inn do we provide a festive Philipine band for your dinning enjoyment! 'a colorful trio of guitars'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sanya Bay Hotel Sanya
Sanya Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Bay Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing