We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel - by Chinese standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort
Ranked #22 of 1,356 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Just returned from my 3rd trip to Sanya. The city claims itself as China's Hawaii and attracts tourists from all over China seeking warm warmth and sunshine. The weather there lives up to its reputation, right temperature and perfect humidity. But like the rest of China, air quality is getting worse with a thick layer of grey haze overshadowing the otherwise blue sky.

The positives: hotel is centrally located in the prestine Yalong Bay, with fine white sandy beach and clean sea water for swimming. Rooms are spacious and clean.

The negatives: service is laid back and sometime lacking (although no tipping is required). A popular site for corporate functions, it is common to see mid-aged Chinese businessmen sitting in the lobby or restaurant enjoying a smoke while chatting loudly.

Bottom line: If you have young children or enjoy quiet relaxation, this may not be the perfect hotel for you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPK-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving us the valuable comments.
We really appreciate your detailed feedback which we can always learn from and improve our service accordingly.
As a resort, we also have numerous meeting groups, corporate and government guests staying in house. We will pay more attention in the future trying to keep a quiet environment for all every guest.
Please do stay with us in your next stay, we're pretty sure seaside is always pleasant and welcoming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

We didn't actually stay in this hotel since the cost was a little bit more than our budget. However, we did some researches and found out the Mandara Spa located in this hotel was very good so we went there and had a wonderful experiences. The service, staff and everything is up to international standard and not to mention how good my skin is after the spa!!! :)

Room Tip: Cannot miss the Mandara Spa!!!
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CSSNAKEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for visiting our hotel and trying our SPA at Mandara.
It's our pleasure to offer you a complete refreshment from the tiredness of urban life, and we are very glad that you enjoy the treatment we offer and the service provided by our friendly and professional staff.
We are sincerely welcome you to stay with us next time, maybe in the low season when we offer various packages for family and friends.
Thank you again for visiting us and leaving the valuable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Our family paid a visit to Haikou and Sanya last December, as a starwood senior member, we choose the Sheraton hotel there, their pool and beach is wonderful, recreation services are plenty to choose from. The service from lobby to arrangement needs to be improved, but admittedly it's way too busy to accommodate all guests' requests in Sanya. Personally I recommend Shimeiwan rather than yalongwan if you prefer quiet and pure recreation with relax.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with Sheraton Sanya Resorts.
Your comments are well received and we appreciate that you take your precious time to leave us the feedback.
It is a pleasure to learn that you have a wonderful vacation experience with us and you satisfy with our facilities and services.
We sincerely welcome you back in the short future and create another impressive vacation.
Best wishes to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

From the moment you step in, this resort feels good,; well laid out with a great view and friendly staff. This is the place to be when rest and relaxation is needed. At check-in you receive a handy resort map, showing not just areas of the resort, but also every resort located along Yalong Bay. A resort to remember, great swimming pools, full buffet restaurant, lobby bar and red Ferrari sports car parked in the lobby itself. A conversation piece to say the least.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with Sheraton Sanya Resort. Your comments are highly aprreciated.
We're glad that you have a pleasant stay here. Certainly, Sheraton Sanya is always a perfect choice for rest and relaxation. We are proud of our facilities, such as the swimming pool and our lobby. Also, you'll always find the delicious food to your taste in one of our outlets.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we are happy to invite you back here to share the golden vacation memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Sheraton Sanya is everything you would expect visually from a tropical paradise resort. The rooms are lovely and the grounds/pools/beach are amazing. So, if you plan on going and staying at the hotel for your entire visit... your vacation is going to be wonderful. It's the venturing outside the hotel that can be challenging. The conceirge staff needs better training in this regard. As an example, the staff found it dramatically challenging to provide one restaurant recommendation outside the hotel except for the seafood place next door (which I've eaten at and no one speaks english there). I was able to find recommendations on trip advisor. On another occassion, I asked about snorkeling and was referred to the shack on the beach. When prompted about a day trip to Wuzhizhou Island... which I had read was known for snorkeling...they really had no clue how to set that up. Don't get me wrong... I certainly would recommend the Sheraton Sanya... we had a wonderful vacation. I managed to get to Wushizhou island... I ate dinner outside the hotel... i just had to make those arrangements myself... which is a bit frustrating for a 5 star, world class resort.

Room Tip: The views from the ocean view rooms are beautiful. If sitting on the veranda after a day on the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank avatarNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with Sheraton Sanya Resort.
Your comments are highly appreciated.
We're very happy that you have enjoyed your vacation here in general.
Our conceirge team would be happy to assist you with your stay and provide valuable recommendations to delight your vacation. Certainly, they need to polish their English in listening and speaking so that they can have fluent communication with our guests and help our guests to the greatest extent. At the same time, we will enhance the staff training in terms of local attractions and local area knowledge so that all of them can make your stay most pleasant.
We sincerely hope that the minor inconvenience won't affect your entire vacation and we would like to welcome you back for your next stay in Sanya and provide you our refined 5 Star standard service and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I have visited this bay some dozen times over seven years and in spite of a plethora of new hotels in this booming resort the gardens, pools and beach of this beautiful hotel remain exeptional with no competition from the Hilton, Ritz and other new ventures.
By popular demand the Restaurant manager now does three beach barbecues a week and sitting by the sea in comfort watching the sun set while tucking in to an international array of excellent foods is pure bliss.
Thisis a place to go to really relax and do nothing, soaking up the sun and atmosphere - there is plenty to do if you want but I have never strayed from the hotel complex all these years!!.
Not cheap but I would rather have three days here than a week at a more economical hotel of which there are dozens in this splendid bay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with Sheraton Sanya Resort.
We are very happy that you had a great vacation here. It's our honor to provide attractive food feast, amicalbe service and comfortable facilities to make your stay perfect.
We will have more F&B promotions in the next season which will nicely combined local specialties with the natural dining environment.
We sincerely welcome you back to share your next vacation .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Sheraton Sanya is already quite a few years old. The good thing is that the surroundings and garden are very lush and beautiful. The swimming pools are also great. In fact, you have the pools mostly by yourself until the chinese (they spend day sightseeing and shopping -relaxing is not their thing) start show up around 16:00 in their bathrobes. then it gets of course noisy.

old means that rooms are not so great than other hotels in the area. they have sweet sleeper beds although standards at sheraton somewhat differ in china. they also sell the sweet sleeper beds. in fact, I got one at home, managed to buy directy from factory. only rmb 3.50 for kingsize set - made by King Koil.

they have plenty of rooms that have no seaview, view onto "mountains and golf course". those rooms also don't have balconies. considering that it is hot and humid, a balcony is also not really necessary. rooms are expensive because the hotel is - thanks to beauty pageants - very well known. it is also very busy.

breakfast is extensive, but if it is busy kind of noisy. it is all outdoors, but under a canopy.
for SPG gold/platinum members they have own area. however, you will immediately realise you are in china as service is somewhat lucklaster. they forget things or don't bring a spoon with your cup of coffee (they only drink tea...) and don't speak well english. so all the hazzle you face during working in china does not go away. true vacation - go to thailand!
as I am platinum, I made a great experience last time (I stayed there 5 times over last few years). they picked my family up at airport (yes, they do have baby car seats) and they immediately took us to our room (upgrade to suite) and we only had to give them our passports which they returned later. first time ever, that I did not have to checkin at reception. great service!

yalong bay: plenty of hotels. however, lack of ambience as there is nothing going on during the evenings. the entire beach belongs to hotels and believe it or not - they do not have restaurants or bars on the beach! some will organise BBQ on their lawns on saturdays, but that is it. the reason is that most guests are chinese and they go our for seafood dinners at sanya. so it is very quiet in the evenings. food and drinks are expensive! the same goes for any kind of water activity. you pay double to what you'd pay in thailand.

water is ok, but nothing special.
sanya is ok for 3-4 days, but if you want a real tropical vacation, head to east asia.

there are two golf courses in yalong bay. try the one that is not on the beach. really cool!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolandShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rcheung, Manager at Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with Sheraton Sanya Resort.
It's our honor to have you here and to create a wonderful memory for your vacation.
We are sorry that some unpleasant experience happened in your vacation.
We do have beach bar opening till 24:00 in the midnight, so that our guests can have fun in the evening. We also have Seafood market on the beach where you can have close contact with the sea breeze while having dinner.
We offer a wide variety of choices including water activities, beach activities, and indoor activities.
We also have quiet dining area and private swimming pool offering in our beachfront villas, where we offer refined butler service and meals delivery. Our guest can enjoy 100% privacy and quietness with their family and friends there.
Again, we're sorry that we didn't make a delighted vacation for you, but we sincerely welcome you back to Sheraton Sanya Resort, to give us an opportunity to create a perfect vacation for you in next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MGM Grand Sanya
#15 of 1,356 in Sanya
454 reviews
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort

Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sanya
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#21 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#42 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: $135 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sanya Resort, located in the heart of the world-class resort district of Yalong Bay, overlooks the clear waters of the gleaming sun-kissed South China Sea and possesses a fascinating beach. It is approximately 40-minute drive from the Sanya Phoenix International Airport, 15-minute drive from Yalong Bay Railway Station, 5-minute walk from Yalong Bay Tropical Paradise Forest Park and 5-minute drive from the Yalong Bay Outlets. The Resort is equipped with 511 guest rooms including 49 suites and 5 villas, which are spacious and elegant. Each of the room and suite commands spectacular views of the ocean, the tropical lush gardens, mountains or the golf course. All villas have ocean views and direct access to the beach. With a selection of 8 restaurants and bars including Palm Court Lobby Bar, Lotus Café All Day Dining, Spice Garden, Baiyun Chinese Restaurant, Pool Bar, CU Restaurant, Beach Garden and Samba Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sanya Hotel Sanya
Sanya Sheraton
Sheraton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing