We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location; private beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resort Golden Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Resort Golden Palm
Ranked #50 of 1,326 Hotels in Sanya
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
388 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good location; private beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on the main street, but is surprisingly quiet. The hotel provides a private strip of beach to swim and sun bath, which is a great option. There is a lovely garden in the back, and the swimming pool is quite nice. Five stars if the hotel can control the Chinese from smoking everywhere.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JackandResh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    412
    44
    14
    5
See reviews for
15
39
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

All in all the hotel is good, but If you're young and looking for entertainment this hotel is absolutely not for you. Even all this Yalong Bay not for you)) It's better go to Dadunhai
Pluses
- Good breakfast,
- Good swimming pool
- Clean beach is near hotel
- Very nice veranda! During the breakfast you will enjoy the landscape

Minuses

-Quiet atmosphere... VERY Quiet
- Staff doesn’t speak English at all. To explain them what is fork absolutely impossible.
- The rooms are so so, actually, they are stale and some closets are needed to be repaired

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phantom_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Worst hotel/resort! My tip is don't come here! Terrible service & facilities. Dirty rooms. No continental breakfast.
Stuff don't speak English.
It's a quest - to order the bottle of wine on dinner.
Run away!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DNPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place has location going for it, although construction next door detracts somewhat, the semi private beach across the street, is well looked after and not cluttered with roving vendors, a big plus.
Starting with the checking process, at least 20 minutes, the staff seems unaware of what customer service is supposed to look like. The housekeepers are at least friendly, and do a reasonably good job, keeping the rooms clean, always a challenge with the sand that inevitably gets tracked in. Because my feet are too big for their complimentary flip flops , I chose to go barefoot through the halls, and lobby. My soles were quite black after a return trip to the breakfast.
The complimentary breakfast was good, with a fair assortment of items, however, where the staff is generally slow to get things done, by 10:02, everything is put away- hardly the right attitude when you are at a resort.
Rats are everywhere in China, and this place seems to have its own, sitting in the lobby using the wifi, ( it doesn't work in the rooms, only hard wired), I wafched one work his way across the lobby. None of the staff seemed concerned, and that kinda sums up the place. Great location can only do so much for a hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the south facing side, construction next door starts early, and will do so for severa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cypressday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place is a prime example of how China strives to Be mediocre.

the staff was just 100% apathetic towards anything. I don't think they would have even bothered to pick up a fire extinguisher if they found a fire. Like I say average for China. The rooms were cleanish but with some large cracks in several of the walls, there was sand on the floor , the towels were a very dingy white and we had a smell of mold in our room. We were in the new renovated side as well. Our sea mountain view was mostly parking lot. The wicker furniture reminded me of cheap stuff you might put outside as just a place to sit in your backyard when you want to bbq.

The food. The dining area was ok, easy to reach with a nice view of the parking lot. The food however, was terrible so we tried our best to eat out at some other places. Even my wife who is Chinese couldn't believe how they could managed to screw up cooking Chinese food. The breakfast buffet was ok with the best thing there was the fresh fruit.

Now the beach and the swimming pool in my opinion were very nice. The beach was clean but I still left the water with pockets full of slightly oily plastic that I found floating in the water. One thing that really pissed me off was again their cheapness. They had nice beach umbrellas and lounge chairs for you to use after you paid the hotel surcharge. I swear anything they could do to squeeze another Mao out of you they would. The swimming pool however was top notch. My daughter loved it. A very nice large children wading area with fenced off deep end on either side.

My biggest problem was when the hotel told us that the ATM in their lobby that ate my card wasn't their problem. We had to fight with them for several hours to get them to service it as our flight was leaving early the next day. Even though they allowed it there and of course make money off of it they just wanted to pass the buck and ignore that there was a problem.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilroy238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for 5 days in october ,starting with good points the hotel is very clean, the pool and the beach are very beautiful and the overall ambience of the place very nice. However I would have liked to have spent most of the days at the beach but they do not provide padding for the sun loungers hence it gets quite uncomfortable after a while so tended to sit by the pool more often. At the beach they do not provide hot food or sandwiches so you have to go back to the hotel which is a little annoying! The food at the hotel is pretty good to average but overpriced particularly the breakfast which should be included in the price of the room. The food if ordered sometimes takes too long to come. Some of the staff do speak some English but the ones who don't were at times unhelpful to me even when trying to indicate in my limited Chinese and use of translaters apps they often didn't want to try to understand. These things said I would rate the hotel fairly highly and its probably one of the better ones in Sanya.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentgirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

To start with the good things - pool is nice, lobby is nice, beach is clean. And the not so good things - service is unmotivated, uncaring, only interested in providing you with information on what you can't do and what you have to pay for - awful. 10 quai for a map - please, can't even provide a complimentary map of the area for visitors. The breakfast ranks as the worst I have ever experienced in China yet - how they even managed to make chopped cucumber taste bad is beyond me. Awful Chinese food (over cooked bland veggies, greasey noodles), awful attempt at a few western breakfast norms (bad orange juice, terrible dry bread). We tried dinner once, their seafood BBQ (outrageously overpriced), almost as bad as the breakfast. We didn't bother with the Chinese restaurant there, had as much atmosphere as a factory canteen. We headed to the 5 star hotels for meals, was well worth it. In the room, a decent sized suit, the air conditioning didn't work properly, windows where very old, bathroom rusty. I complained and got shown two rooms that were in worse condition. They were not tempted to find another solution, it was one of the other two rooms or nothing. They won, we couldn't be bothered. They provided a cot for our daughter free of charge (an old-style rusty metal bed, no mattress, something from Fright Night that I wouldn't let my dog sleep in), thankfully, we bought our own and wheeled the horror bed into the hallway and tried to forget it ever existed - picture attached. I can only imagine that any of the good reviews on this site where paid for by the hotel. Dreadful! If you can manage it, stay at one of the 5 star places down the road, we will next time.

Room Tip: I think that they may have upgraded one side of the hotel and not the other - we stayed in the non-u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
0.2 mi away
Sanya Yalong Bay Sintra Suites Hotel
0.3 mi away
Palace Resort Yalong Bay Sanya
1.0 mi away
MGM Grand Sanya
MGM Grand Sanya
#4 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Huayu Resort and Spa Yalong Bay Sanya
2.4 mi away
The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort
0.5 mi away
Resort Horizon
Resort Horizon
#23 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Golden Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Golden Palm

Property: Resort Golden Palm
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572016, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Yalong Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Golden Palm 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort Golden Palm is located in Sanya, a famous tropical seashore city, in Hainan Province in south China sea. It is situated in Yalong Bay National Resort District, a beautiful national AAAA level scenic spot that is the most extremely geographical position for tour and holiday. It is a national four star multifunction resort. You can take a leisure vacation, traveling and sightseeing in the Sanya area. The Resort also caters to commercial conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Resort Golden Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Golden Palm Hotel Sanya
Hotel Golden Palm
Golden Palm Hotel
Resort Golden Palm Sanya, Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing