We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 1,330 Hotels in Sanya
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent service”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The staff at this hotel delivered excellent customer service. From the beginning to the end of our stay at this hotel, we were never disappointed at their services. Especially Alex, the relations manager, he's friendly, professional and very genuine. He provided us with excellent sightseeing places and good tips of where to eat. He has been most helpful and made our stay just so much more enjoyable. The hotel was cleaned, buffet breakfast was excellent, the garden was well maintened and lush. Also their private beach was cleaned and not crowded. The security personnel at this hotel were excellent and they have made us felt so much safer while staying here. . We will definitely be back to Marriott for our next visit to Sanya.

Room Tip: Get grand ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    550
    70
    13
    8
See reviews for
189
121
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We've been to Sanya before. This month we stayed in Marriott Yalong Bay.

Due to my work I have travelled all over the globe and have seen the best and the worst, this currently ranks among my worst ten.

I understand that a lot of hotels in Sanya don't have staff that are fully fluent in English. However my wife speaks Chinese and we would still be misunderstood.

We ordered room service a couple of times. Without exception, 5, sometimes 10 minutes after our order they would ring again to tell us that they did not really understand and needed to double confirm. After further clarification, they would still bring the wrong food. And the service was slow. Expect at least 45 minutes

Food was not clean (belly aches after every meal), and it's definitely overpriced.

Service at the breakfast buffet gives the impression that they hire temp staff - chaotic and unhelpful

Beach was nice. Bedroom was clean, but there was something wrong with the curtains -- couldn't draw them together, hence huge gap that leaks light, always woke up at 6am because of the sun. Also the design seems dated.

So overall really disappointed and this definitely does not deserve to be ranked no. 7 in Sanya.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this wonderful hotel. Resort is spectacular with winding garden paths, statues, flowers, many swimming pools, and of course the beach! The beach was as good or better than beaches in Thailand. They were clean, white sand, no seaweed or trash in the water and sand under your feet as far out as you could go (they have a roped off area for swimming which has a life guard on duty). Some surf on day 2 & 3 which was good for body surfing...not so good for little children. Beach chairs with cabanas and towels, both free of charge and no problem to get one no matter what the time of day.
Beach bar, Blue Lagoon is directly on the beach however could use a little up grade i.e.. first night we ate, only 2 waiters, both run off their feet. My wifes dinner did not come until 20 minutes after mine. Final day there we ordered burgers....after 1/2 hour we asked where they were; they forgot to put the order in. However we did order drinks many times from this bar with no issue. Staff were very courteous and always had a smile.
Breakfast was excellent, you could get anything from western to Chinese.
Room was clean and a/c worked well. Wifi in common areas but if you joined their Marriott rewards program (free), you get free wifi in your room.
If you walk outside the hotel and turn right, you can walk to a large area with many restaurants, the walk is about 20 minutes, the street is well lit at night and you can look at the beautiful flowers and the other hotels on the way.
We did go into Sanya to the Dolphin bar as per other reviewers however it more for the under 30's crowd. Food was good and mostly English spoken.
Large Russian presence in Sanya, many signs in chinese and Russian. Found this interesting.
At the hotel, Alex the guest relations manager was excellent and very helpful on several occasions and his English is excellent.
Will definitely stay again when we next come to Sanya

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankCovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A really nice green area, lovely swimming pools and it's so close to the ocean. Excellent service, as they say in China - service with a smile. Decent food, even for our 1 year-old-baby. Btw he enjoyed the kids area a lot - lotsa toys, a couple of slides, video games, etc. Very quiet. The hotel faces both - the ocean and the mountains so it's got a terrific view

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnieLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We enjoyed staying in this beautiful resort in Yalong Bay. It is perfect to relax and enjoy the beach. We mostly styade at the resort, went out to town once but preferred to relax by the ocean. The room was comfortable, we didn't have a sea view but still had great views of gardens in front of hotel. It is a large property but very quiet and well maintained.

The buffet breakfast is great, with a wide array of food in dishes from Russia, China, Japan, Italy and France. It is replenished constantly. The only thing that you have to ask for is coffee or tea as the staff does not refill automatically. Dinner prices are high so you might want to explore other options if you stay a while.

The beach is great, well kept, clean and wide. We went to check the Ritz but their beach is not as good. The weather was good and that was welcome especially as we were in rainy season.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Motherof3teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We got surprised upgrade to ocean view suite as I was stayed there before. This hotel was the best hotel we stayed. The staffs were very friendly and everyone greets you when they saw you. The room was super clean and hotel public area were well maintained even though the hotel was almost 10 years old. The landscape of garden was so beautiful. The beach was well maintained and swimming pool was charming.

The only improvement I would recommend was the breakfast. Hope they would have more selections and better chief improve the taste

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swt_cg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My family and I enjoyed our vacation at the Marriott in Sanya. The property was beautiful. Never had to wait for a chair on the beach or at the pool! Beach and pool both very nice. The breakfast was very good, although fruit was brought out infrequently and there were often people milling around waiting for it. Japanese restaurant was, by far, the best on the property. The other restaurants were mediocre. The front dest staff tries very hard and there is a guest relations manager who was superb. Be sure to buy at the market down the street, SO much cheaper for soda, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quite pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MGM Grand Sanya
#11 of 1,330 in Sanya
438 reviews
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#3 of 1,330 in Sanya
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Yalong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sanya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#6 Family Hotel in Sanya
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#19 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#39 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a pristine sweeping 7 km crescent of white-sand beach cupped by rainforest covered mountains and caressed by crystal-clear waters, the resort’s 452 rooms offer commanding views of the famous Yalong Bay. The direct access private beach is complimented by a large 10 hectare tropical garden perfect for peaceful walks in the sea breeze. Multiple swimming pools, a dedicated Kids Club, and signature Quan Spa ensure the complete resort experience while an Ocean Front Wedding Chapel, outdoor self-contained meeting center surrounded by water features combined with a range of conference rooms offer innovative venues for meetings and celebrations of all kinds. Two championship golf courses are easily accessible from the popular resort which itself is just a 30 minute drive from Sanya Phoenix International Airport and a 10 minute drive from Yalong Bay high-speed train station. Whether dining at the award winning Japanese restaurant or strolling across the Bermuda grass beach lawn, Sanya Marriott Resort & Spa is the best choice for an authentic beach holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Hotel Sanya
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort And Spa
Sanya Marriott Hotel
Marriott Sanya
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing