We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, solid experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 1,330 Hotels in Sanya
Hong Kong
1 review
“Good, solid experience”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The first thing that comes to mind about this resort is service - excellent, friendly and professional staff. You get the feel that they really want to serve you and they really do listen which is important. The hotel overall is good. Rooms were standard and starting to show signs of age but still ok. The garden has nice landscapes and the pool is nice not too crowded. We walked around to other hotels and find this better than the MGM, Mangrove Tree. Really liked the Ritz and wished we booked it but the price is definitely higher. Back to the Marriott - hotel breakfast is subpar for its price RMB239. Ritz charges the same and has greater variety and much higher quality. The one thing I loved about Marriott is their band - this Filipino duo is one of the best bands I've ever experienced.

Bottom line: Good solid hotel and value for money but if you desire a more exclusive experience and don't mind paying more, go for the Ritz for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    550
    70
    13
    8
See reviews for
189
121
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My family has been to yalong bay since 2006 and back then we stayed in Universal Resort and Cactus but this year we decided to stay somewhere luxurious. It was worth the money payed when we got off the plane we were thinking about getting a taxi outside but saw a marriott person holding our bames so the guy took all of our luggage and took us to the family car he gave us a cool towel to cool down and gave us bottels of water and a marriott necklace a great welcome. It was a bit far from the airport but acenic as soon as we got there the receptionist checked our reservations and it was correct but it had said deluxe room on the paper but after pestering the person to say that we booked an ocean view we got the room even though it was on the first floor we could see a strip of sea but you know were here to enjoy outside not sit in our rooms. There were 3 people in our family my mom dad and me 13 years old and since we booked a family package they gave us on free bed for me. The room wasnt that spacious but it was okay like normal wize but after finding out that marriott was here for 8 years the hotel was in great shape the grounds were kept clean every morning there was tai chi an yoga they have their names of each plant And tree they were fixing everysingle flaw there was repainting the fence. Since we come from mongolia where it reches -40C in the winter for us it was hot there it was around 25-30 which is great weather. The second we got there we had dinner at the marriott cafe they had great food. In total they have a marriott cafe where the breakfast buffet also is and you can eat outside great variety of food and everything. Also Wan Hao chinese restaurant which we disnt get to try because to over priced and Edogin a japanese restaurant which we also disnt try. Since we had a family package we got a voucher for free pizza and we had to get stamps feom all the places to collect a myatery gift. The food in general was great a little overpriced so one day we went to the other hotels and we had KFC to get there we took the hotel shuttle bus at 11:10 and the bus dosent come back so we went through the summer mall and we took a taxi to KFC by pointing it out on the map and it was pretty good. Also if you go for a 5 minute walk down theoad you will find A small supermarket you can buy some drinks because there it was overpriced. Also if you arent lazy you can walk about 15 minutes to a place called La Floret which has shops and they have starbucks and pizza hut and currently opening Haagan Dazs.

The hotel is very well situated and has two lagoon pools whic has a jacuzzi and upatairs there is also one and in front there is a lap pool kids club and its far from the main road so almost every room is wonderful great grounds the beach is clean police patrol to see any unwanted visitors not from our hotel to tell them not to be here clean beach towel stations almost everywhere. You cam try different activities like segway riding scuba etc the woman selling the pearls a bit annoying not sure if real. All the staff speak english and friendly greet you everywhere even at night you get three bottels o water and if you ask they give you till your hearts content

Overall a great hotel to stay just fabulous views and great everything almost no flaws just a few steps you need to watch ou for here and there but otherwise great

Dec 17-Dec 25 CHRISTMAS EVE BUFFET

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nellster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 1,5 week with my mother, and i must say, this really was a great experience. I will definitely stay there again next time I go to Sanya. This hotel has the best beach in the whole Yalong Bay (I walked around), all the staff in the lobby speaks very good English (and some even Russian). If you have any questions, Alex the Ambassador always has the answers (and a charming smile) for you. During the breakfast you should ask for Tony. This waiter will actually remember your name, what coffee you prefer, where you like to sit, etc. And he is very talkative. Our housekeeping lady Alison is also worth mentioning here. She is great at remembering the guests' habits and requests. You ask once, and she will make sure, you don't have to ask again. Generally speaking, the staff was great and very professional!
The only suggestion would be to improve the breakfast variety.

Room Tip: Get the sea view rooms. Visit the Deep Blue beach bar with great Mai Tai. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paulina-V-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for business. It is a luxury hotel with a lot of facilities for relaxing. It has a nice beach and swimming pools. It is close to several Golf courts. Unfortunately I didn't have enough time to enjoy it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BisharaSayegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic beach hotel. Pure luxury. Rooms are really spacious, with really good sized bathrooms- separate baths and shower areas. The bathroom accessories are really impressive too- lovely little cotton bags filled with bath salts, lovely robes and slippers,a beach bags and umbrellas. There were so many luxurious touches in the rooms which made our stay special. They even bought a cake and champagne for my husband's birthday without me asking- they must have seen his date of birth on his passport at check in.

The pool was probably the best pool I have seen. It was huge, but on so many different levels, little bridges and waterfalls, and secluded jacuzzi areas. The communal ground areas were planted and maintained really well, lovely flowers, bonsai trees and statues.

Beach area was really nice too- the whole stretch of beach is luxury hotels- all the big names are here and Yalong bay feels really exclusive with great views.

Tried all of the restaurants as we were here for a week. All were amazing. The Chinese restaurant was particularly good, and they provided really good information and advice when ordering fresh sea food. The restaurant manager here was really good, and frequently had a chat with him. The Japanese restaurant was also really good- try to sit in one of the 'traditional' booths rather than at tables- it is a more authentic Japanese service experience. The sashimi was lovely.

Had a truly relaxing stay here, and would highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jenniferlou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed the Marriott. We stayed four nights during China's Golden Week. Our room was a "garden view" instead of ocean view and it was fine. In looking at the Sheraton and MGM Grand next door, it seemed their garden view rooms pretty much overlooked the road whereas the Marriott had quite a large garden area between it and the road. I couldn't see the road at all from our room on the top floor. Individual staff members were all excellent and very helpful. In response to other posters, the prices were incredibly high and there was actually an article in the newspaper about the prices being too high. However, the breakfast buffet was absolutely amazing--the largest I have ever seen. I enjoyed it more than the buffet at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island. So, we ate a huge breakfast and skipped lunch. There was a small shopping center a 20 minute walk east from the Marriott and we ate at Pizza Hut one night. The other nights we ate at restaurants very near the property and they were OK. Only one vendor wanted to sell us something on the beach and took no for an answer. The staff were exceptionally attentive and friendly. We asked Peter about the restaurant we saw when we arrived and he loaded us into a golf cart and drove us there. Maria, the breakfast buffet manager, is from Russia and trained at a famous hotel school in Switzerland, was very friendly and informative about the area and the hotel. I enjoyed the stay so much I inquired whether there were any permanent apartments, but alas there were none.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slkchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I recently stayed at the Marriott Yalong for five nights. The service was some of the best I've experienced in China (where I live). The beach is very nice and by Chinese standards, the cleanest I've ever seen. My kids picked up a few small pieces of glass in the sand, but otherwise, it was spotless.

THE ISSUE - Food and Drink Prices are Outrageous! I stay in Marriotts a lot and I have been to all of the Marriott resorts in Asia. I expected food and drink prices to be high (what resort isn't). I was even warned about the unusually high prices in Sanya in general (it has to do with the islands location as well as a lot of free-flowing money coming from wealthy Chinese with no where else to spend their money).

But Marriott Sanya should be ashamed of itself. A can of Pepsi in the kids club (Coke wasn't even able) is US$7.00! Down the road at a high-priced convenience store, the same soda was $.75. That represents a mark-up of nearly 800%! In the Western restaurant a small chef's salad - US$15 (see picture); a ham sandwich with fries - US$20; a not-very-good hamburger - a staggering US$23. I can actually live with the idea of paying that much for food, but not when it is such puny portions and of mediocre quality.

The Chinese restaurant was equally expensive for what you got. Not to blame Marriott alone - we went to the Chinese restaurants in the Hilton and Sheraton hotels next door, hoping for better value, and they were also very expensive (fried rice is about $12), although the Hilton had better food and ambiance (the Sheraton should be avoided all-together).

To make matters worse, the hotel is located in an isolated part of the island, surrounded by only other high-end resorts. The nearest local restaurants, supermarkets, etc are 25 minutes away by taxi. It is not a trip that anyone could or would want to make for meals, so if you go to the Marriott, you really have no choice but to pay their outrageous prices.

For budgeting purposes, a family of four should expect to pay about US$1,000 for food and drink during a 6 day stay. Would I go back - yes. Only next time, we'll pack a suit case full of food, bring a hot pot, and save the $1,000.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MGM Grand Sanya
#11 of 1,330 in Sanya
438 reviews
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,330 in Sanya
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa

Property: Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Yalong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sanya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#6 Family Hotel in Sanya
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#19 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#39 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a pristine sweeping 7 km crescent of white-sand beach cupped by rainforest covered mountains and caressed by crystal-clear waters, the resort’s 452 rooms offer commanding views of the famous Yalong Bay. The direct access private beach is complimented by a large 10 hectare tropical garden perfect for peaceful walks in the sea breeze. Multiple swimming pools, a dedicated Kids Club, and signature Quan Spa ensure the complete resort experience while an Ocean Front Wedding Chapel, outdoor self-contained meeting center surrounded by water features combined with a range of conference rooms offer innovative venues for meetings and celebrations of all kinds. Two championship golf courses are easily accessible from the popular resort which itself is just a 30 minute drive from Sanya Phoenix International Airport and a 10 minute drive from Yalong Bay high-speed train station. Whether dining at the award winning Japanese restaurant or strolling across the Bermuda grass beach lawn, Sanya Marriott Resort & Spa is the best choice for an authentic beach holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort And Spa
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Hotel Sanya
Sanya Marriott Hotel
Marriott Sanya
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing