We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hectic place”
Review of South China Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South China Hotel
Ranked #38 of 1,330 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Ningbo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a hectic place”
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Came to Sanya for a week, and booked one night at this hotel (in order to explore apartment options for the following few days on the ground). Taxi (airport - hotel) is 40RMB; take your cab on the second floor (departures) or be ripped off at the arrivals.

Check-in was dreadfully slow - must have taken more than an hour. The breakfast buffet is pretty good. The hotel is right next to the beach in Dadonghai, so great swimming. The pool is also pretty good. The rooms (we had a suite) were nice a comfortable, and there was a free internet connection.

The problem with this hotel is that it is located next to something like an open-air arena. So the night we got there, for example, there was a rock concert practice until 2am, which made it utterly impossible to sleep. I called up the police and told the hotel staff, but there was no result, except that they dimmed the spotlights... The concert continued the next day (luckly I was not there). The site is also used for frequent fireworks, which also go well past midnight (more like 2am). So if you are looking for a quiet getaway, look somewhere else.

I don't know to what extent they speak English at the hotel, as I communicated in Chinese, but there are quite a few Russian tourists there, and they seem to be getting on well.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaQinke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    146
    40
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
21
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We booked a three-night stay at the South China Hotel, Sanya. We arrived at 15:30 due to our train arriving two-hours behind schedule. Although we checked-in late well still had to wait about 15 minutes before our room was ready. However, it was well worth the wait! We had requested a king-sized bed and in fact, received a California King-sized bed. Wow, very nice! The room was clean, spacious, and had a nice view of the sea.

The location of the hotel was great! It is located on the east-end of DaDongHai Bay. Because it is at the end of the beach it seems to be more quiet and relaxing. In the evening you only need to take a short, ten-minute walk to find yourself in the middle of all the nightlife. DaDongHai is centrally located between the beach areas. Traveling one direction will take you to Yalong Bay and traveling the other takes you toward the airport and Sanya Bay. The hotel offers a private van rental or you can use the local taxis if you are a clever negotiator.

The hotel amenities were average. We chose to try the breakfast buffet our first morning there. The food was a decent mix between Western and Chinese flavors. Although I've had better, I did leave the table with a full stomach. There were two other restaurants on the hotel premises. We never saw many people inside so we opted not to try them. There are so many restaurants in the area that you don't need to worry about finding something to eat. The spa/fitness center no longer exists and the pool was closed (no water inside) during our stay. The hotel staff informed us that the closure was due to the recent typhoon activity in the area. However, it was evident that the pool was currently under repair. The pool area does look very nice and I'm sure it will be wonderful once it has re-opened.

The service from the hotel staff was average. The front desk personnel were the least friendly while the concierge service was always very warm and helpful. One afternoon I ordered a drink from the pool-side bar. The bartender needed to run inside the hotel twice. Once, to get a lime and the second time, to get change. (Only in China. . . LOL!)

Overall, we had a very nice stay at the South China Hotel. We paid a reasonable price of RMB330/night. I feel that we received good value for our money with a hotel in a great location.

I must add one more thing. Although, I am a Westerner from USA, I have been living in China for almost five-years. I am more accustomed to the local culture and standards than an overseas traveler would be. I know what to expect when traveling in China so my standards may be a bit lower.

Anyway, I highly recommend this hotel if you want a nice room at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puppy34gz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

There are three main areas for Hotels: The resort area of Yalong Bay, Sanya, and where this hotel is in Dadonghai.

We chose a sea facing room with balcony, which overlooked two-level pool. The hotel is of a three/four star standard when compared to European beachside hotels, particularly Italy and Spain. In fact, Sanya made me think of cheap southern Spain locations.

Breakfast buffet was fine – there are two restaurants for Western or Chinese style food. The room was clean and comfortable. Tour booking facilities in the lobby. Billiards, table tennis and a tennis court. It is a very short stroll through passed the pool to arrive down on the beach. Nice soft sand, and warm water in April with air temperature over 30.

If you look european in Sanya everyone will talk to you in Russian; and all of the other foreigners at the hotel were from that big land.

Dadonghai shopping is a short stroll away with many eating options including the open air food market with fresh seafood and cheap beer.

Sanya is worth a visit if you want to see another facet of China, or would like to take a couple of days rest in the middle of touring. There are much cheaper accommodation options if you don't want to be beach-front. The Landscape Beach Hotel at the other end of the beach also looked fine. The Yalong Bay area is better for those wanting to get completely away from it all, and less interested in having a chinese experience.

  • Liked — Location beside beach
  • Disliked — Sanya/Danonghai is not paradise; but it is part of China
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soundsgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel a couple of weeks ago. We were quite please with the hotel for the price paid. We paid 360 yuans a night per double room with breakfast included. The hotel was only open partly as the half of it which has rooms with balconies was being renovated.
Here comes the positive:
+ The rooms were quite large and clean and had a nice view of the hills of Dadonghai.
+ The pool area was beautiful with two pools of which one had a small "island" with palm trees in the middle of it.
+ The breakfast room was nice with the outdoor terrace.
+ It's right next to the beach which is clean and sunbeds are free of charge.
+ Dadonghai is much nicer than Yalong Bay which is overpriced and boring. There are many shops and restaurants in Dadonghai and many chinese people.

And the negatives:
- Due to a strong smell of gasoline in our room we had to change room. No apologies whatsoever from the staff.
-Staff speaks almost no English.
-Although polite the staff really could be more serviceminded and attentive.
-Breakfast buffet only luke warm. Feels a bit unhygenic.

All in all it's a good budget choice and we really enjoyed our stay in Sanya. Dadonghai is very convenient, 10 minutes/12 yuans by taxi to Sanya and 25 minutes/40 yuans to Yalong Bay. Yalong is really nothing but hotels and beaches. No locals at all.

  • Liked — The pool and the location
  • Disliked — The smeel of gasoline in our first room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Komsomol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Ks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2005

This hotel advertised full water sports, swimming pool, Sauna. We had a sea view room. The view was a piece of the beach from a small window. There was no water in the pool and no sign of any water sports equipment. The hotel parking lot was a meeting place for tour busses and was usually filled with tourists. This causes the vendors to line up waiting for anyone to try to go to the beach. You can get by them but you will have to go around them. They will get between you and the beach to try to sell you pearls and shells. The beach area in front of the hotel was always filled with seaweed and trash. We had to walk about one half klm to an area in front of the Resort in Time hotel where the beach was clear of the trash and seaweed. I noticed that the Resort in Time hotel also had water in their pool. I am going back to Sanya in Nov. 2005 but I won’t be staying at the South China Hotel. There are many good hotels at similar prices.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ljames622002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
0.6 mi away
Baohong Hotel
Baohong Hotel
#35 of 1,330 in Sanya
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barry Boutique Seaview Hotel Sanya
0.8 mi away
Landscape Beach Hotel Sanya
Landscape Beach Hotel Sanya
#316 of 1,330 in Sanya
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Herton Seaview Hotel
Herton Seaview Hotel
#171 of 1,330 in Sanya
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Hotel
#57 of 1,330 in Sanya
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanya Pearl River Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South China Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South China Hotel

Property: South China Hotel
Address: Yuhai Road, Dadonghai Bay, Sanya 572021, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — South China Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your South China Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South China Sanya
South China Hotel Sanya, Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing