We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic- definitely recommended!”
Review of Captain's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Captain's House
Ranked #36 of 594 Sanya B&B and Inns
leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic- definitely recommended!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here for five days in october and had a great time. Our room was the cheapest room we stayed in in China but it was perfect- super clean, comfy. Robert, who manages the hotel, couldn't be more helpful- he was a wonderful host. He also bakes his own bread for breakfast- the best bread we had anywhere in China! The location is also great- its an easy walk to show, bars, restaurants and the beach. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: No pool- but once i clicked the button it wouldn't let me unclick it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virtualwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

One of the best hostels I've been to in Asia! Very cozy and comfortable, perfect for relaxing and taking a break from the hustle of everyday life. Perfectly located near the beach and restaurants but away from the crowds and tourists with a local Chinese village hiding behind it so you can really feel like you are in the middle of a China just a short walk from Captain's House. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. You can wake up every morning to a delicious western breakfast + coffee for only 25rmb (+if you want extras) and enjoy the sunshine on the garden roof while you plan out your day. Robert, owner of the hostel will run around all day to make sure you are comfortable. He will give you the local opinion of what's great in Sanya and what's a waste of time/money. He will show you where the best beaches are and you can call him up when ever you need help. I missed my train back home during national week, freaking out because the internet said there were no available flights left and Robert helped me book a flight back that same evening. I would go back, it's a great place and you won't regret it :)

Room Tip: Go dorms, it's cheaper and you will meet travellers from around the glob. Swap stories and make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great value for price. Super cheap and warm hostel with a great location in the Island. Really close to Dadonghai Bay and Xiao Donghai as well. A little fisher village in the back to enjoy the most tradiotional of China and to eat at great prices. Enjoy the coconut milk beverages and dessert they have around there!

The service was really good, they helped me all the time and made me feel like home. Nice rooftop to enjoy your afternoons and good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atheneia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the beginning of a 6 month trip around Asia. We came off the back off a long, uncomfortable train journey into Sanya. Tom (the owner) greeted us with a big smile and a comfy clean room - I could've hugged him! The place is lovely, homely and clean. Tom & Robert and the most friendly people I've met and catered to our every need.

Breakfast is amazing value for money and really tasty - fried eggs on toast - what more could a brit wish for!

My boyfriend gor really burnt during our stay - Tom provided ice for us every night. Very sweet. We were pointed in the direction of anywhere we wanted to go. Tom & Robert also took us to a beach BBQ one night which was so much fun - and really delicious!

I can't rave about the service enough - really was great. The rooms are spacious, there's a cinema room and Tom has an armoury of dvds.

Really perfect for a backpacker - Tom even wrote out an itinerary for our onward travel and took our phonecalls when we had problems with the language barrier so he could translate!!

A must stay in Sanya :) Fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hasan got à fantastic Chief , THE food is exellent, service are amazing good, and the crew make you feel at home, if anything is wrong, dont worry Hasan get it right! And there are good prices to, grill chocken 10TL!
Go to this place , eat, take a drink or à coffe, you wouldnt regret it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Greger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Initially only booked for 1 night but ended up stay for 4. Clean and mellow hostel, has everything you need, staff super friendly and helpful in every aspect of my stay and queries. Definitely the number 1 stay in Sanya for me, hire of the moped is a must do! Enjoy. Thanks guys, if ever i'm back i'll be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckieellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had such a great stay at captain! It was one of the best hostels you can stay in. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are nice, the decor is really nice and unique! The staff was amazing- they went out of their way to make sure we were happy! They all speak very good English and are very friendly. My room has got view of the lu hui tou moutain .it's quite convenient getting around sanya. Food and drink options are limited at the moment, but you can eat around the villeage very cheaply.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,330 in Sanya
911 reviews
Baohong Hotel
#37 of 1,330 in Sanya
271 reviews
Herton Seaview Hotel
#172 of 1,330 in Sanya
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Club Med Sanya
#1 of 1,330 in Sanya
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's House

Property: Captain's House
Address: DA Dong Hai, LU Ling Rd, Next to Sanya Royal Garden Resort, Sanya 572000, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 594 B&Bs / Inns in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain's House is located in the Dadonghai beach. The hostel has a 10Min short walk to the main tourist beach.the xiao dong hai bay which is quite and clean is also close to us. we start the business since 2012, many international guest consider xiao dong hai bay is best beach in the city ,especially during busy season.5mins walk from the fishing village where you can get authentic local food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Captain's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain's House Sanya, Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing