We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“差不多 - just so so, due to Chinese quirks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haitang Bay Gloria Resort Sanya
Ranked #49 of 1,329 Hotels in Sanya
Beijing
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“差不多 - just so so, due to Chinese quirks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Well... just arrived here and staying for two nights. Decided to get away from the hustle and bustle of Dadonghai, and found a good price on this online (130 US$, vs the usual 250 US$). Transfer from Sanya to the hotel was efficient thanks to the military licensed coach (no regards to traffic rules, hence arrived safely in 35min).

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, without access to shops, public transport or restaurants. So you kind of at the merci of the restaurants here. Whilst they exist inside the hotel, quite a few in fact, they don't always open when u hungry. So that leaves you with room service.

The hotel, as mentioned by others is run by the PLA. Not a problem as such, except the hotels beach is adjacent to a millitary compound (which u cannot see). This means that the South East part of the beach is no off limits, stopping you from walking along the beach to the nearby fishing village. In fact, a soldier is stationed on the beach inside the hotel compound, and stops you from even heading in that direction. There is a fence, to stop you from walking there, but that guy stops you 100m before the fence, almost as soon as you turn his direction when arriving on the beach. Plus he was neither polite nor making any sense. Put the fence 100m closer to the beach, if its forbidden to go near there! Its not like there is anything to see on the other side, just more of the same beach. It would make a nice spot if one was allowed to wonder along the beach to the fishing village 1.5km away, but not possible.

Service is generally ok so far - they made a few hiccups, but forgiven, as they genuinely seem to try. The place is massive and with some nice landscaped garden, with loads of pools, small and large. Including one infinity pool towards the ocean. There are also hotspring pools, which might be nice to chill in the night, as its hot in the day. Unfortunately there are signs that say all pools close at 21:00. Lets see if they kick us out this eve...!

Rooms are on the large side and well equipped, with comfy beds and functional showers, all seem to have a private (open) balcony and walk in closet.

Room Tip: rooms ending in odd numbers face the outside of the hotel, even towards the pools and inside as far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    22
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
22
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the good comments found in this website. When we arrived we had some communication problem, as our receptionist did not understand some of our requests for a baby crib. After calling her supervisor, we completed the procedure, and before leaving the lobby we were introduced to Connie. Connie job is to take care of guest as Director of VIP service. She listened to us and further organized a meet with the Swiss GM. Mr. Solari offered us a refreshment and also introduced us the western chef Ben who cooked delicious food while we were there, even obliging special demand for spaetzle from my wife. When we found a contact person It was really a good experience, with personalized service of quality of the best hotels we stayed in around the world; and the hotel is superb!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lingling Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Checking in with a business group, It took about 15 minutes of waiting in the lobby for around 15 peoples checking in. The front office manager Joe, introduced himself and explained that he open the special group check in counter for us. The room was clean and clearly ready, the TV greet you by name, can also check your account, have TV in bathroom and, a nice feature, hot spring water for shower/bath. The food is good in this hotel and i liked the breakfast, provide local food, special mention for the mountain honey presented in its combs. Business facilities are very good and i liked the coffee break in the bamboo garden. We also met Nicolas, the GM and his dynamism reflect on the very good service by friendly smiling people, attentive to details.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ling s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Lovely holiday. We booked this hotel- thanks to Trip Advisor .

It is a wonderful hotel - suberb room with fantastic seaviews.

Service was excellect- special thanks to Angel who made our check in and out so efficient.

I left an important ducument during check out and Angel and Robin (duty managers) called on our drivers mobile to rertun to pick it up whicle we awere half way to the air port . Thank you - thank you ! Will be back definately !!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor close to the reception - actually all rooms are good depends on your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akunderth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were welcome by Amy with a smile, local drink and efficient service. The room and all the property is clean and beautiful. Also the food was great, we tried tang very good Cantonese and pier9 with a great choice of live seafood for surprisingly good price. Many things to do and always friendly staff around. :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Salvatore8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hotel is clean, staff very friendly, WiFi throughout. Food is expensive and there is nothing close by as an alternative, but the all you can eat breakfast buffet is quite good with a wide selection and pretty decent coffee (hard to come by in China and I am a coffee snob). The Kids Club is free with some extra activities at a fee. We used it every day for our 5 and 7 year old whole our 1 year old napped. They have a Wii with a large selection of age appropriate games so my son was in heaven as we forbid one at home. They charge A LOT for an extra bed, but my 7 year old slept very well on the round couch in the room and the baby crib did not cost extra. King sized bed accommodated the rest of our family of 5. The children loved the chd sized bath robes that everyone wears to the pool, beach and hot spring pools. The hot spring pools were fantastic and well enjoyed by all of us. The children's pool has a fantastic playground right in the water.I would definitely come back if we were to be in China long term, bit we like to try different places each holiday. Oh, and we did family KTV one night which we all loved.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Haitang Bay Gloria Resort Sanya, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for having chosen the Haitang Bay Gloria Sanya Hotspring Resort is for your visit to Sanya. I also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience on this forum.
I am pleased to learn that, for the most part, you have enjoyed our services and facilities at the Resort.

Thank you also for your comments, as it is only through feedback like this that we are able to continually monitor and improves both our products and quality of services.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Excellent service with friendly staff. I stay during my holiday with my wife. It was one of the best resort ever. I had the wonderful sea view room with nice view. Room was tidy up after my breakfast every day, with no disturb during my stay. Perfect timing! I must come back for another holiday...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJP9660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Haitang Bay Gloria Resort Sanya, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest, I would like to thank you for having chosen the Haitang Bay Gloria Sanya Hotspring Resort is for your visit to Sanya. I also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience on this forum.
I am pleased to learn that, for the most part, you have enjoyed our services and facilities at the Resort.

Thank you also for your comments, as it is only through feedback like this that we are able to continually monitor and improves both our products and quality of services.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Haitang Bay
Wanda Vista Resort Sanya
Wanda Vista Resort Sanya
#44 of 1,329 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Haitang Bay
The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haitang Bay
Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
#27 of 1,329 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haitang Bay Gloria Resort Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haitang Bay Gloria Resort Sanya

Property: Haitang Bay Gloria Resort Sanya
Address: No.9 Haitang Bay, No.301 Road, Haitang Bay, Sanya 572014, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Haitang Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Haitang Bay Gloria Resort Sanya 5*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haitang Bay Gloria Sanya Hotspring Resort is a luxury five-star resort managed by Gloria Hotels & Resort located at the National Coast - Haitang Bay and is only about 35 minute drives from the Phoenix International Airport. The hotel has total 449 elegant appointed guestrooms and suites and is the only hotel in Haitang Bay with in room hot spring water supply. Hotel also has a PGA golf driving range, a 300 meter long private white sandy beach, world class SPA center, outdoor hot spring pool with different treatment, all guestrooms are equipped with advanced sound system, bathroom TV ,hot spring water supply, I-pod docking station and complimentary broadband access, a selection of 9 restaurants, bars and lounge, two floodlit tennis courts, kid’s club, fitness center, marina, KTV, a private theater and etc. which make the Haitang Bay Gloria Sanya Hotspring Resort undoubtedly “a good place to be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haitang Bay Gloria Resort Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haitang Bay Gloria Resort Sanya Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing