We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star??? maybe 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay
Ranked #59 of 1,327 Hotels in Sanya
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 Star??? maybe 3 star”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The is is very tired and worn out hotel. As many of the other reviews date back to 2007 back then maybe it was one of the better hotels. By todays standards no where near up to scratch. The floors are softer than the beds, jacuzzi by the pool out of order, water slide for my dausghter out of order. The weather was poor which only emphasised this hotels poor standard as they had very littler entertainment indoors. Regret not paying more and going for a true 5 star hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anilanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    255
    64
    20
    3
See reviews for
22
22
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We enjoyed the Holiday Inn but we found it very expensive. The rooms are a little faded too. Try to get a package out of Shanghai or Beijing (we live in Shanghai) - for every additional thing that was not included it was pricey. The bikes, the beer, the spa etc. The spa is quite good I had a fabulous massage there. The swiming pools are nice too although there was no service by the pool and we had to sort out the umbrella's ourselves.

The beach outside of the private beach area is packed with day trippers. There is a little market next door and further along the beach is a foot massage place which is worth a visit. Yalong Bay is beautiful and the sea gorgeous. I wouldn't rush back though!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rackiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

The only commendable thing about Holiday Inn Yalong Bay is the location - right at the beach front. The water and beach is very clean and we had a lot of fun play at the beach. However, don't be mislead by the hotel pictures -- it is NOT a private beach and many local tourists crowd around the area for day trip touring. But the convenient location would allow you to walk past the jetty over to the right side of the bay where it is less crowded and wider.

Hotel staff were not very professional or friendly. For instance, the staffs at the front desk didn't smile much, and wouldn't mind keeping a patron standing and waiting in front of them, while they mind their own business. Another example, they converted a function room into an indoor recreation room, but was not open according to the posted opening hours. No staff was around to help us with that. The only cleaning lady who was around just told us that the staff was not yet in and we just had to wait. We ended up going back to the lobby reception area and asked for help, and got the same reply!! We couldn't accept that no staff is available to help us even though it was already over one hour past their opening hours!

Buffet breakfast food selection is very limited and in general the food looked very tired, especially the cold food like salad, cold cut, etc.

The swimming pool -- we did not even try because it did not look very clean.

Room -- there is not much of a decor. A very basic 3-star kind of hotel room. The furnitures and curtains looked very worn out. Even the bedside clock was not showing the right time (we fixed the clock time the first night we got in, and by the second night it was slow by 1.5 hours!!)

Most patrons are local chinese, and many of them enjoy smoking. Fortunately we got a room on the non-smoking floor and the air was clean.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JasmineDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Plenty of great hotels nearby at Yalong Bay, this one here is a basic and standard Holiday Inn with a bit outdated facilities but within the touch of a good beach just a foot step away from the hotel. The beach is clean and water is clear [however, not crystal clear]. It is about 50 minutes away from Sanya airport and at the end of the east of Yalong Bay.

If you have more budget, Marriot, Ritz Carlton, No:5, Hilton and some 5-stars local non-international brand along the Yalong Bay is not a bad idea. If you are to select his hotel for its value-for-money rate, 400r-500mb plus during low season, then, get a sea-view room. Food in the restaurant is generally so so but you really have no others places to eat unless you go to others hotels nearby or drop by seafood restaurant in the city.

  • Liked — Beach and sea under the sun.
  • Disliked — Outdated facilities and food.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ahsangje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2008

Spent 4 nights at the Yalong Bay location and found it to be a great stay and probably the best location on the beach among the many hotels in the area. Though we arrived rather late at night, the front desk was very accommodating, especially when I found that the bed in our suite was rock hard, which is typical of hotels in China. (I try to book "western" hotels when in China in hopes of finding a softer bed because of my bad lower back).

The front desk sent a somewhat "softer" mattress alternative to the room right away, and the next morning continued the search for a "pillow top" insert (which they found), and threw in an extra duvet comforter as added padding to boot! Made all the difference in the world!

This time of year is low season for the resort, so the hotel was not very busy, but the service was not lacking and the food offerings were more than adequate. The weather was hit and miss thunder showers, but the ocean / air temp was perfect and the pool(s) like bath water. The location is closest to the beach compared with the other hotels in the immediate area, and with an ocean view room on the top floor, the view and sounds of the surf were just what we were hoping for.

We were credited with RMB200 towards food during our stay, had two hours of free bicycle rental, a free hour on the tennis court and a fruit basket greeted us in the room upon our arrival.

All in all a great stay, and I am looking forward to going back again!

  • Liked — Location / view
  • Disliked — Hard bed!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wil1015nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2008

I went to Sanya with a friend and we booked the Yalong Bay Holiday Inn based on the Trip Advisor Reviews we read.
We weren't too impressed:
The Mountain View Room overlooked the Bus Port, where more than 50 Busses arrive every day to crowd this part of Yalong Bay. Obviously this proved quite noisy. Even if we had wanted to sit on the balcony overlooking the Parking, we couldn't have: no furniture out there.
The beach is very crowded as there is a public amusement area next door, water was pretty dirty and don't go out to the left, there is some military installations.
The lobby area is quite nice, if you speak Chinese, the staff is helpful, restaurant service is ok. The Pool Service is pretty much non existent, we had to get the sun chair covers ourselves after asking 3 times and waiting until 2pm. The choice of cocktails both at the pool bar and the beach bar is a little limited. The Outdoor BBQ is average, neither fish nor meat are on ice, put out around 5pm and you have to carry the raw food across the restaurant yourself to get it BBQed. The staff spoke no English.
Breakfast is ok, Chinese standard, not much Continental stuff like ham, cheese and the likes, anyway not what you expect from an international standard Hotel with 5 Stars.
The Spa was quite expensive for Chinese standards, the massage cut short and the staff again speaks no English.
After half our stay we decided to change Hotels and for pretty much the same price got rooms in the Crowne Plaza, which is pure bliss and at a nice part of Yalong Bay, where there is less people and the sea is cleaner.

  • Liked — Lobby and Lobby Bar
  • Disliked — Room, Beach and Service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay
Address: National Resort Area, Yalong Bay, Sanya 572016, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#34 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Yalong Bay Sanya is located on the white sand beach of Yalong Bay, Sanya, Hainan Island, featuring crystal clear ocean, blue skies and only a few short steps to the water’s edge.1 hour’s flight from Hong Kong / Guangzhou 3~4 hours’ flight from Beijing / Shanghai3 hours’ drive from Haikou, capital of Hainan Island 50 minutes’ drive from Sanya Phoenix International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Yalong Bay Hotel Sanya
Holiday Inn Sanya
Sanya Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing