We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lan Resort Sanya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay
Ranked #53 of 1,373 Hotels in Sanya
Reviewed October 16, 2013

That’s a new hotel in Sanya. Top floors are under construction still. Some capacities like swimming pool are not in full operation and usage. But, all of constructions are in top-modern design and brand new. So, that is very good to live and get a relax in brand-new apartments. Front view to SouthChinaSea. Good coking, friendly staff. There is no any noise from builders. No any discomfort just only good, positive emotions. So, hotel looks-like to have the best recommendations.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrSam_727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 485 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Right on the beach, really relaxing to navigate from poolside to the private beach, but be adjacent to the famous pier and diving that departs from Yalong Bay. The lobby restaurant has great views and very comfortable couches on which to lounge, indulge in some great kabobs, sip on fresh orange juice, or assorted tropical drinks.

The hotel is dated, and the service has faded from when I first stayed there, but its still a great place to relax a few days or more. If you get the chance, take a gander at "end of the earth" via motorboat and check out the prehistoric looking rocks. Be prepared for your "guide" to try to charge you more while you're out on the boat, but just enjoy whatever you can see before the pirates try to head back... :P

Room Tip: Don't trust reservations or requests. Confirm, confirm, then demand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last June when my wife (Chinese) was unable to get a visa for a trip we had booked to the Philippines. Sadly, Sanya - for all the hype - is not the Philippines. The hotel was ok, but a bit dated and rather a long way from most of the other hotels and restaurants in Yalong Bay. That said it was reasonable value for money and the breakfast was quite good. Would (probably) return to a holiday inn, but not in Sanya.

Room Tip: Get one with a sea view. If not you'll have a rather disappointing view of the car/bus park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We are priority club members and after a bit of a stressful start we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the resort. We had requested an ocean front King room but at check in (late at night) we were given a room on the club floor that overlooked the front of the hotel and a bus/car park. The room was not only dated but looked unclean as well. When we complained to the front desk they told us that no rooms were available but with a bit of arguing they moved us to an ocean front room with 2 twin beds with a promise that they would move us the next day to a better room (we were there for 3 nights). Anyway, the room that we got the next day was beautiful with a nice ocean view, balcony and a king size bed! We were pleased that they had obliged and the day staff was much easier to work with.

The resort grounds are gorgeous with lots of tropical vegetation, pools, bars, hammocks and a nice beach front. The beach is awesome with white sand and clear water and is "roped off " to offer some seclusion from the crowds that descend on Sanya beaches over the weekend. There is a nice market for jewelry and trinkets to the right of the resort and we enjoyed browsing the shops and bargaining! There are some roadside food places to the left and front of the resort. We did not eat there but many people seemed to be enjoying the food.

We had dinner at their main restaurant which was quite standard cuisine but sumptous. The 1st floor restaurant/coffee shop has afternoon tea which includes a small fruit and snack buffet. The view from there and the relaxing atmosphere was great and we truly enjoyed the tea time both days. There is a chinese restaurant on the ground floor which was crowded and had a good menu but we did not get to eat there.

There is a public bus from the front of the hotel that takes you to the Pedestrian street in downtown Sanya. It is a nice ride, unfortunately the last bus back is at 5pm which we were not aware of. So, after shopping and waiting for the bus for an hour we took a taxi back - quite expensive. Please plan your downtown excursion accoringly if you want to take public transportation. The ride to and from the airport is also long and costs approx. $45.00 by taxi. Do make sure that you ask the driver to turn on the meter or discuss the charges before leaving.

The club lounge on the top floor (for Prioriy club members)has a "wine and cheese" hour 5.30-7pm every evening. We went there only once but we were the only ones there and the "bored" attendant barely spoke english and was not helpful. However, we enjoyed complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvers and the beautiful view.

I am glad we stayed at this resort even though it was a bit far and out of the way. The beach,overall atmosphere, view and the resort (refurbished, ocean front rooms) made for a nice weekend trip to the Hainan Islands.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor ocean front room. I believe that most rooms will soon be refurbished so that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texas06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hotel is by no means a 5 or even a 4 star property. I'm starting to learn with all my travels in China that they have a much different grading scale of what 5 Star should consist of.
The breakfast buffet was not too bad and I would rate it as average for China standards.
Very old and outdated decor and the top floor has a very strong mold or wet dog smell when transiting the hallways.
You would be just as good sleeping on the floor as you would with the poor quality ultra firm mattresses.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephenK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalongBay, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2012

Thanks for your comments! Our hotel opened in 2001, facilities are getting old. We buy new facilities according to our schedule, such as we replaced all TV by LCDTV, all carpet one in 2009, all bedding in 2010.
As for the mold top floor, I am not sure where did you mean to. The ceiling of hallway is fine decorated. There is an outside floor out off lobby bar. During rain season, there do have some wet place. We keep them clean each day. And I have report you comments to ENG, they will think about to fix this issue.
As for firm mattress, we get many comments on this point. A softer kind of mattress which is liked by both Chinese and European will replace the old one soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This would be a 5 star hotel for China standards, which, would equal a 3 star hotel in the United States. I've traveled in China long enough to know to have low expectations when it comes to customer service and facilities for hotels. I can say that my low expectations were met at Holiday Inn Yalong Resort.

I will start with the positive which is very friendly staff. Though they are not very good at execution, the demeanor and attitude is very positive of each (and many) staff we dealt with. Harvey at the front desk was extremely helpful when we were obviously very frustrated with our rooms.

Also, the Kid's club is great for toddlers. We had to supervise them, but, there are a ton of toys and a spacious room for them to play.

The rooms are basic and clean. The beds are extremely hard and I'm a person who likes a very firm mattress.

Also, be very careful if you have active and curious kids. The window latches are perfect height for little children. It unlocks easily (just pull the latch up--very intuitive for even a 1.5 year old) and push the window outwards. There is no screen on the window either.

We stayed in the rooms next to the Executive lounge on the 7th floor. It was very noisy. There was some type of boiler or generator of some kind and we could hear it every time it shifted on or off. Possibly the elevator? Regardless, it was so noisy all throughout the night. Even the air/con could not drown it out. We would have requested a new room, but, because it was such a hassle to get the room we were currently in, we decided we could live with it.

The private beach is merely a stretch of fenced off beach NOT on the water. That element of privacy was nice, however, because the hotel is next to a major tourist site, the beach next to the water was extremely crowded. The workers their all chew betelnut and spit the red juice in the sand. It's pretty nasty. Some will make the effort to cover their spit with sand, but, some could care less.

If you are a Priority Club Rewards member, do take advantage of the Executive Floor Lounge Happy hour. For a family of 4 (2 young kids), you can have the snacks and drinks and then order one or two room service meals and make it dinner.

I would recommend this hotel during low season and for those on a budget who want to stay at Yalong. Otherwise, spend the extra money for a more "resort" experience at another of the big hotel chains.

Room Tip: If you want a connecting room, call in advance to check with the front office. I called the night be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nihaomaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalongBay, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2012

Thanks for your comments!
Friendly staff, though not very good at execution: we will do more training on this issue and also authorize them.
Noisy rooms: we are apology for this. We are near to the bus station. It is noisy outside. We have good sound-proofing window. May guest close the window when sleep. We also have find out those rooms are disturbed by our boiler and won’t sell them to our guest, just for house use.
As for firm mattress, we get many comments on this point. A softer kind of mattress which is liked by both Chinese and European will replace the old one soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Yalong Bay has excellent white sand beaches and crystal clear tropical water that is great for swimming/snorkeling/diving (8 m visibility when we stayed). Most of the beach is sectioned off for private resorts and the one public beach is a mad-house. Would strongly advise to stay at one of the hotels on Yalong Bay (Holiday Inn was great). Understand there is not much in/around Yalong Bay so this is not the place if you want a lot of nightlife - although we were fine with the hotel beach bar and the Crowne Plaza has a few shops/restaurants/clubs. A taxi into Sanya City is RMB 60 one way - but in all honesty none of the tourist attractions warrant visiting. My advice is to find a nice resort on Yalong Bay and relax.

2  Thank old_mosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalongBay, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2011

Thank you for your commends. Wish you have a nice trip at our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay

Address: National Resort Area, Yalong Bay, Sanya 572016, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#48 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#51 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: $80 - $804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Yalong Bay Sanya is located on the white sand beach of Yalong Bay, Sanya, Hainan Island, featuring crystal clear ocean, blue skies and only a few short steps to the water’s edge.1 hour’s flight from Hong Kong / Guangzhou 3~4 hours’ flight from Beijing / Shanghai3 hours’ drive from Haikou, capital of Hainan Island 50 minutes’ drive from Sanya Phoenix International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Yalong Bay Hotel Sanya
Holiday Inn Sanya
Sanya Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing