We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Really????”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay
Ranked #56 of 1,329 Hotels in Sanya
Manhattan, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 Star Really????”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

This hotel is by no means a 5 or even a 4 star property. I'm starting to learn with all my travels in China that they have a much different grading scale of what 5 Star should consist of.
The breakfast buffet was not too bad and I would rate it as average for China standards.
Very old and outdated decor and the top floor has a very strong mold or wet dog smell when transiting the hallways.
You would be just as good sleeping on the floor as you would with the poor quality ultra firm mattresses.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalongBay, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thanks for your comments! Our hotel opened in 2001, facilities are getting old. We buy new facilities according to our schedule, such as we replaced all TV by LCDTV, all carpet one in 2009, all bedding in 2010.
As for the mold top floor, I am not sure where did you mean to. The ceiling of hallway is fine decorated. There is an outside floor out off lobby bar. During rain season, there do have some wet place. We keep them clean each day. And I have report you comments to ENG, they will think about to fix this issue.
As for firm mattress, we get many comments on this point. A softer kind of mattress which is liked by both Chinese and European will replace the old one soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    255
    64
    20
    3
See reviews for
22
22
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

This would be a 5 star hotel for China standards, which, would equal a 3 star hotel in the United States. I've traveled in China long enough to know to have low expectations when it comes to customer service and facilities for hotels. I can say that my low expectations were met at Holiday Inn Yalong Resort.

I will start with the positive which is very friendly staff. Though they are not very good at execution, the demeanor and attitude is very positive of each (and many) staff we dealt with. Harvey at the front desk was extremely helpful when we were obviously very frustrated with our rooms.

Also, the Kid's club is great for toddlers. We had to supervise them, but, there are a ton of toys and a spacious room for them to play.

The rooms are basic and clean. The beds are extremely hard and I'm a person who likes a very firm mattress.

Also, be very careful if you have active and curious kids. The window latches are perfect height for little children. It unlocks easily (just pull the latch up--very intuitive for even a 1.5 year old) and push the window outwards. There is no screen on the window either.

We stayed in the rooms next to the Executive lounge on the 7th floor. It was very noisy. There was some type of boiler or generator of some kind and we could hear it every time it shifted on or off. Possibly the elevator? Regardless, it was so noisy all throughout the night. Even the air/con could not drown it out. We would have requested a new room, but, because it was such a hassle to get the room we were currently in, we decided we could live with it.

The private beach is merely a stretch of fenced off beach NOT on the water. That element of privacy was nice, however, because the hotel is next to a major tourist site, the beach next to the water was extremely crowded. The workers their all chew betelnut and spit the red juice in the sand. It's pretty nasty. Some will make the effort to cover their spit with sand, but, some could care less.

If you are a Priority Club Rewards member, do take advantage of the Executive Floor Lounge Happy hour. For a family of 4 (2 young kids), you can have the snacks and drinks and then order one or two room service meals and make it dinner.

I would recommend this hotel during low season and for those on a budget who want to stay at Yalong. Otherwise, spend the extra money for a more "resort" experience at another of the big hotel chains.

Room Tip: If you want a connecting room, call in advance to check with the front office. I called the night be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nihaomaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalongBay, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thanks for your comments!
Friendly staff, though not very good at execution: we will do more training on this issue and also authorize them.
Noisy rooms: we are apology for this. We are near to the bus station. It is noisy outside. We have good sound-proofing window. May guest close the window when sleep. We also have find out those rooms are disturbed by our boiler and won’t sell them to our guest, just for house use.
As for firm mattress, we get many comments on this point. A softer kind of mattress which is liked by both Chinese and European will replace the old one soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Yalong Bay has excellent white sand beaches and crystal clear tropical water that is great for swimming/snorkeling/diving (8 m visibility when we stayed). Most of the beach is sectioned off for private resorts and the one public beach is a mad-house. Would strongly advise to stay at one of the hotels on Yalong Bay (Holiday Inn was great). Understand there is not much in/around Yalong Bay so this is not the place if you want a lot of nightlife - although we were fine with the hotel beach bar and the Crowne Plaza has a few shops/restaurants/clubs. A taxi into Sanya City is RMB 60 one way - but in all honesty none of the tourist attractions warrant visiting. My advice is to find a nice resort on Yalong Bay and relax.

Helpful?
2 Thank old_mosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalongBay, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for your commends. Wish you have a nice trip at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

This is a great hotel/resort on a wonderful stretch of beach in Yalong Bay. We had a few hiccups at check-in regarding our room rate but these were quickly resolved. Hotel staff are very helpful, the rooms are well-appointed and clean (recommend a sea-view room) and there is enough variety with the dining options. The beach and ocean were perfect (crystal clear, white sand, excellent swimming) and not overrun with touts. Cheers to Nancy Zhou (Assistant Manager) and Reggie Marcos (Bar and Beverage Manager) who were great during our stay. Excellent value for money and perfect for a beach get-away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank old_mosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Very friendly staff, clean sea and beach, adjacent to the hotel. Spacious rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Roman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalongBay, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for choosing stay in Holiday Inn Resort Yalong Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We were looking for a beach destination near Hong Kong to relax for a few days and Hainan island seemed a good option for somewhere completely different. Got a package deal with Dragonair and stayed for 4 nights.
Positives: location right on beach, clean clear water, and nice views with mountains in background. Extensive breakfast buffet, reasonable quality and lots of options for hungry kids. Chinese restaurant in hotel was good food option for dinner. Recommendation - order pizzas/burgers and cocktails at happy hour from the kiosk on the beach to eat on the beach while the sun goes down
Negatives: English quality is very poor though staff are very friendly and do their best to help. Beds were the hardest we have ever slept on, we asked for extra pillows to lie on to have something softer to lie on. We did complain about the swimming pool - basically it was too hot to swim in during the day. We were told that it was because the climate is "equatorial" and the pool would cool down by the end of the day. Have never experienced that in many holidays in the hottest parts of the world! Luckily the beach was lovely. Also, you are basically stuck in a part of the bay which contains only large resorts - its too far from town to make trips there with kids a viable option.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MPoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalongBay, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for your comments and choosing stay in Holiday Inn. We will pay more attention on English training. Wish you have a nice trip in Sanya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

Okay.........Bottom line.
Ignore previous reviews about location being perfect. POSITION is great, yes, I agree. Right on the beach.
LOCATION is not so great and because this hotel and her neighbours are sooooo very expensive, you are faced with a 1 hour taxi drive to Sanya where restaurant prices are about 20% cheaper. Eating at this hotel was around 4 or 5 times more than Shanghai. Example.....................simple portion of egg fried rice in the hotel was £8:50. Crazy!!!!!!!!
I don't mind paying "Top Dollar" if what is presented is worth it. But quality was mediocre and the portions very small indeed. The restaurant at level -1 was grubby and very smokey.
Breakfast was not much fun. Trying to find the least smokey area. Food layout badly planned. Egg dishes preparation was out on a limb. So were the cereals. Hot food here cold food there. Nightmare. Good exercise I suppose.
The entire hotel is smokey.. Even the loos and lifts. Our room 436 smelled of smoke for 5 days before the smell either cleared or we just got used to it. Our room did not have a sea view. That was an extra £55 per night. Instead we overlooked the bus staion and the inevitable noise of horns blasting all day. My son's "power naps" were often broken because of this noise. We didn't even have a balcony so drying swim wear etc was almost impossible.
Hotel staff were very good. Polite and friendly.
Spitting everywhere and I don't mean just saliva. I mean phlegm. Discusting. From the guy I saw on the stairs from level 1 to level -1 on his way to the beach.
Then there is the hotel's fenced off section of beach. Spitting was prolific. Not safe for my 3 year old son to dig in the sand, that's for sure.
Even the hotel's beach security were constantly spitting.
Most of the pvc sun lounges were splitting and therefore very dangerous.
Swimming in the sea was restricted to a 50 meter x 50 meter area with the remaining stretches of beach reserved for the noisy, smelly and outright dangerous jetskis and little speed boats. A rusting jetty that stretched about 150 meters in to the sea added to the poor standard of Yalong Bay.
Local supermarket prices are extortionate too. Example:- M&Ms in Shanghai are £0.33 per packet compared to £1.60 at the supermarket. Kiddies ice cream in Shanghai £0.25 compared to £1.10 at the supermarket.
Will we ever go back or recommend this hotel or even the resort!!!!!!!!!! NEVER.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YunandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay
Address: National Resort Area, Yalong Bay, Sanya 572016, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#31 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#54 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Resort Yalong Bay Sanya is located on the white sand beach of Yalong Bay, Sanya, Hainan Island, featuring crystal clear ocean, blue skies and only a few short steps to the water’s edge.1 hour’s flight from Hong Kong / Guangzhou 3~4 hours’ flight from Beijing / Shanghai3 hours’ drive from Haikou, capital of Hainan Island 50 minutes’ drive from Sanya Phoenix International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, IHG, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Yalong Bay Hotel Sanya
Holiday Inn Sanya
Sanya Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Resort Sanya Yalong Bay Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing