We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holidays in a truly 5* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wanda Vista Resort Sanya
Ranked #46 of 1,338 Hotels in Sanya
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful holidays in a truly 5* hotel”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Overall I am extremely satisfied with that hotel, the property is huge, many facilities, beautiful rooms, nice staff... Except one part; the Food & beverage department didn't have the standard of excellence that I expected from Kempinski. And the executive chef not friendly at all would pass everyday next to my wife and I without saying hi, without a smile. On the other hand the front desk department was always there to help, probably the best English level and knowledge about their city that I've seen in china.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    40
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
25
29
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very Grand Hotel but not completely open.
We stayed in a duplex room in April 2013for a 6 day break from travelling. The Hotel is brand new and not fully open yet. Not all accommodation is finished internally. There would seem to be no more building work needed and the un-open rooms are well disguised. There were no workmen in the hotel when we were there and therefore no disturbance. There is a Spa area being completed to the side of the main building but this was a minor concern. The Current Spa is located in one of the villa's and is therefore a little limited.
The reception and bar area is very impressive with views over the gardens and pools leading down to the sea.
There are only two restaurants open, a Chinese which was very good but non European and the main restaurant had a Chinese buffet where you select ingredients and the chief cooks them for you or you could choose from a European style menu. Unfortunately many of the dishes on this menu were unavailable at that time. This was the same for local beer which was out of stock. Therefore we eat out in the evening.
The same restaurant serves breakfast. This was excellent, with an extensive range of food and drinks. There was an international hot buffet, a cold meats and fish table, fruit, yogurts, breads, cakes etc. etc there was even candy lollypops and ice cream for children (or adults). I have been to a number of similar hotels and I would say that the quality and variety of the foods on offer at breakfast was one of the best I have experienced.
Alcohol was very expensive and there is only one bar open, with a small swim up bar open during the day. There would seem to be the facility for two further bars/ restaurants, one near the beach and the other amongst pools /garden but they show no signs of being open.
As the hotel has only just past ‘soft opening’ there are a few staffing problems with some staff not being as switched on as you might hope for a 5 * resort, but generally staff made us feel welcome and tried to help whenever approached.
The senior management would seem to be European and they went out of their way to accommodate my party, they were working hard to get the hotel up to speed.
Our rooms were upgraded to duplex suites overlooking the pools and grounds leading down to the sea. They were spacious, extremely well appointed with a circular baths on one balcony with a tables and chairs on the other. Two Large Tv’s, mini bars and toilets in each. The rooms are very comfortable and finished to a high quality.
There was plenty of shade around the pool area, which had a variety of depths and different areas to swim or relax. The grounds were extensive and well maintained. There is a canal system running around the grounds and inside the accommodation buildings with gondola’s available to take guests around.
The beach was sandy with soft sand, comfortable sun beds with good shade. There was a life guard on duty as the sea can be rough and at times I believe there is a current to contend with. There are also other staff on hand.. There were no hawkers trying to sell things but you could walk 10 minutes up the beach to buy a water melon if you wanted. Also there is a nice fish restaurant next to the statue of the ‘Bull’. The nearby town (taxi ride) is worth a visit but its clear that not many people leave the resort.
This is a lovely hotel in a lovely part of the world. When it is fully open it will be 5* plus. but at the moment it is not up to Kempinski standards. Having said that I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andycullers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a new hotel and I believe it was recently open. The decoration is impressive with luxury lobby and the finishing with wood and marble stones give a very good atmosphere.
The hotel at actually just has a Chinese restaurant but a German Paulaner Restaurant is under construction. So far for international travelers it is very limited. The staff is new and with low experience.
The beach is great and the pool area and internal lake allows " gondola" rides through the hotel.
I recommend

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogerio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a large hotel and is partially open. It has great facilities on a large scale and is ideal for conferences.

I was surprised by the quality of food which was good given the scale of delivery. I enjoyed the lobby bar for a few conference calls and found the overall site huge with its own Venetian inspired gonadal river. The gardens run down to the beach which is nice, the sand is rough but I swam in the sea, it could be rough and people should take safety seriously.

The pool is big and has a bar which was not open when I visited, shame ! The gym is large and ok for few nights stay. The rooms are large and nice, the decor is not my taste very wooden but ok. My balcony had a large circular bath good for couples but not for me on my own! The rooms are in blocks which are spread out and access to the buildings is always a walk, the lift was in the furtherest corner so I had to double back....

Overall ok, I am told the bay is ok and not the busiest which in China could be a good thing...

Room Tip: Ask for a room/block near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family of 4 stated for a night at the 2-night bedroom villa which is perfectly decorated! We regret that not staying for few more nights to enjoy everything

The main bedroom is on the 2nd floor , so as the main entrance. There is a well equipped bathroom with sauna, standing shower with two washing basin in the middle. A soaking bath tub seems missing right? It is actually transformed to a jacuzzi at the large balcony ! So you can actually enjoy a bath with romantic lighting . There are of coz A big comfortable bed with I-pod docking , big TV as a must for a new hotel!

The second bedroom is on the ground floor so you will need to walk down after the main entrance. Seems a little bit weird at the begining but it is just great for my parent coz they don't need to walk the stairs unless they need to go to the pool.

The second bedroom is apparently a little bit smaller but the big living room
And swimming pool is just out of the room. The bathroom equipped is a standing shower.

The size of the pool is plenty enough for a relaxing swim in the morning or a night.
In the afternoon, I would prefer to go to the main pool as it is real big!

The beach has some strong tide, we were told that the hotel is working on a "border" (forgot if it is to stop the shark or some of the tides). The sand is fine and great to walk on.

It is true that the resort is not fully operated. Some contructions are still in progress, but they are not disturbing to us at all.

The buffet breakfast is having a wide selection , yet only basic items provided during dinner buffet. It is understandable as the demand is not that high due to the low occupancy during this soft opening period .

Service is attentive and they acted prompt enough to every request.

My family is looking foward to visiting kempinski when it is fully opened!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GracyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Can't agree with AAAHongKong anymore. Just back from Sanya and had our driver drove us to Kempinski. When knowing it's only 1 restaurant opened and a walk around in the hotel, I will have the least interest to go back.

Also, Haitang Bay seems to be under construction everywhere.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura L, eCommerce Executive at Wanda Vista Resort Sanya, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Shirl,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and your interest in Kempinski Hotel Haitang Bay Sanya.

There are 3 restaurants in the hotel. Cafe K offering breakfast, lunch and diner, Yuen Court Chinese Restaurant and Tea house offering Hongkong Food anf teppanyaki.

We sincerely welcome you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Went there for a friend wedding last weekend.
The hotel is a bit far from the city and airport ( 40 to 45 min) but there is actually nothing much to do in the city. Take the seaview room, it is really amazing with nice balconies. There is a bathtub on the balcony which is nice even we did not use it.

The beach is super clean which crystal clear water and the hotel staff make sure you have water and towels all day long on the beach relaxing area.

They seem to be also pretty good at events, the wedding on the saturday had an amazing setup on the beach followed by a cocktial and dinner on the central grass area( that you can actually see in the picture) and it was really great; food was mazing: best strawberry yoghurt i ever had in my life.

The morning breakfast buffet is a treat and as it was mentioned by others, staff is very friendly with people speaking pretty much all the languages you can think of.

If I have to go back to Sanya one day, will definitly go back there.

Room Tip: seaview in building 6 as it is the closest from the beach, otherwise can choose the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timandyuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
#28 of 1,338 in Sanya
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haitang Bay
Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
The Sanya EDITION
#7 of 1,338 in Sanya
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanda Vista Resort Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanda Vista Resort Sanya

Property: Wanda Vista Resort Sanya
Address: No.2 Haitang North Road, Haitang Bay, Sanya 572013, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Haitang Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#35 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#43 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Wanda Vista Resort Sanya 5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the National Coast - Haiwtang Bay, Sanya, which is a continuous 20 km expanse of white sand on Hainan Island, Wanda Vista Resort Sanya is directly opposite Wuzhizhou Island, a diver's paradise, and adjacent to the upcoming Sanya Finance Forum Convention Center project by Poly Group. The resort is only a 25-minute drive from Sanya Phoenix International Airport and a 12-minute drive from the Sanya Duty Free Store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanda Vista Resort Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanda Vista Resort Sanya Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing