We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Royal" piece of paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya
Ranked #25 of 1,350 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned from this jewel on the South China Sea. As a Luxury Collection branded property, we expected a lot and The Royal Begonia did not disappoint. We arranged a chauffeured transfer In their house S-class MBZ complete with wifi service (super cool for the international travelers). The ride to the hotel is about 30 minutes, totally comfortable, some high-end magazines to pass the time if needed. We were greeted by several staffers upon arrival and we were given these great little shell necklaces as arrival gifts. We enjoyed the Abel Spa as a couple, we lounged the days away in one of the great little hidden enclaves throughout the property. We swam, we rented segways and rode them on the beach, we ate like kings on a daily basis, but perhaps best of all:

While touring the grounds on the first day, we spotted a jetty at the beach, a raised stone jetty that juts out into the water about 15-20 feet above the surface. It's obviously very new and quite romantic place to watch a sunset. I asked the hotel manager: Aaron Loy if he had ever had allowed a couple to have a dinner there. He replied that he had not, but that they would love the chance to provide such a romantic time for us. He arranged a very special menu and even brought their 5-star chef "Maurizio" to meet us and discover our likes and dislikes. The next evening we had the time of our lives. Aaron even surprised us by having their house-band come out and sing a quick set of love songs for our enjoyment. They went so far beyond what would be considered luxury service that its almost inexplicable...seriously!

Our room had a view that rivals the best Hawaiian beach, and its own private pool and backyard. Every member of the staff made it their personal goal to see to it that we were happy and wanted for nothing during our stay. There were several standout employees: Aaron Loy of course was the conductor for the most romantic night of my life thus far. There was Kamal Sanusi, who I believe oversees both the Luxury Collection & Sheraton properties (as they share some amenities). Gustavo, my buddy from Portugal who made sure that our coffee was dead-on balls accurate every morning (which is not easy :)

The hotel staff is eager to customize your stay however you'd like. If you need tons of care, they'll give it, if you want privacy, they'll respect it. It's 5-star luxury at its very finest. Every piece of chrome is polished, the frette linens felt brand-new, every piece of fruit is perfectly sliced. 'Life' is in the details, and they absolutely understand that at The Royal Begonia. If the opportunity to return to Hainan arises, I will not even look at another hotel to stay at, I'll go straight back to Phillipp (the sous chef at The Begonia) and have him make me a Luxury Collection Pizza with no black olives.

Two thumbs up for this property. They're craftsman at making memories.

Room Tip: Villa if you can swing it, but a junior suite'll do ya VERY well, at 1,300 sq ft. And with two b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PuddleJumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Manager at The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort, Sanya. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and it is our pleasure to welcome you. We are glad that you had the opportunity to meet our management team and that they were able give you a special experience. Your comments have been delivered to the proper departments. We will continue to make improvements in our property and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 117 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Royal Begonia Sanya is our favorite resort on Hainan; this large resort hotel defies its size and provides a tranquil escape in paradise. The location is perfect; close to the beach, it is so calm and the area has beautiful surroundings, it is actually not unusual to be alone walking on the wide, long and clean beach, and this not only in the morning hours.
The rooms are perfectly clean and the housekeeping staff is friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable. Our cleaning lady always remembered what we liked to have; these are the small but important things that you really enjoy and like as a guest.
The breakfast has everything – a lot of fresh fruit and fresh fruit drinks, sushi and sashimi, smoked salmon, fresh cheese, eggs made any style, crispy bacon, sausages, pan cakes, waffles, yoghurt, warm dishes, coleslaw, ham and more. And also here the staff remembered after our first time stay to keep for breakfast always the Champagne and glasses cold.
The hotel also offers several kinds of buffets, the barbeque buffet which is situated at the beside located Sheraton we really recommend , you don’t want to miss it. The lobby bar has a great view and also live music every night. The restaurants on the resort are all very nice, never disappointed, everything tastes wonderful! The pool service is perfect.
We do not want to forget to thank the GM Kamal Sanusi for the hospitality and always fun and interesting conversation, his eagerness to ensure that our stay was perfect made us feel very welcome, same for the Executive Chef How; we hope to see both of them and their staff again soon.
If you want a perfect resort with beautiful arranged pool and garden, a calm vacation, a stay at a clean, friendly, top-of-the-line-resort, you need to book your room at the Royal Begonia Sanya! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: If your budget allows, book one of the ocean view suites, 3rd floor 351 or 352, or 4th floor 451 or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaLa_Uwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Manager at The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort and leaving us great feedback. It is our pleasure to provide you an impressive tropical vacation and amiable services.We sincerely welcome you come to Luxury Collection again, hope meet you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

It's a newly opened hotel situated in Haitang Bay and my family spent 3 nights there last December. The Hotel itself is very beautiful. At my first glance, it reminds me of my stay at Ritz Carlton Maui...

The staff were definitely earnest, pleasant and really nice, but also clearly inexperienced. Think the service still needs to be further improved to cater sophisticated luxury resort travelers.

Overall experience is great, and I am still missing the relaxing days spent there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tong w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Manager at The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort and leaving us great feedback. It is our pleasure to provide you an impressive tropical vacation. Our team has taken actions immediately aim on the problems you mentioned, we’d like to offer you a new experience of our hotel. We sincerely welcome you come to Luxury Collection again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

An absolutely gorgeous property ideally located on Haitang Bay. The pool complex and beach are fantastic, and the rooms are quite modern and spacious. Also, the food (especially the breakfast) is delicious.

Clearly, the #1 issue facing this property (and every other one in Sanya) is the lack of qualified staff who are conversant in English and understand what 5-star service looks like. The hotel general manager, Kamel, and his #2, Aaron, were very visible working with the staff on training but they can't be everywhere. Kamel and Aaron made sure to check-in with us each day to get our feedback.

One minor gripe... most Chinese tourists are not good swimmers and as a result, the slightest ocean surf is enough for the hotel to shut the beach down for swimming. Compared to Hawaii, Australia or Portugal the waves were barely worth mention. For Western guests who have travelled far to enjoy the South China Sea, this was disappointing.

Room Tip: High floor with terrace facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueDevil01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Manager at The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort and leaving us feedback. It is our pleasure to provide you an impressive tropical vacation and amiable services. Also, we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the issues you have experienced. Our team has taken actions immediately aim on the problems you mentioned. We are looking forward to welcoming you back and would like to offer you a new experience of our hotel. We may arrange a flawless stay and extend additional courtesies. Once again thank you for valuable comments. Wish you Happy New Year and all dream come ture!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the hotels and expect the luxury collection has high quality services - but we are disappointed their standard is far from 5-star.

Firstly, they are not refilling the drinks and tea bags after the first day. It even takes 2 times to get what we needs. Secondly, they don't make up room in the afternoon and room still messy and bed is no tidy up. Thirdly, the second day doesn't have complimentary fruit ad the first day. I ambit sure it's that only available for the first night. We tried MO Sanya, and service is way better than them.

I guess the only thing I appreciated is the pool and beach is very organized and neat. And very few people has checked in the hotel as well. Also it is attached to Sheraton so can share the utilities like gym and kids room.

But I am disappointed what the labelled themselves as 'luxury' as far from that level

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunkiss524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Manager at The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the issues you have experienced. Our team has taken actions immediately aim on the problems you mentioned. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. We’d like to offer you a new experience of our hotel. We may arrange a flawless stay and extend additional courtesies. Once again thank you for valuable comments. Wish you Merry Christmas and Happy New Year in advance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just came back from Sanya.We spent 2 nights at The Royal Begonia,during our stay,we felt great!

It was the second time we stayed in The Luxury Collection resort.At the first time,we stayed in The Naka Island,that was a wonderful experience,at that time,I have become a big fan of The Luxury Collection,so we had a high expectation on this resort before we arrived.

The Royal Begonia is located in Haitang bay,it provides free shuttle service from Sanya Phoenix International Airport to the resort,but the shuttle service made us feel very disappointed.Before we went to Sanya,the resort called my hubby and told him how to find the shuttel bus,when we arrived at the airport,my hubby found the bus,but the bus seemed like a normal airport shuttle which need charge and there were no any hotel logo on the bus and no hotel staff,the dirver was not in the bus at that moment,so it made us very confused,we were not sure if the bus was the right one!I think the driver could not speak English,if the foreigners who cannot speak Chinese need to take this shuttle,that was really a big big problem!The bus was shabby!We could not image that was a good shuttle service of The Luxury Collection,it was horrible!The resort guests need to share this free shuttle service with the guests of Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort,that was not a big problem,but when we booked the shuttle from resort to airport,they replied us they needed to confirm if the bus was fully booked by Sheraton guests first,that was ridiculous!Well...in my opinion,The Luxury Collection is much higher level than Sheraton,at this point,we could not feel the superiority of The Luxury Collection and we didnot get the excellent sevice which The Luxury Collection should provide!

Although the horrible shuttle bus made us disappointed,the disappointment disappeared when we arrived at the resort.The property had a very different style from The Naka Island,The Naka Island was primeval style,but The Royal Begonia was very grand,both of them were stunning and we did love these two different styles!The lobby of this resort was splendid,especially the reception,it was gorgeous!

The room was very grand,roomy and clean,especially the bathroom,fabulous!The room was European style,but it was also combined with some Chinese elements,that was pretty cool!There was a private balcony in the room and sometimes we would sit in the chair in the balcony and enjoyed the beautiful pool view and a little bit seaview from the balcony.The bed was comfortable.We were satisfied with this room!

The private beach was very nice,the water was clean and blue,the sand was fine.It was pretty comfortable when we walked barefoot on the beach!

There were several outdoor pools and jacuzzis in the resort,they looked beautiful,some of them were very large.Although all the pools were open,all the jacuzzis were closed,we could not use them,that was not cool!When we went to the pool to swim and wanted to get swimming towels at the pool bar,the pool staff who was not in the bar told us to register before we get the swimming towels,but the staff was not friendly and not helpful,he didnot go back to the bar to help us to register and didnot proactively gave us the swimming towels.As our experience in W Retreat Koh Samui and The Naka Island,they would put some swimming towels in the villa for our convenience,when we went to the pool or the beach,the pool staffs proactively gave us swimming towels without register and also proactively helped us to spread the swimming towels on the sun lounge chairs,they showed me what was the excellent service,but I couldn't get such excellent service in this resort!

I knew that The Luxury Collection guests could use the facilities of Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort,but the Sheraton guests could not use the facilities of The Royal Begonia.When we were swimming,we saw that two Sheraton guests in Sheraton bathrobes came here and swam in the pool of The Royal Begonia,however,the pool staff didnot ask them to leave but served them!If I stay at Sheraton and I can got the same service and use the facilities in The Luxury Collection,why I book a room at The Luxury Collection at a higher rate?It dosen't make sense!

The Begonia All Day Dining Restaurant was wonderful,the breakfast was tasty,it was not breakfast buffet,it provided several breakfast sets,including western,Spanish,vegetarian and the Cantonese-style breakfast!My hubby loved the Spanish breakfast,I tried the western and the Cantonese-style breakfast,the western breakfast was delicious,the Cantonese-style breakfast was combined with some Hainan typical food,that was distinctive!The atmosphere of the restaurant was great,the service was terrific!Although most of the staffs were new,they were considerate and very friendly,after we only gave them our room number,they knew who we were and addressed us by our last name immediately,execellent service!The service of the waiter who asked our room number and took us to the table on the second day was impressive,when we finished breakfast,he asked us if we went back to room,we said yes,he said "it's 2nd floor,right?"we nodded,he proactively helped us to push the elevator button,that was very considerate,what excellent service!

Most of the resort staffs were friendly and helpful.The service of the resort was good,but could be better.However,they must improve their service!

There is still a long way to be a real "The Luxury Collection",I hope that it will be much better when we come back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Penelope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Manager at The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort and leaving us great feedback. It is our pleasure to provide you an impressive tropical vacation and amiable services. Also, We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the issues you have experienced. Our team has taken actions immediately aim on the problems you mentioned. We sincerely welcome you come to Luxury Collection again, hope meet you soon!
Wish you and your family happy Mid-autumn day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Based on the previous reviews we were looking forward to our stay at the new Royal Bergonia hotel as we are big Starwood Luxury Collection & St Regis fans. Our stay however only lasted for the most of 4 hours before having to check out and look for alternative hotel arrangements.

At the time of booking the hotel was advertising a "Grand Opening" of 31 Aug (this has now since changed to 15 Sept), prior to the soft launch period they seemed to already have. However after checking in and then deciding to explore the resort just about everywhere we went was 'closed'. The beach was closed, ALL the swimming pools were closed, the fitness centre doors were open but clearly wasn't ready to be open, there were plenty of workers inside and the flooring clearly was full of building and working equipment. What was open however, was the neighbouring Sheraton hotel which we were told to use instead. But if I wanted to stay at the Sheraton we would have booked a room at the Sheraton at a cheaper rate!

We weren't expecting a perfect experience given it was a new hotel but we certainly weren't expecting not to be able to use the beach and resort facilities, after all that is what you look for in a resort. When we complained we were told there were issues which they had discovered a few days prior (which we can understand for a new hotel) but disappointing from a luxury collection guest experience:

- if the hotel is still part closed, why not disclose this on the website so guests can make better informed decisions
- surely you can't promote a 'Grand Opening' when clearly your facilities are not ready to be open
- if you had discovered issues just a few days prior why weren't we called to advise of the issues to be given the option to decide whether or not we wanted to continue with our booking and worse still there is absolutely no excuse for not disclosing this at point of check in. There is a real issue of integrity on this part thinking that you could just get away with it.

A note for guests who are looking to book in the future which is not clearly mentioned on their website:

- this is a complex hotel so things such as 'kids club' and recreation club are actually part of the Sheraton hotel and not the Royal Begonia. Therefore if these facilities are important to you, you're better off paying less and booking at the Sheraton hotel instead rather than paying a premium for a luxury collection brand, which isn't up to standard at the moment.

Overall, I think the resort product is fine however don't look to book here in the near future if you want it to be a 'special' experience as you will be disappointed. Be careful on the 'Grand Opening' date posted as clearly in our instance it was not open and since now has been changed again on the website, hence who knows when the proper 'Grand Opening' will be. I would give it a good few months to be absolutely sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Manager at The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the issues you have experienced. Our team has taken actions immediately aim on the problems you mentioned. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. We’d like to offer you a new experience of our hotel. We may arrange a flawless stay and extend additional courtesies. Once again thank you for valuable comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Haitang Bay
Sheraton Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
#29 of 1,350 in Sanya
244 reviews
Haitang Bay
The Westin Sanya Haitang Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haitang Bay
Wanda Vista Resort Sanya
Wanda Vista Resort Sanya
#49 of 1,350 in Sanya
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya

Address: No.78 Haitang North Road, Haitangwan, Sanya 572013, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#24 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#36 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: $121 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic beachfront location facing the South China Sea,and a backdrop of lush green hills under endless azure skies,The Royal Begonia is an island utopia,seamlessly blending nature and refinement. The gentle wafting breezes, tropical landscapes and crystalline waters create a symphony for the senses. A gallery of impressive traditional and modern Chinese art, sculpture, pottery and hand-woven fabric creations showcases the talent of local artisans and it on display throughout the resort. Tours through surrounding villages and cooking classes featuring local indigenous dishes create an unrivalled cultural experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Begonia, A Luxury Collection Resort Sanya Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing