We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of MGM Grand Sanya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MGM Grand Sanya
Ranked #9 of 1,327 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Great design for this hotel.
Big rooms and view in the sea
Huge pool, where you get the feeling you are alone as it is compartmented
Also a pool for children to avoid noise..
A bubbles pool as well
A bar on the beach, with a beach volley net
Good service
Food is tasty and service is at a high level
Easy access with a parking
It was a nice experience

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    151
    42
    14
    9
See reviews for
210
102
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Located at one of the most beautiful bay and along the stretch of other 5 star resorts, this 5 star non casino resort provides personalized service and the staffs are friendly. Room is clean with adequate supply of amenities, bed was comfortable and the view from the room (if you have the ocean view, has balcony with chairs) is beautiful, looking over the hotel garden and pool. They have nice selection of restaurants and comfortable setting in the meeting rooms. Breakfast selection in their restaurant serves a variety of delicious Asian cuisine.

In the evening, the lobby lights goes dim complimented with the nearby man made water fall feature creating the relaxing environment. The beach is clean and nice to have a stroll in the evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AviationFO_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Visited Sanya. Yalong bay in mid October 13. Chosen MGM despite not much reviewed in TA as compare to other 5 stars Hotel. Really did not disappoint me.
It a new Hotel with a vibrant and modern design, When we touch down the Hotel, the porter came to help us with our luggage but did not escort us to the room after we checked in. It took us a bit trouble to find the room. The room is very spacious and new. Bed is excellent. Everything is perfect.
The poolside is very good. There are a few pools, main pool are not deep about 1.4m all round and is big and wide. Another pool has big screen which they show movie at night where you can relax and watch. Baby pool with a small slide next to it as well. lifeguard is always around the poolside. It open till 10pm. But there wasn't any waiter that comes around taking drinks or snacks for order. There is a pool bar ( in fact beach bar ) located a corner just the entrance to the beach from the Hotel. There is no pool bar in the main pool, quite bad !..
There is bicycle for rent at the entrance of the Hotel. We booked a transport ( private car ) from the Hotel which is very good ( new and clean car ), understand from the driver, MGM set a standard for them to comply if they want to pick guest from MGM.
We tried both the Chinese Restaurant which is very good and quality food, It may be a bit expensive but taking MGM standard into consideration, it still acceptable. I recommend to go. We tried eating outside around that area, it is slightly cheaper but food quality is not there.
The breakfast, Food variety is quite wide but mostly local food covers 60%. The rest western and jap. Quality is acceptable. Crowded during weekend but still ok. During that time is low season. Could be really very crowded if it is in the high season ( take note ). This is no complimentary for child and the charges is high. The poolside BBQ dinner is very expensive with the food offered. Nothing special, it is just located along the main pool. It would be better if it is located at the party pool or in the beach.
There is a kid club and there is some activities for them to keep them busy.
Overall the facilities are excellent, but the service of the staffs still room for improvement as a 5 star quality resort despite they can speak simple English and greets wherever they meet you. But in China we cannot expect such standard.
I recommend TA member to give try.

Room Tip: Book the room with a pool attach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Payoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the MGM for three days in an ocean view room and it was a wonderful stay overall. The room was modern, clean and spacious and had a fantastic view of the sea. The beach in front of the property is nice and the water clear (other hotels further along the bay may have a narrower beach but not this one). The hotel pool is also huge, possibly the largest along the Yalong Bay stretch, but the jacuzzi pool didn't seem to be working very well while we were there. Food options at Yalong Bay are generally overpriced but I find that the food in MGM has got the quality to match the price. The breakfast buffet offers a fantastic variety of food. The western breakfast selection is decent but if you are open to trying Chinese dim sum and noodles, or Japanese fare, you won't find yourself eating the same thing everyday. For dinner, we tried Pinju (local Hainanese cuisine) and the poolside barbecue buffet and both were really good. For the poolside barbecue, there is fresh seafood for barbecuing, a variety of cooked dishes, free flow of fruit juice and beer, and some desserts. Judging by the quality of the desserts served at the barbecue, I am presuming that they do western desserts pretty well. Pinju serves good Wenchang (steamed ) chicken and we tried another dish of stir-fried pork collar and yam, which was delicious.

We didn't have kids with us but there seemed to be lots for kids to do, there is a separate club room for kids. We did explore some other hotels along the same stretch, but MGM seems like one of the best.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank datsit42day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went there for with my family. They have great service and their staff is really friendly. Everyone greets you with a smile which is quite unusual in China. The breakfast restaurant was overcrowded but they fixed it by opening up a second breakfast restaurant. Big pool area where the children loved to play. Great beach location as well.

Room Tip: We had a room towards the back first. They have no balconies and you cannot open any windows. We mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoUoAoSoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at the MGM for a total of 4 nights, as a family of 4 in one deluxe room. The room was clean and spacious and the beds were very comfortable.

The washroom was modern, spacious and had a separate tub and shower. The amenities provided were Etro brand, a nice touch.

The breakfast was chaotic but good. The food was actually excellent, but the out of control, pushing and shoving by locals made the experience less than ideal. We actually received excellent service from staff, mostly because we made a point of saying "please" and "thank you", while others seemed to try to be as rude as possible.

The pool is glorious!!! It has built in lounge chairs with jacuzzi jets in them. THere are lifeguards on duty at all times and they really work hard. There are ample lounge chairs around the pool.

The private beach area that MGM owns is beautiful and second to none. It's not over crowded, has plenty of chairs and umbrellas and also has it's own lifeguards. It's rather amazing to see whole families of non-swimmers wade way out to the sea, find out they can't manage, then require rescue.....over and over again!!!

The lobby of the hotel is beautiful, very stylish.

We had dinner at the poolside bbq twice. My kids loved the food and so did the adults. The price was high by Chinese standards, but normal for north america standards and the food was very good quality. The service was really good the first time we went, then not good the 2nd time. That time they had several large groups and were clearly unable to serve so many people.

There is a large grocery store about 5 minutes walk away from the hotel where you can buy virtually anything you need. Other than that, there is very little around the area.

We enjoyed our stay and will return to Sanya and also return to the MGM Grand.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brennee2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife, son and I just returned from what I will have to say is one of the 10 BEST Vacations I have had in my entire life. The MGM Grand Hotel in Sanya is a large resort located on Yalong Bay directly on the beach. Our suite had a marvelous view and was spacious, very clean and well appointed. The staff was well trained and very attentive. The food and beverage offerings also offered enough variety and were tasty and well presented. The breakfast each day deserves special mention as it was GREAT! The various pools are expansive, clean and well serviced by a team of nice young men. The baby pool (were my son spent most of our vacation) was also very clean and had nice little toys each day for the children to play with. The location of the resort provided an excellent breeze and I can see why this is called the Hawaii of China. A great hotel, great location and I can highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2611 which was a Deluxe Ocean View Suite - great room with a spectacular view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimcosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Club Med Sanya
#1 of 1,327 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Sanya

Property: MGM Grand Sanya
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572000, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#13 Family Hotel in Sanya
#37 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Sanya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 675
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MGM Grand Sanya is Diaoyutai MGM Hospitality Ltd’s first non-gaming five-star resort in mainland China. It is inspired by the dining, nightlife and entertainment elements from MGM Resorts International’s successful brands in Las Vegas combined with Diaoyutai State Guesthouse’s outstanding service philosophy. Guests will definitely be treated to an unforgettable destination experience well beyond the physical aspects of the property to generate “Energy, Excitement and Entertainment” for which the MGM brand is famous for.MGM Grand Sanya is located at Yalong Bay which is regarded as “one of the most beautiful bays in the world”. The emergence of MGM Grand Sanya has strengthened MGM’s brand influence in China through its 675 guest rooms, which includes 596 standard rooms, 73 suites and 6 exclusive villas on the beachfront. It embodies fashion, entertainment, fine dining and luxury by adding new resort elements to this “Hawaii of the East” destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your MGM Grand Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MGM Grand Sanya Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing