We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go again”
Review of MGM Grand Sanya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MGM Grand Sanya
Ranked #13 of 1,346 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will go again”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a newly opened luxury resort in Yalong Bay, very good location, next to the Sheraton. A very good value compared with others on the Yalong Bay. But the service still needs to be improved, especially the room cleaning, and I didnt get any night bed services for my stay, which I thought should be a standard service for such a resort. The pools are SUPER great, maybe the best I have ever seen! Breakfast is ok because it is a little hot and humid inside the dining place...it seems those hotels in Yalong Bay don't have enough air conditioning in public places like the lobby...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louqing79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    154
    47
    14
    9
See reviews for
214
106
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We had trip for 5 days in hotel on 28 May to 03 June. The facilities is very grand and modern. Hotel staff is very hospitality and professional. We got a lots of delighted experience in this period. It's a amazing trip!!!

Room Tip: sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zi Sheng S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This brand new Hotel in Sanya is really bringing standard up one level. For people who often travel in those areas, we all have experienced tough moments with inexperienced staffs and uncaring attitudes. For the first time, and despite a very recent opening, we found here a great understanding with a high level of guest care.

It is the first time that I see such a hands-on GM, carrying trays for breakfast to hold the crazy rush of the golden week crowd, that could still find time to stop by and asking if you had any needs !

First ones in the area to understand that animations should be a choice and not imposed, very creative & soft, the Robuchon cake for my daughter birthday was just tantalizing.

For me the best place Hotel in Sanya after 5 years of visits !

Room Tip: The suites facing the sea are just incredible !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epaget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I hosted an internal company conference at MGM this past week and was thoroughly impressed with the level of care and service by the hotel staff. This is a new hotel and staff were sometimes taken off-guard by our requests but they all made every effort to see to our every need. The GM, Directors and events manager were always checking to see how we were doing and ensured we were well taken care of. It is a hotel that clearly wanted to impress and have achieved that. The hotel rooms were luxurious, spacious, had great views and spotless. They were generous with the bottled water and amenities. Truly a 5-star experience. The hotel is located in Yalong Bay together with a string of other resorts. There isn’t much to do in terms of shopping or exploring downtown but plenty of water sports and sea activities or simply strolling along the beaches. I have given an excellent rating for value for money because we managed to have good pricing on our rooms and we were comp-ed on several items. I believe this is just part of great service and making the client feel appreciated.

Room Tip: choose a room in tower 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golftravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed at the MGM for 6 nights in March 2012 for a special event there.
The property is very beautiful and is set between the beach and a lovely golf course behind. Rooms are large, new and very nice with some of the best beds and bedding there is anywhere.
The F and B outlets are ok, but still lacking a bit and the prices are on the high side. 52 RMB for a small coffee which was cold. There is a club here but it was totally dead and the most people we did see there was about 7 !
Overall a very nice place to chill, but too far from the city. Good for 2-3 nights.

Room Tip: Sea views are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benbee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Grand Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Grand Sanya

Property: MGM Grand Sanya
Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572000, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#12 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#13 Family Hotel in Sanya
#45 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Grand Sanya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 675
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MGM Grand Sanya is Diaoyutai MGM Hospitality Ltd’s first non-gaming five-star resort in mainland China. It is inspired by the dining, nightlife and entertainment elements from MGM Resorts International’s successful brands in Las Vegas combined with Diaoyutai State Guesthouse’s outstanding service philosophy. Guests will definitely be treated to an unforgettable destination experience well beyond the physical aspects of the property to generate “Energy, Excitement and Entertainment” for which the MGM brand is famous for.MGM Grand Sanya is located at Yalong Bay which is regarded as “one of the most beautiful bays in the world”. The emergence of MGM Grand Sanya has strengthened MGM’s brand influence in China through its 675 guest rooms, which includes 596 standard rooms, 73 suites and 6 exclusive villas on the beachfront. It embodies fashion, entertainment, fine dining and luxury by adding new resort elements to this “Hawaii of the East” destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your MGM Grand Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MGM Grand Sanya Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing