We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but still need improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort
Ranked #11 of 1,350 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

1 All Staff are friendly but the hotel system need to be updated. I booked a room for 3 days with my spg number, the check-in desk can see this, but the butler and the staff of restaurant do not get this info, so I have to confirm "I'm a spg number, and my number is xxxx" time after time. It's strange.

2 Good point: They provide baby care and children's club. Food is very good and not expensive. Garden is beautiful and room is spacious.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Honored Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review about recent stay at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort. We hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted to learn that your overall stay with us was enjoyable.

Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience St. Regis is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. At the same time, we were concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations.

We have noted your comments regarding miscommunication regarding the SPG member details. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. Hoping to welcome you back again!

Allow me,
St. Regis Butler Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 360 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a beautiful Resort - picturesque with great service and attention to detail. From housekeeping introducing room features to the business centre providing decent swimwear at a reasonable price, you really will have an enjoyable stay. The food is excellent and the buffets offer a nice variety of Western and Chinese food. Staff have great English even some of the housekeeping staff which makes it unlike many other five star hotels in China. The rooms were huge with superior bathrooms and opening out to a lovely balcony with much light.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldChinaHand2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Honored Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review about your recent stay at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort.

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. We have conveyed your compliments to all the staff members and they are certainly pleased to see that their efforts are so well appreciated

Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience St. Regis is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits.

Allow Me,
St. Regis Butler Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Incredible that this hotel passed internal Starwood tests to be listed under the St Regis banner. The management standard falls well below any other St Regis I've stayed at, and particularly the other St Regis hotels in Asia.

Whilst the infrastructure is comparable to other top tier hotels in Sanya the service and ingrained management problems are more suited to a 3 star local Chinese hotel than a top tier resort charging more than the neighbouring Ritz Carlton or Mandarin Oriental amongst others.

The problems were too numerous to list in entirety, albeit to provide a flavour we experienced the following:

. At both Friday dinner at Drifitwood restaurant (loud russian music for the beach private dining and separate local music from the main restaurant) and then again Sunday drinks in the lobby balcony bar (live piano player and loud radio music from the floor above), they had two separate and competing music medium's playing simultaneously, which drowned each other out and made it impossible to enjoy or even hear any of the music options on their own or indeed ignore the music as part of the background.

. Booking the ping pong table with the concierge to play ping pong, confirming the time and pick up the equipment from the gym staff only to turn up to the ping pong table and finding workers who have just shut down the ping pong table to polish the floor clearly five minutes earlier and telling us to come back the next day.

. My parents in law speaking with the front desk to book a hotel car transfer to the airport for the following day, but being advised that there is a free shuttle at their requested time so they should use that and thus booking and confirming same only for the free shuttle to never arrive nor anyone follow up (after 25 minutes of confusion the hotel did then provide a free car to the airport to my parents in law and another couple who had the same problem)

The quality red wines on the menu at Driftwood, whilst listed at decent prices, are clearly stored at room temperature rather than in a temperature controlled environment. Our first bottle was blown and whilst the staff happily switched it out, all the bottles were literally hot and all three bottles of red needed to be placed in ice buckets for 15 minutes before being suitable for drinking

When my requested medium rare steak was delivered as a very well done steak, by way of apology the restaurant served everyone strawberry ice cream as a free dessert as i had said not to worry about re-doing the steak. Whilst a nice gesture, they did not tell us they were doing this and did not give anyone an opportunity to order their own dessert. My wife and one of the other ladies there's favourite meal is dessert and they were each disappointed not to be able to order their planned meals.

Whilst not a service issue per se, one other point worth mentioning is that the main pool (above ground) has a transparent wall which faces the beach so all people on the beach can see the full bodies of the people swimming in the pool. Whilst initially a novel idea and unique, upon spending some time on the beach, this quickly becomes somewhat voyeuristic and not in a good way as people who don't realise their bodies are on display touch themselves and each other in personal ways clearly not intended to be on display through a wall they do not realise is not only transparent, but even has a magnifying effect due to its concave nature.

Whilst four of the six of speak Chinese (3 are native Chinese), the two guests who didn't speak Chinese had real trouble communicating with the staff.

Essentially the hotel is a lovely looking place with poor service and local management not close to international top tier standards usually maintained by St Regis. This is fine and common in China for a cheap hotel, but the St Regis charges at a minimum USD400 per night for a room comparable to other St Regis' round Asia. As such, they should be held to the same standards and they are far far below. I have stayed at many other hotels in Sanya including Sheraton and the Le Meridian also part of Starwood as well as JW and RC and the St Regis service and clear lack of proper training for staff is by far and away the worst I have seen for this level of hotel. Until this year I had been an SPG premier member for five years, but over the last 18 months have been using other chains more and more. This trip encourages me to continue with that trend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nickinhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Mr Atkinson,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Review during your recent stay at St. Regis. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey

Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience in St. Regis renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. At the same time, I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations.

I have noted your comments regarding Food and Beverage service and the quality of the food of the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. This is certainly not the level of service we want our guests to experience and I can fully understand your disappointment.

We have personally looked into the matter and immediate action has been taken to remedy this shortfall in service which you experienced and to avoid recurrence of the same in the future.

Mr. Atkinson, thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. I do hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting St. Regis in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality St. Regis renowned for.

Allow Me,

Sunny Heng
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The St Regis is a large, new hotel in the Yalong Bay area of Sanya about 45mins from the airport (120 RMB taxi). We had a lovely weekend in the sunshine, but were ultimately very disappointed by the hotel, specifically the service.

Some of the service was well intentioned but backfired in the execution. For example, on our first morning we were awoken by a cleaning lady who rang the doorbell 3 times, then banged on the door until we dragged ourselves out of bed to politely decline the additional towels she was offering.

The butler service is the 'signature' of the St Regis. However, there was no clear explanation of the butler's actual purpose or specification of services rendered (a list of own observations is below). Therefore, when kindly offered a complimentary tea/coffee service before bedtime, we decided to avoid the late-night caffeine and opted for a couple of hot chocolates, instead. The response given was that they cost 130RMB.

Things got worse from there. Our taxi to the airport was leaving at 4pm but we were not allowed to extend checkout until then (we were threatened with a 1,200RMB fine if we did) so we asked if there was a changing room by the pool which we could use to make the most of the sunshine before we had to leave. There wasn't.

Breakfast was meant to run until 11am but staff not only did not remind guests when it was about to finish, but they actually started clearing up 15mins early while we were still dining. Our food and drinks orders were continually wrong, or components were missing, and we resented having Evian pushed onto us at every meal when there were decanters of adequately ordinary water positioned all around the tables. The in-room internet charge of 100RMB/day is also a rip-off when you're spending 3,000RMB/night.

2 out of 3 of the pools were closed this weekend along with the multimedia (movie) room.

Butler Service:

* Complimentary: bag packing/unpacking, shirt pressing, shoe shining, tea and coffee (including cappuccino, latte)
* Butler brings room service, and can take additional requests (e.g. an order from a local shop for a +15% surcharge)

Room Tip: * Request a room facing away from the heavy construction. The noisy building work starts at 7am and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charliewhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Honored Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review. We hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience St. Regis is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. At the same time, We were concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations.

We have noted your comments regarding the shortfall of service. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. This is certainly not the level of service we want our guests to experience and we can fully understand your situation. Rest assured that we have looked into the matter and immediate action has been taken to remedy this shortfall in service which you experienced and to avoid recurrence of the same in the future. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Allow Me
St. Regis Butler Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at St. Regis Yalong Bay Sanya from 26/10/2012-28/10/2012 in a party of 8 couples from Singapore. Unfortunately for us we were hit by Typhoon Son-Tinh during our stay. The response of the hotel staff was very impressive. Blades from ceiling fans in exposed areas were quickly removed. Glass windows facing the sea were barricaded. We felt very safe while 120 km/hr hurricane winds and rain were pouring outside. The staff went from room to room to advise the quests.
The room themselves were very large with marble flooring. Toilets were very large and well stocked with Remede toiletries.
Breakfast buffet had a large assortment of very tasty Western and Chinese items. We had buffet dinner as well and enjoyed the meal.
Our party also had dinner at a local restaurant called Haiya in Sanya city which had all the famous local dishes such Wenchang chicken. Give it a miss. Good local atmosphere but quality of food was poor although cheap.
Generally hotel staff were very polite smiling and greeting us whenever we walked past them. Concierge was helpful with all our requests.
My wife and I tried Iridium Spa and while expensive was very pampering.
Would recommend this hotel if you want to stay at Yalong Bay, Sanya. But you need to check the high speed train schedule carefully if you are flying into Meilan Airport and going to Sanya.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tzenSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed at the St Regis with my wife and 3 year old. The hotel and the staff were simply outstanding. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were treated to first class service at every turn. The rooms are very spacious and are simply beautiful. The dinning options for all of us were extensive and we tried all menu options. The butler service team were outstanding and are a wonderful touch. The kids club is very well run with lots to do. The hotel is right on the beach and has a great pool for kids and adults. Nothing was ever a problem for any of the staff. We had such a great family holiday and will return.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Honoured Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the review , I hope that you had a pleasant return journey

We are delighted to learn that your overall stay with us was enjoyable. We have conveyed your compliments to all the staff members and they are certainly pleased to see that their efforts are so well appreciated

Your valuable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the ultimate experience St. Regis is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality and Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Allow me,
St. Regis Butler service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My first trip back to Hainan for a long time and my first to the St Regis. The island has changed tremendously with a lot more to offer that the past. My stay with the family at the St Regis was to say the least outstanding. The rooms were fantastic, the restaurant provided some of the most memorable experiences ever but most of all the staff were incredible. There was nothing that they could not do for you as well as being extremely sincere. Best of all there was so much to do to keep 2 young kids happy. Their kids club was well equipped and comes with a delightful team who go out of their way to keep the kids occupied. We did not try the Spa as the stay was not long enough but met several others that were raving about it.

So overall the most memorable of stays and for those travelling to Sanya, there is no better place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinaManDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Regis_Sanya, Manager at The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort! Thank you so much for your stay and sharing your valuable comment with us. The Hainan Island really has changed a lot, especially for Sanya, St. Regis Sanya always provides the lovely scenes and attentive services, we highly appreciate your praise and affirmative. Please allow me to have opportunities to welcome you back to our resort with better impression on your next trip.

St. Regis Butler Service, Allow Me

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Sanya EDITION
#1 of 1,350 in Sanya
315 reviews
Banyan Tree Sanya
#10 of 1,350 in Sanya
370 reviews
MGM Grand Sanya
#14 of 1,350 in Sanya
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort

Address: Yalong Bay National Resort District, Sanya 572016, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sanya
#7 Business Hotel in Sanya
#10 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#51 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: $171 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort is ideally situated on a generous stretch of the most coveted location on Yalong Bay, with exclusive access to more than 800 meters of pristine coastline. A resort unlike any other on Hainan, the St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort offers wide appeal across a variety of audiences – from business executives to couples seeking romance to families seeking a fun and relaxing vacation. The resort is exquisitely designed with luxury in mind, offering 396 contemporary guest rooms including 28 beachside villas. The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort offers a world of epicurean experiences, with three full-service restaurants, a wine bar, and a tea room. In addition, the St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay will be the only resort in Sanya that offers the signature St. Regis butler service to all guests, as well as South China’s first Iridium Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Hotel Sanya
The St. Regis Sanya Yalong Bay Resort Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing