We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to say that we were really dissapointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 1,354 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Having read so many great reviews about this hotel, we decided to stay here for a long weekend. This is my 4th visit to Sanya and Im sorry to say that this was one of the worst stays. Let me explain:

1) Check-in: Im aware that its the summer holidays right now (we arrived on Friday at around 1pm) and there were alot of people waiting to check in. No one was there to manage the people waiting to check in or led us to another area to wait. It was like we were queueing for McDonalds.

2) Restaurants - we went to the Starfish market the first night - the food was very average for the price.The oysters were not fresh and we didn't finish them. I wanted to give a special mention to the Red Star Cafe, where the service almost drove me insane. It must have been instilled in the employee training for this restaurant, but a waiter/waitress/manager would come to our table and ask about our food and our stay, which is fine if you ask us after we finish our food but not during. What's more, 4 different people approached our table to do the same thing during one meal. I think thats a bit much! I get it that you're trying to make your guests feel welcome, but this is not the way.

3) Hardware - the lobby is the nicest part of the hotel in my opinion in terms of decor but its quite obvious that they used poor materials to build the hotel. At less than 2 years old, you can already tell that the hotel is starting to look a bit battered.

4) Rooms - in general the rooms are quite modern but really poorly cleaned. We had visible white dust on the bed frame which looks like it came from the painting above. This was there for the entire trip, no one attempted to clean it. Whats better is that we found a massive (almost 2 inch long) cockroach on our floor on morning of the last day - i guess that says alot about how clean the hotel is. Our room also had a connecting door to the next room and the door is almost as thin as paper. We could hear or neighbors talking, their baby crying and what they were playing on their TV. This was annoying because we would get woken up by our neighbors in the morning and couldn't get to sleep until their baby did.

5) Breakfast - the selection was pretty good but the quality of the food was only average. They use alot of locally produced food - like local dairy products by random Chinese brands, not even the likes of Nestle, which is not really safe to eat in my opinion.

6) Guests in general - while i was there, the majority of the guests were tourists from China, which were rude and made the experience all so much worse.

Good things:

1) The pools were quite nice and they are really big. However, note that when you stay at a lagoon room, they aren't connected to the main pool! So you still need to take a short walk before you reach the main pools.

2) The R-cade i thought was wonderful. The movie cinema was great and the staff there were also very helpful. They also have gaming consoles, computers for the internet, pool, air hockey and two bowling alleys, which is fun for both adults and kids. I think this place has great facilities for kids, they have a kids playroom and decidated pool (currently under construction). But once completed, im sure families with kids would love this place.

Unfortunately, for me, i would never come back and would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends! Hope you find this helpful!

Room Tip: The lagoon rooms are nice but the lagoon is not connected to the main pool so it kind of defeats the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pascale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 605 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spent our last night in Sanya at this resort as we wanted to check out the Haitang bay. The resort is absolutely beautiful and huge. It's brand new, maybe a bit too new as there are still some constructions going on. The rooms are very nice with great amenities. All staff are very friendly. They may not be the most experienced but everyone is trying hard to assist. We had great experience here and will definitely stay again.

It's pretty far from city and airport -- the highway exit to this resort is actually 15 km further than the HaiTang bay exit. However, since it's right off highway, the total travel time from airport to here isn't much longer than to the resorts in Yalong bay. There are free shuttles to and from the airport but they only run a few times a day and take a long time for some reason, so I would suggest hiring a taxi or booking a car from hotel instead for about $50 -- the Sanya airport has no air-conditioning and you wouldn't want to wait there too long.

One nice surprise we had was that we were treated like royalty because of my mere silver elite status with Marriott loyalty program. We were even upgraded to a nice suite and given 10%-15% off every thing! It is really awesome, considering silver doesn't really get you anything in any other Marriott properties. I may stay here and skip all the hilton and spg properties in Sanya from now on.

Room Tip: definitely get an ocean view room as there isn't much to see on the opposite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmguan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My family and I were treated like royality by Sean (hotel GM) and his many staff for the full five days we enjoyed the Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa.

The hotel was a lot easier to get to from Hong Kong than we expected and it was a trouble free holiday for us from the hotel arranged airport pickup, through to being dropped at the station for our early departure.

Everything at the hotel has been built on a seriously grand scale, from the rooms, main pool (we found a new pool each day), beachfront, gardens, restaurants, bars, kids club and R-Cade which even includes a bolwing alley!!

We were also very impressed by the level of service throughout the resort, it seemed everywhere you turned, someone was there offering assistance.

The restaurants offer plenty of variety, the breakfast buffet is the best we're ever seen and includes everything you could possibly wish for whether asia or western food is your thing.

The best part for us, was the amazing villa we stayed in, with it's own pool and so much space and privacy, we didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: If you're after privacy and plenty of space, a villa is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wally534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We recently had a fantastic 5 night stay here. I have 2 boys, aged 1 and 3yrs and really felt like I had a relaxing, indulgent holiday. I highly recommend the resort for a luxurious but family friendly experience. Its on a quiet stretch of the island on a beautiful beach in Haitang Bay. The hotel only opened last year so everything is very clean, modern and contemporary. The pool area is huge with lots of whirlpools, loads of loungers and a fantastic kids pool with 2 slides and shallow splash area. There is a really nice kids club with several different zones (balls. toys, crafts, reading) and the staff there were super friendly. Food and drinks were delicious, there were 3 restaurants with lots of variety and a coffee/ice-cream shop. The hot humid weather was perfect for just splashing around in the pool and relaxing in our air conditioned room or on our balcony at nap time! We hope to return on our next holiday.

Room Tip: Recommend the 1 bedroom suite for families with young children as you can relax in the separate livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very good, rooms are beautifull, nicely decorated. The terrirory is amasing. Then, it has very cosy coffee-bar( we were sitting there during rainy days), beach bar( smal menu, but tasty food), and very very tasty cinese reataurant( you should definately go there). Then, food in the room was also very tasty and well decorated( my favourite is chicken hainan style- simple but very tasty).
Minuses:
Cleaning in the rooms was far from perfect;
Location- beach is not as beautiful as in Mariott- Hilton-Sheraton-Ritz area( not white sand), and far from the city

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margarita_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed here to try the less centralized Haitang Bay area on a 1400 rmb + tax rate that included two breakfasts and was pleasantly surprised. While getting to the resort from the airport took a bit of negotiations (well, local transportation in Sanya is rather shady in general) the resort outperformed its price relative to the other hotels. At +/- 1 year old, the Chinese and International cuisine restaurants were grand and the service was acceptable (on the slower side), to be sure, there are no alternatives nearby other than the three restaurants on property. If your check-in / check-out coincides with tour groups or office parties, then prepare to be annoyed at the mismanaged front desk/concierge services; also be prepared for rejection when requesting a late check-out. The property itself has a grand feeling to it and the corner studio suite (MR Gold) upgrade given was excellent. The AC performed beautifully, the large balcony had enough space to stretch out in, and the ocean/pools area view was beautiful - day and night (typically strict ocean views will net nothing to look at once the sun goes down), and the bed/bedding was comfortable (as opposed to being semi-wet from the humidity or bug infested). Our stay coincided with a large office function, which included some fireworks and outdoor music at night. While it is impossible to predict when annoying loud speaking guests may occupy the beach at the same time as you, the beach itself is pristine and the sand cohesive. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rm_1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

grrrreat hotel, they have thought of everything! kids club is amazing, food is fantastic! the best part of the location of this property is the beach - it is the nicest as it is not in the main harbor and is clean, peaceful and beautiful waters.....
perfect for families- something for everyone- kids club and activities, spa, a golf club close by...
will definitely be back with friends and family!!!! great place to rest, recharge and sooooooo close to hong kong!

RR- from hong kong

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
Thank masala n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Haitang Bay
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Sanya Haitang Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa

Address: No.1 Yezhou Road, Haitang Bay, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#5 Family Hotel in Sanya
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#8 Business Hotel in Sanya
#11 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
#12 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: $75 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa, a Marriott lifestyle brand. Explore the spectacular tropical landscaping and pristine beaches with incredible sunsets. Relax and rejuvenate at our exquisite resort & spa located at Haitang Bay on the South China Sea, where Guest rooms offer a choice of breathtaking ocean or equally stunning mountain views. Enjoy the various culinary delights within the resort. Red Star offers international cuisine and evening seafood & BBQ Buffet, where during the winter, the hot pot selection is also available. Star Anise offers Cantonese cuisine complimented by selection of cuisines from various parts of China. While Starfish Market presents Grill & BBQ selection during the weekend & public holidays. For those seeking a venue to chill out before & after dinner. Visit the Lounge at the Lobby with Live music daily from 2130 (Except Sunday) or share your musical talent at R-Place, our sports bar with Karaoke rooms. To rejuvenate your body and spirit, visit our Quan Spa featuring massages and treatments. Other amenities include the fitness centre, kids' pool with slide, R-kids' club with many recreational activities including bowling alleys. Not forgetting our huge swimming pools, where you can always find a quiet spot to relax. Our event facilities feature an exquisite grand ballroom that accommodates 900+ dinner guests and the lawn for 300+ dinner guests. Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa has the advantage of accessible beach to swim in Haitang Bay. It is only 15 minutes drive to the World's largest duty free mall at the bay by our complimentary shuttle bus and 45 minutes drive directly to the airport. MARRIOTT REWARDS PRIVILEGES Members get extensive discounts & special prices in the restaurants & bars, recreation and spa including all day happy hour drinks in the Lounge & Starfish Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Sanya Resort And Spa
Renaissance Sanya Hotel Sanya
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing