We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good new destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 1,338 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good new destination”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Good hotel if it is not too full. Kids club is very nice and the staff is fantastic and takes good care of kids. Beach is also very nice and the swimming pool is huge and very well designed. The day beds are very relaxing, but if hotel is full i imagined very hard to get.
The hotel, which is very big seems to have mostly weekend guests and a lot of tour groups. Hope they invest in maintenance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aumbricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    164
    56
    17
    11
See reviews for
207
103
29
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

hubby took me to sanya after my law exams to help me relax a little. i was yelling complaining about all the traveling arrangement on the way. after we arrived, it was pretty late, we ordered room service, i was so amazed with their thoughtful services. this resort is expectional. my hubby and I had been to many resort islands, and this one is the best of all. the staff are so helpful and well trained. we completely forgotten we were in china. We couldnt believe the best standard services would be found in china.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We have stayed in this new hotel (around 8 months old) for a few nights for holiday. This hotel is located at South-Eastern side of the island and need to take 1 hour's drive from Airport. That is why the private beach is not so crowded, just right for nice and peaceful break from daily busy working lifestyles. The hotel provides daily shuttle buses at different time intervals to airports and main shopping area. So you can do your shopping and take the bus back matching with the timetable.
We stayed in ground floor and our balcony is right in front of the swimming corridor where you can jump straight into the pool and swim. This is very convenient and unique experience especially at night if you want to take a short night swim. The design is similar to Laguna Sheraton Phuket but this small pool is not accessible to the main swimming pool which you still need to take a short walking path. Next to the kids swimming pool is a small artificial sandy area for the kids to play and a water slide as well. So the children will have great time here since they also provide kids club in this resort.
Everything is perfect including the breakfast which consists of great variety of fresh eastern and western foods. The only disturbing thing is the flies which fly everywhere in the cafe and so you need to cover up your food if you leave your tables and you need to wave away the flies while eating your meals. I think the hotel really needs to find a way to keep away the flies which are common in such tropical climate.
The hotel staff is very polite and and attentive. They arrive within 5 minutes after you call up for amenities in your room. The hotel is very big and Block A is more convenient as it is closer to the lobby and the dining restaurants and to get to Block B you need to change lifts in level 3. The room is really spacious and well-decorated and still look very new. All the upper sea-facing rooms have great wonderful views which you see the beautiful sunrise from your balcony. Would recommend anyone for a relaxing and nice holiday in this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goforholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My hubby joined me after my business meeting in Sanya, we decided to try out this relatively new resort at a pretty reasonable price. The view of the room was 180 degree seaview, the bed was very comfortable. The night swim in the sparkling pool was lovely too. We particularly enjoyed our late breakfast which was on till 11am, just so nice being lazy and relaxed. The private beach was also very nice compared to a few other hotels in Sanya. Despite the location being a bit far from town, we did hire a car to go around to see a few interesting places in Sanya including the NanShan Temple, the overall experience was great.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We just came back from Sanya and I really have to say thank you to all the people made our stay enjoyable (even with bad weather in Sanya). From GM, Sean, to Food&Bev Director,Raj, they have all been very kind to us, and we really never felt left aside compared to the hundreds of Chinese that were hosting the hotel during National Holidays. The facilities and the room are new and well mantained, as well as the common areas. The pool is impressive and you always find a spot to relax. The food is nice even though they probably need to improve the dinner service (which at 20.00 pm seams to be over even if it is not).The only thing that really disappointed us was that we had to pay for the tennis courts and the internet connection (which it never happend to us in luxury hotels). For the rest, the people and the different facilities (such as the r Cade or the Gym), made our stay in Sanya lovely even under the typhoon!

Room Tip: Choose high floor if possible, as the lower ground floor have lot of humidity
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank littlesecret2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Yerevan, Armenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I don't know what you have to do to find anything less than "perfect" at Reneissance Sanya. No, really, I've read "disappointed" comments, but hey, you just can't deny 1) Incredible friendliness of General Manager (Sean THANK YOU!) and his adorable family, 2) Great team of true professionals (Erica, Sudeep and every one out there - THANK YOU!) 3) Fantastic views and incredible atmosphere of the hotel itself, created with amazing attention to details.
No, really, I honestly can't understand any comment, that doesn't go like this - "WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW!!!".
So yes, this hotel is VERY recommended :)
Karen.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KarenSarkisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We have stayed at many places in Asia and this is clearly one the best resorts in Asia. The resort facility in brand new and very impressive. We have 5 kids and they loved it. The staff was very friendly and the service excellent. The General Manager is impressive and frequently went the extra mile to ensure all was ok. He proactively said hello to our family and remembered their names during the entire week we stayed at the resort. There is so much to do here at the resort for the entire family. The pool is just amazing and the beach is great. We loved our stay here and want to come back. We highly recommend it. A fabulous resort.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nosibor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,338 in Sanya
941 reviews
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Herton Seaview Hotel
#170 of 1,338 in Sanya
96 reviews
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Club Med Sanya
#1 of 1,338 in Sanya
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa
Address: No.1 Yezhou Road, Haitang Bay, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#5 Family Hotel in Sanya
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#8 Business Hotel in Sanya
#14 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#18 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa, a Marriott lifestyle brand. Explore the spectacular tropical landscaping and pristine beaches with incredible sunsets. Relax and rejuvenate at our exquisite resort & spa located at Haitang Bay on the South China Sea, where Guest rooms offer a choice of breathtaking ocean or equally stunning mountain views. Enjoy the various culinary delights within the resort. Red Star offers international cuisine and evening seafood & BBQ Buffet, where during the winter, the hot pot selection is also available. Star Anise offers Cantonese cuisine complimented by selection of cuisines from various parts of China. While Starfish Market presents Grill & BBQ selection during the weekend & public holidays. For those seeking a venue to chill out before & after dinner. Visit the Lounge at the Lobby with Live music daily from 2130 (Except Sunday) or share your musical talent at R-Place, our sports bar with Karaoke rooms. To rejuvenate your body and spirit, visit our Quan Spa featuring massages and treatments. Other amenities include the fitness centre, kids' pool with slide, R-kids' club with many recreational activities including bowling alleys. Not forgetting our huge swimming pools, where you can always find a quiet spot to relax. Our event facilities feature an exquisite grand ballroom that accommodates 900+ dinner guests and the lawn for 300+ dinner guests. Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa has the advantage of accessible beach to swim in Haitang Bay. It is only 15 minutes drive to the World's largest duty free mall at the bay by our complimentary shuttle bus and 45 minutes drive directly to the airport. MARRIOTT REWARDS PRIVILEGES Members get extensive discounts & special prices in the restaurants & bars, recreation and spa including all day happy hour drinks in the Lounge & Starfish Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Sanya Resort And Spa
Renaissance Sanya Hotel Sanya
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing