We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Resort with Unbeatable Infrastructure!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 1,350 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Just got back from a 3 day vacation with a large family (4 Adults; 2 Teenagers; 1 Child; 1 Infant) and all of us were unanimous that the resort is "Wow"!!!
Infact, the first thing that strikes you as you enter the resort is the luxury; the newness of the facilities; the large rooms; the clean beach AND ofcourse the never ending pool (it goes on & on & on ....). So let me put down the Pros & the Cons.

Pro's:
* Unbeatable Pools with jacuzzis/artificial beaches/children slides/pool bar/private corners/lounging courners. It took us 3 days & 6 visits to the pool to cover the entire length & breadth of the pools. The best part being the night lights that make the pools look magical in the evenings
* Beautiful private beach - With beach loungers/ beach volleyball/ games. All maintained brilliantly
* Humungous breakfast spread - comprising of western breakfast; chinese delicacies; noodle station; amazing array of breads/fruits/juices
* Star Fish Restaurant - Only for dinners BUT the seafood spead is brilliant especially the Seafood platters with lobsters/alaskan crab legs/tiger prawns/oysters. Go for the Haitang Seafood platter
* Arcade : With 2 teenagers & a 6 year old child, the Arcade was the perfect place to get away from the sun. With bowling lanes/pool tables/video gaming stations/table tennis, it is the perfect place to recoup before the next pool dip
* Luxurious rooms - with soft beds; great amentiies; large balcony with couches & magical room views

Cons :
* Far away from the city and so you should choose this resort if you plan to stay in resort all day (like we did). Forget the Sanya city experience and enjoy the resort
* No supporting infrastructure nearby outside the resort - the entire area is being developed and so there are no restaurants/shops/anyting nearby. So you are forced to dine in-house only. Personally, I like to have a few shops around my resort so that I can pick cheap beers/water/fruits etc
* Limited dining options outside of breakfast & the seafood restaurant - we struggled to order food from the In-house menu or the regular restaurant which has minimal food options
* High charges for everything - as mentioned before, the resort has many activiteswith super infrastructure. But they charge you for all of this including (i) cycle rides (ii) arcade games (iii) hotel activites.... the positive aspect os this is that you have everything in top conditions but nonetheless at pricey costs
* Language constraints - like anywhere in China, it is difficul tto commnucate to hotel staff as english is minimally used . However, they have a sprinkling of foriegn staff - Australian GM (Sean)/ Malasian Head Chef/Indian F&B manager, who are trying their best to make foreign guests feel comfortable.

In summary, the resort is highly recommended. Thanks Sean for maintaining a high class resort. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RakeshShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 601 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

I have to confess, this is not my normal practice to post a review on a hotel but let me make an exception on an exceptional hotel. First, my wife and I were looking for a tropical getaway around Asia and China was one place not known for that. Then with a little research and help from friends within the hospitality industry we discovery Sanya. We have our doubt since we travel all over china. Service and English would be an issue when you travel around china. So we didn’t expect much. From the first phone call to setup a pickup from the airport to the hotel, I was surprise the staff spoke English. Then all detail was confirmed over the phone a day before our trip and again the staff spoke English. We were picked up by a driver with limited English which is understandable. We checked into the hotel and the front desk staff was very friendly and provided us with welcome drinks and cold towels. The room was very comfortable, but we had a minor issues with the thermometer which won’t go under 26 degrees. We spoke to the front desk and they offer us a room next door for the night since we already unpacked in the current room. The next day, after a day in the sun we still have the same problem in the room so they offer us an upgrade and ensure the room didn’t have the same problem. The hotel manager on duty was Molly and she was very helpful being her second week on the job at this hotel. Our meal at Star Fish Market was one of the best sea food dinners we ever had in Asia let alone China. Sudeep the manager at the restaurant was well spoken and very knowledgeable about his dinner menu. He offer suggestion and even helped us with a wine paring to our meal. The next day during my morning shower I realize the room was without hot water. I called again and staff was very professional and got the issue resolved before my wife even gotten out of bed. The hotel manager Molly was very professional and helpful in resolving the matters. We got up had breakfast and without my knowledge the room was already cleaned and the mess in the bathroom was gone. We were gone for maybe an hour and the bathroom floor was all cleaned up after the shower and tub was fixed. During the next day we met the general manager Sean Baskett at the pool during his rounds and I congratulate him on a job well done. His staffs are well trained and being open for three month he had done an exceptional job. We told him all the stories and minor issues we had at the hotel and he was really interested in knowing the good and the bad. Being the first hotel in Haitang Bay, they had set the bar pretty high. This last part was something we never experience at any other hotel. During my first phone call I had given them my returning flight number, all information was recorded under my reservation and I got a surprise phone call from a hotel staff reminding us we have a flight to catch and a car is ready for us in the hotel lobby. This was a real surprise because we never had a reminder phone call about our flight home at any hotel from New York, Vegas, different part of china, Thailand, Singapore or any other part of the world. WELL just to sum it all up this was an unforgettable trip with exceptional service that china is capable of. With proper management and the right training with empowerment to the staff i think most other hotel can accomplished the same goal which is excellent customer service.

Oh yea i almost forgotten, the pool is one of the biggest we seen from our travel around Asia, so if you are looking for a quick getaway in Asia or China, Sanya Renaissance will not be a disappointment coming from an well traveled couple.

Room Tip: Sign up for the rewards program and WIFI is free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Macau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

In a place where there is nothing much besides Beaches, it is very critical to chose the right Hotel. And Sanya Renaissance Resort and Spa was just that.
It's an awesome hotel and a perfect getaway from Hong Kong.

We visited in June and we found the hotel to be just perfect in every way. Beautiful and comfortable rooms, gorgeous restaurants. Great food. The Spa was stunning. The pool is to die for.....A great kids play area.

The restaurant staff was very friendly. Specially the Fish Market and the Fish Bar where the food and service was the friendliest ever. We had the most amazing Seafood Platter there. A must try if you happen to visit.

All in all we definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooHK1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The resort is huge! I loved the supersize swimming pool, as well as the poolside bar, where we sipped a cocktail in the pool. I also liked so much about the star-like lighting of the pool, so romantic.

The beach was great as well, feel so private & clean. I liked those beds and chairs that allow guests to relax and sunbath under the wonderful weather.

Another favourite spot at the hotel was Starfish Market. The barbecued dinner was simply delicious! Fresh seafood, exotic cooking style, and with the live band show - all create a great ambiance for an unforgettable night.

The room was beach view so I loved it so much! And it had a small balcony where I watched the stars at night :) The room was equipped with most of the things I need, so thoughtful.

Last but not least was of course the hearty services of each of the staff. They were happy to answer my inquiries whenever necessary. And they always wore a smile on their faces. How could I not love it there?

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cecilizationism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

hotel outlook is great, but interier design is totally chinese style, marble everywhere but no taste.
room is big, ocean view is great , bathroom is nice too. but the design of room is really no taste.
the food in the red resturant and chinese rest is quite pricey and food is so so, but free breakfast buffet is ok.
the food in seafood resturant is the best among three resturants. and the price is acceptable. remember to try the lobster and the bread (bread is free, but you need to ask as not shown on menu), it is the best bread i've ever eat.

the hotel location is quite far away, need rmb200 to downtown or everywhere by hotel car.

the swimming pool is very big and you can used it like in private as seem no people staying in the hotel :-)

the spa centre is extremely expensive, rmb480 for a foot massage in China??? rmb1680 for a 2hours spa treatment??? unbelievable! i rather do that in HK Mandarin hotel :-)

overall... the sevice is quite nice, but i wont try this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We went there for leisure and this resort make this works!

Since it is grand new and the package is very competitive for us to stay 3d2n here. It is located in HaiTangWan which takes almost an hour drive from the airport to the resort.

The worst experience is getting the taxi from the airport to the resort, we have agreed with the taxi driver to pay RMB200 (which i saw from the hotel site this is a fair deal) but he then try to bargain to RMB 250 ON THE WAY to the hotel. he said the location is not at Haitangwan but at Tufuwan, and he even called to the hotel and said the hotel ppl said it is at Tufuwan. actually we have gave him the actual address before we get on the taxi and i dont care whether it is HaiTangWan or Tufuwan. Most probably this is the tricks they always do. So there is a tips for you, NEVER pay more than RMB 200 to get to the hotel. Start from RMB 150 (which is the normal price for taxi to go there) and make the ceiling to RMB 200. Since you can get a better car from the hotel to go to the airport in RMB200.

The resort has the biggest swimming pool in Asia, which is really cool. since still not much travellers get to this resort yet we enjoy the swimming like a private pool. Even the beach is not much ppl too, it likes your private beach!

We like the food in the chinese restaurant than the seafood one, but the mood in the seafood rest. is good. Originally i wanna try the lunch buffet at the western rest next to the Chinese rest but after seeing the food i thnk the price (RMB 2xx) doesnt worth.

If you have booked the ocean view room, try to ask for the 8th floor at Tower B or C, then you can have a more centralize view of the ocean.

However, i think the maintanence must be keep alert, some of the walls already become dirty for only opened for 2 months.

My advice is, if you just want to have a relax trip and dont mind just stayed in the hotel, then go to this resort before it becomes too crowed.

Room Tip: 8th floor of Tower B/C for Ocean View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oiafong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We spent five nights here as part of a three-week holiday in China. It was a real highlight of the trip. Everything about the hotel is grand, with a lagoon pool so large that it took 20 minutes to do a ‘lap’ of the various interconnected sections.
The resort is brand-new and the pools and gardens are really impressive, especially at night when everything is lit up. We had a great view over the entire pool area from our room’s balcony.
A highlight for us was the pool bar, where you can sit at a table in the pool looking towards the ocean. The resort is right on the beachfront, with its own private beach, but we only dipped our feet in the ocean once as the pool was so inviting. Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was quite possibly the best buffet breakfast ever. The chocolate croissants… OMG. Another favourite (not for breakfast!) was the ‘Haitang iced tea’ – a twist on the Long Island version with fresh coconut juice. There are several restaurants to choose from: we particularly liked the Chinese restaurant, Star Anise. Ate jellyfish for the first time and I’m now a fan!
Staff were always friendly and made us feel special – from a ‘lei ‘and welcome drink on arrival to remembering our names at the pool bar. We’re definitely planning to come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeorgeAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haitang Bay
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Sanya Haitang Bay
Yalong Bay
Sanya Marriott Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa

Address: No.1 Yezhou Road, Haitang Bay, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#5 Family Hotel in Sanya
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#8 Business Hotel in Sanya
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: $86 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa, a Marriott lifestyle brand. Explore the spectacular tropical landscaping and pristine beaches with incredible sunsets. Relax and rejuvenate at our exquisite resort & spa located at Haitang Bay on the South China Sea, where Guest rooms offer a choice of breathtaking ocean or equally stunning mountain views. Enjoy the various culinary delights within the resort. Red Star offers international cuisine and evening seafood & BBQ Buffet, where during the winter, the hot pot selection is also available. Star Anise offers Cantonese cuisine complimented by selection of cuisines from various parts of China. While Starfish Market presents Grill & BBQ selection during the weekend & public holidays. For those seeking a venue to chill out before & after dinner. Visit the Lounge at the Lobby with Live music daily from 2130 (Except Sunday) or share your musical talent at R-Place, our sports bar with Karaoke rooms. To rejuvenate your body and spirit, visit our Quan Spa featuring massages and treatments. Other amenities include the fitness centre, kids' pool with slide, R-kids' club with many recreational activities including bowling alleys. Not forgetting our huge swimming pools, where you can always find a quiet spot to relax. Our event facilities feature an exquisite grand ballroom that accommodates 900+ dinner guests and the lawn for 300+ dinner guests. Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa has the advantage of accessible beach to swim in Haitang Bay. It is only 15 minutes drive to the World's largest duty free mall at the bay by our complimentary shuttle bus and 45 minutes drive directly to the airport. MARRIOTT REWARDS PRIVILEGES Members get extensive discounts & special prices in the restaurants & bars, recreation and spa including all day happy hour drinks in the Lounge & Starfish Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Sanya Hotel Sanya
Renaissance Sanya Resort And Spa
Renaissance Sanya Resort & Spa Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing