We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best resort experience ever ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay
Ranked #30 of 1,350 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I travelled to Conrad Sanya with my daughters (18 and 23 yo) for an 8 night stay the last week in August 2013. Everything about this hotel exceeded our expectations and, as a HH Diamond member and a seasoned traveller with an eye for perfection, this feat seldom happens. Starting with a ride in a golden Bentley, fantastic villas - note you need a 2 bed version to have a separate lounge and pool large enough to truly swim in although we never used it as we preferred the communal pool - unbelievably elegant buildings and grounds, excellent restaurants (wine is limited but cheap, except Champagne, which is very expensive), pool, beach, sea and views. The Conrad is very quiet and 95% of clients are very wealthy Chinese from the mainland; it's not a place for families or those worried about spending a lot of money although the Double Tree next door is on tap if you feel like a change of scenery - we only ventured there for dinner. It's also isolated; it's a resort hotel for those who want to escape and just relax. Without exception we loved the staff, especially Jamel - it's China and some speak no English, like we speak no Chinese but it only added to the holiday experience. The GM, Markus, was amazing and he did everything possible to make our stay perfect. Other highlights include free high tea, evening cocktails, minibar and in-room movies. Finally, the weather was fantastic, like the Carribean! I will be going back the next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: The Oceanview villas are the best - I could see the sea from my bed. Note that single villas are lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear valued guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It’s my pleasure to learn that your daughters and you enjoyed the stay at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay. And I surely look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort in the near future!

Best regards
Markus Kosch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 244 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

This time I chose this Conrad hotel because I used to visit Conrad Seoul once, that was a nice time. So I had a high expectation on this hotel too, the fact shows it did not let me down. I have to mention their looby, that was kind of arrival experience you won't get it anywhere else. Can you imagine from the moment I step out the car, stunning ocean view is just over there like suddenly jumped into your sight? It just looks wonderful. Front desk staff was very friendly, I could choose my favorite Shanghai Tang from 3 bathroom amenities. I do like the smell and the concept of this brand, it makes my stay even more enjoyable. As a villa guest, afternoon tea and evening cocktail were offered at lobby bar which is good though I do think they could do something to make the dessert more tasty. During the stay I visit a couples of attraction in Sanya and my friends enjoyed the SPA very much. Generally staff were very friendly, they show the smile all the time and try to help though sometime you might need repeat yourself. Overall my girlfriend and I spent a good time there and we'll definitely recommend to other friends.

Room Tip: Beach Pool Villa has wonderful oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DongJae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear valued guest

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experiences on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you and your friend had a great time in Sanya.
Meanwhile, I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future!

Best regards
Markus Kosch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Second time to stay, I do like the villa here. This is a very peaceful land to stay, with absolute privacy and thoughtful service. We could checkin and checkout in our villa to avoid waiting at front desk. You won't see a lot of kids running around and screaming in public areas like other hotels do. Probably because they all stay in their own villa. Not many restaurants to choose but high quality of food can be expected, strong recommend Chinese restaurant la chine. Overall it was a nice retreat for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greenlight2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear valued guest

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experiences on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you had a great time at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay.

I will definitely share your good comments with my team, which will encourage us to continuously deliver our Conrad service of the highest quality.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future!

Best regards
Markus Kosch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is a bit far from the city center (30 min) but is worth its trip. The decor reminds you of Versailles in a Neo-classic style with beatiful gardens. We loved our villa, with a very big private pool and full privacy. We booked an Ocean view villa, without much of a view, but the front desk then changed our room so we could see the ocean. The villa is very clean and the room attendants are also very friendly. The hotel offers a large variety of restaurants and must try the "Paella" at Senses. Breakfast buffett is abundant and of good quality and service is very pleasant. Next door is the DoubleTree and you can also anjoy their facilties and restaurants too, but more crowded. The waves of the sea can be quite big and must be careful. The beach though is very clean and my husband and me loved taking sun set walks. Staff level of English could be better, but at least they try hard to please the guest. We requested for late check out which was granted. Indeed will come back!

Room Tip: Villa with views to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaudiaJ620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus K, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear valued guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to learn that you had a great getaway here at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay.

Distinguished by its contemporary architecture styled on the French Riviera, this Conrad hotel has the 101 luxurious villas and rooms overlooking the blue ocean, lagoons or gardens. Each villa boasts a private pool, sun lounger, cabana, and is circled by vibrant foliage for complete privacy. With additionally access to two large outdoor pools, one located right on the beach, you’re invited to discover the luxury of being yourself.

Thanks again for your stay and we looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Best regards
Markus Kosch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have to say that my stay in this Hotel was quite a delusion: despite it offers also some very nice pros, the cons are really more and they risk to ruin your Holydays if you want to take care of them.

PROS
- The rooms/Villas (mine was a Garden View Villa with Private Pool) are really nice and quite big and they have really a good privacy
- The food in the Conrad restaurants is very good and the Chinese restaurant was one of the best I tried in my trip in Asia
- The stuff is really nice and everyone has a big smile and always want to try to help you (unfortunately you will read about the stuff also later..)
- The cocktail and the tea offered for the guest of the Villas are really nice and also the breakfast, so you can skip the lunch with no problem if you want
- Free minibar in the Villas is also a nice plus

CONS
- The biggest problem here is that also if the staff is really nice, a lot of times they have no idea of what to do and how to do it and you can see that there isn’t a good management here unfortunately
- The service is also very approssimative and sometime can be really irritating and some examples are: the only sunny day our pool was really dirty and so before breakfast we asked for a cleaning of the pool..to have it we needed more than 5 hours, 4 calls and we also had to go 3 times at the concierge before having it..clean the pool was just a 5 min work so you can imagine I mad I was..This is really a shame because during the day you can see a LOT of workers working on the ‘’pubblic’’ pool but believe me NOBODY use them, I never saw one guest in the ‘’relax’’ pool, but at least 3 people working and cleaning it all the time and this is a big waste of human resources from the management. Other problems were like the fresh fruit (that they should change every 2 days) never changed in 5 days, 2 times they forgot to refill the minibar and when I asked they came with hot bier and Coca-Cola, glasses left in the pool area, etc etc etc
- The cleaning of the room is also not the best since they forget a lot of times to do their job in the right way
- The food in the near Hilton is quite bad and really expensive and with a lot of problems like they had no more house wine (really??) and no bottle of sparkling water
- There are a lot of construction going on around, so in the morning they can really disturb you
- If you don’t speak Chinese (thanks God my girlfriend does) you can have really a lot of problems in communication
- The beach area is quite ‘’empty’’ and not nice at all
- You can see quite many dirty and broken spots in the Hotel and there is no attention for the little details
- Dinner time is really early and after dinner there is absolutely nothing to do since the bar is not that attractive for evening drinks
- They don’t give you a Conrad Bear (this is a joke but….why not??)

So to conclude it is really a pity that this Hotel has so many problems because with a better management it could be really a gem, but like this is just a waste and is not at a ‘’Conrad level’’ at all.
If you want a relaxing hotel with a 100% attention to the detail, don’t go there because you will have to fight all the time to have the level of service you want: the service here is only 3-4 Stars (but the price is for sure 5 Stars).

In Asia for this kind of money you can find way better options for a relaxing and luxury Holydays.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinnadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wang a, General Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear valued guest

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experiences on your stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting you and your girlfriend at the hotel, though I am sorry to hear that your time in Conrad Sanya Haitang was not as perfect as expected.

Meanwhile, we highly appreciate your specific comments on what you liked and disliked during your stay. I have shared these with our team on all the details to ensure improvements. Your valued feedback will certainly assist us in improving in areas that you felt we fell short of your expectations, while the positive comments you made on the food, facilities and some of staff are always motivating.

More training will be conducted in the future to ensure that our guests will received more efficient services and responses. With regards to the issue at next door DoubleTree, I do understand that sometimes pricing might be considered as expensive as it changes from location to location, I would like to ensure you that our prices are in line with the charges of hotels within the same category in Sanya.

Meanwhile, instead of Conrad Bear, we’ve launched a new give-away item Conrad Dolphin especially for all children upon check-in.

Thank you again for your comments, as it is only through feedback like this that we are able to continually monitor and improve both our products and quality of services.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Best regards

Markus Kosch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My time at the Conrad Sanya was absolutely incredible. The beautiful villas and pools are truly luxurious. The service is fantastic. The staff is so friendly and very polite. They are so eager to help and you can tell they really want to make your experience the best it can be. The food is great - there is a wide variety, so there is definitely something for everyone. The layout is extremely convenient, especially as it is so close to the Double Tree and you have access to the facilities there as well. What impressed me most was their attention to detail, which goes a long way and is hard to find. It is perfectly relaxing and definitely memorable - I cannot recommend this resort enough!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank misspschorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wang a, Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear valued guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that you had a great getaway here at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay.

Distinguished by its contemporary architecture styled on the French Riviera, this Conrad hotel has the 101 luxurious villas and rooms overlooking the blue ocean, lagoons or gardens. Each villa boasts a private pool, sun lounger, cabana, and is circled by vibrant foliage for complete privacy. With additionally access to two large outdoor pools, one located right on the beach, you’re invited to discover the luxury of being yourself.

Thanks again for your stay and we looking forward to welcoming you again in this stunning beachfront resort!

Best regards
Emily Wang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent 2 nights here for the long weekend - can't rave enough about the experience. The service here was EXCELLENT - with special mention to Jamel, Yamir and Frank. They made us extremely welcomed and arranged dinners and car service that exceeded expectations.

Pro
- Villas - Big, clean, luxurious. What you see in pics is what you get. No issues with light whatsoever (Villa 8676)
- Wifi - available throughout the villa and the main lobby area. Good connection - no complaints
- Breakfast - average amount of choices available for the buffet but loved the fact that there was also an a la carte menu that is included for the breakfast (includes sirloin). Eat large portions and you don't need to spend anything for lunch
- Privacy - new development area so not too many visitors. Feel more like a boutique hotel than something overly commercial
- Grounds - went to both Mandarin and Ritz for a wander - and honestly felt that Conrad was a better choice. Pool size is limited though but the beach made up for it. If you have a villa with private pool - forget about the main pool
- Access to Hilton Double Tree next door - which gives you more options in terms of facilities and restaurants

Improvements
- Mandarin is pretty much a must. English is somewhat lacking overall - with the exception of the abovementioned staff. If you can't speak mandarin - I recommend you use google translate and show them the Chinese results (otherwise you won't get far on your requests)
- Aroma for the evening - service ended at 10pm. Maybe that's a little early....
- Location - this hotel is pretty far from everything else. If you intend to go out and visit other parts of the island - it will take over 35 min by car.

Conclusion - will come back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Go for the villa - good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank talk_to_Lawza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wang a, Public Relations Manager at Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear valued guest

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on your recent stay with us. We are happy to read that overall you have a pleasant holiday here. For bathroom’s glass wall, we do have electronic curtains available, you may scroll it down whenever there is a need.
Meantime, thank you very much for pointing out the things that we should improve. We highly appreciate your comments as it is only through feedback like this that we are able to continually monitor and improve our products and quality of services.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future!

Best Regards

Emily Wang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banyan Tree Sanya
#10 of 1,350 in Sanya
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay

Address: North Haitang Road, Haitang Bay Resort, Sanya 572000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya > Haitang Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sanya
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sanya
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#28 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#54 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: $174 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished by its contemporary architecture styled on the French Riviera, Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay features 92 luxurious villas and rooms overlooking the blue ocean, set in a secluded haven, surrounded by tropical gardens. Upon check-in guests are ensured of an unforgettable arrival experience with unbeatable tropical views. Our friendly Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay Team provides each guest with dedicated professional and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay Hotel Sanya
Conrad Sanya Haitang Bay Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing