We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pearl in the Accoor chain!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Oceanview Sanya Bay Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 1,373 Hotels in Sanya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonM550
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 660 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

We will go every year for holiday to Sanya Bay. For me, Yalong Bay is too far from the city. We stayed before in Hanada (former Kempinsky) and InterContinental. But this Pullman resort is far out the best we visit in Hainan. The rooms are excellent, the food is perfect (try the Chinese restaurant One, 3*** Michelin rating), the beach is nice and clean and the swimming pools are good for everybody and also for children. The comments that the waiters are not speaking English is nonsense. For this reason you better can stay in your homecountry! Comparing to the price you pay for everything makes this hotel to a 5*****+ and a big compliment for manager and staff! Well done. Ron Mulder

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank R0nM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

the hotel is a little bit under my expectation. But it is still fine. If there is some more extra restuarants for choices that will be perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michellelam1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The three of us came to Sanya from Russia. There was problem in communication with the staff at the reception desk - they speak English fast and almost incomprehensible. Our tour guide (Chinese guy who had met us in the airport) did the check-in for us.
We got a standard quasi-seaview room level with lobby floor instead of superior seaview that was specified in our hotel voucher. Also there were only enough space in the room for two beds (although we'd booked double room with extra bed). We didn't complain as we were exhausted after two flights (13 hours altogether), but I think the staff and the management should be more careful on such things.
The room was not brand-new but stylish. Pros: available in the room for free are umbrella, railing for drying clothes, iron, ironing board, electric kettle, tea- and coffee-bags, also panel with ethernet, HDMI, S-video, RCA sockets. Big LCD TV.
Cons: problem with sewer in the shower booth (water would accumulate and brim over). Reported this to the staff - but no one seem to do anything about this. Room cleaning is unthorough - dust under beds and cupboard. As the three of us were staying at double room with no extra bed (see above), we had to ask, or rather mime, for extra towel and bathrobe every time they were being changed by room attendants.
Amenities: lots of planting (trees, shrubs), good pond with turtles and fishes, three or four swimming pools. We liked the hammocks.
The beach: as I understood all beaches in Sanya are municipal, so anyone can use it. But what I hated about Pullman beach was some sort of gipsy women who would sit on the sand in groups, occasionally trying to sell you fake coral and pearl beads Also I saw them urinate explicitly in the showers which are intended to wash after bathing in the sea. The beach-keepers who were supposed to look after the beach were ignoring them.
The food (we had breakfasts only) was OK. The standard of hygiene in the kitchens was high - we had no intestinal disorders.
What really annoyed us for the last week of our stay were helicopters flying all day over the hotel and the beach. Suppose it was sort of lifeguard drill.
When checking out - make sure you get back the 200 USD deposit that is taken from you at check-in. We had to remind the staff about the money after they took the voucher from us.
On the whole Pullman is OK, and the problems we had could have been solved if we could speak good English, but we couldn't. So next time we shall go to the hotel with russian-speaking staff.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors to have "the real ocean view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The location is good. Room rate is excellent. However, the check in staffs have serious problems. It might be because I have booked the lowest possible rate that they do not value my business. The General manager did help to solve the problem, but it definitely leave a bad taste in the mouth.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chantaimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The hotel grounds and facility is very nice with every room having an oceanview. Breakfast buffet was convenient and food quality was ok.

With that, the service level at this hotel is not very good. They do try hard but the amount of people servicing the number of guests at the hotel cannot cope with the people traffic. Eventhough we are fluent Mandarin speakers, communication with the staff was challenging. They just could not understand what service means altogether.

The exclusivity of the beach was lost as there are outside vendors loitering, selling pearls, and harrassing you to make a purchase. Also, on the beach, there are ATV four-wheelers at high speeds going back and forth making noise, kicking up sand, and their owners trying to rent them to you by the hour. Imagine trying to relax in the middle of the highway or build a sandcastle with your kids in the middle of the busiest boulevard in your city.

Transportation while staying there is very difficult. Taxi's are very difficult to get. The hotel sends you down to the main road by golf cart to catch your own taxi. On day 2, they recommended a hotel car (which is not really a hotel car) to drive you around. It was a better experience but these cars are so busy that once they get you in the car, they race you to your destination so that they can go back to the hotel and get the next fare.

Lastly, the number of guests coming through the hotel is tremendous. Tour groups from all parts of China come through and that volume is detrimental to the experience of such a nice facility.

Overall, I will NOT come back to this hotel as its not a place where you can relax. Its a nice cheap hotel with great views but not worth sacrificing a week of relaxation to deal with poor service, dangerous beach front, and heavy foot traffic.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had communication problem. Staffs understand little to no English. In lobby there are only 4 reception desk. 2 of them devoted for exacutives, which had almost nothing to do and 2 other were alway crowded by check in and check out. Restuarants, were not good and in my oppinion prices wre over five stars restaurant.By check out they told us that we have broken a lamp. I did not accep, becuase we did not brake any thing. After checking carefully I noticed broken part was hidden and it is impossible to brake that particular pat without damaging out side cover. But out side was not damaged. The behaivor of duty manager was very unpollite (not expected from so called 5 star hotel manager). From structure of lamp was cleare that some one broke it during the maintenance (or repaire), which requiers to disassemble the cover of lamp. This prosidures took so long time that if I had continued 15 minutes more we had missed the flight. This is exactly what they planed to oppress the guste. At the end they harhed us 1200 RMB. From reaction of manager and his minningfull smile I noticed; this could be planned and a trap that many gustes might fall in it. Be carefull if you go to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Amir411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Yalong Bay
The Ritz-Carlton Sanya, Yalong Bay
The Sanya EDITION
#1 of 1,373 in Sanya
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yalong Bay
Hilton Sanya Yalong Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Oceanview Sanya Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Oceanview Sanya Bay Resort & Spa

Address: No.158 Sanya Wan Road, Sanya 572000, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sanya
#4 Spa Hotel in Sanya
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#11 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range: $101 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pullman Oceanview Sanya Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Oceanview Sanya Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Oceanview Sanya Bay Resort And Spa
Pullman Oceanview Sanya Bay Hotel Sanya
Pullman Oceanview Sanya Bay Resort & Spa Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing