We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“物有所值” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serenity Coast Resort Sanya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serenity Coast Resort Sanya
Ranked #57 of 1,326 Hotels in Sanya
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“物有所值”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

service is good, place is clean, near a beach is good, restuarant is a bit noisy during breakfast time.... too many children when i was there.
athough a bit far away from town centre...
one bad thing is too many insect...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyCheung25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yantai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Friendly staff, 2 or 3 of them even speak a bit english. Clean, nice apartment. They will drive you to the nearby beach, which is really no good for swimming. Ok for playing in the sand among palm trees. Restaurants along the beach are however great for lunch or evening dinner. Watch out for expensive coca cola! Hotel breakfast is great, lunch and dinner very good and priceworthy. Take a taxi to dadonghai beach (5 min) Great beach, better than Yalong! Hotel pools are great and seem clean. However this IS China. If you can't live with chinese people spitting an letting children piss "everywhere" - don't go to Serenity. Don't go to Hainan. Don't even go to China!
Scandinavians with small children.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We just returned from a two week stay and must say this is an excellent property. Part condo part hotel, with very nice amenities, excellent security, high class residents and guests, and wonderful views. The beach is just a short walk or golf cart ride and is beautiful. There are numerous shops and restaurants in the immediate area and there is a free golf cart service to and from the hotel and amenities.

This is very much a local destination so don't expect allot of English speaking staff or western food, but if you can over that and enjoy it for what it is, a beautiful vacation apartment near the beach than you will enjoy yourself.

Also, the Intercontinental Hotel is directly adjacent and has a wonderful Mediterranean Restaurant right on the beach as well as a nice Brewery Restaurant that service both local and western food. Expect top dollar resort pricing at these restaurants but they are very good places to eat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBrandonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
179 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Ok, if you do not like Chinese Tourists or Chinese Food - then avoid this hotel because 99% of the occupancy is Chinese and the breakfast buffet is 99% Chinese too.

Take those things aside (and all that comes with them), the hotel suites (two bedroom) are fabulous; large, airy/bright, very clean and super balconies (plural) and views. Kitchen has no knives/forks (just chopsticks) and no spoons (hard to make tea/coffee) but these are minor details. Great sunken bath in master bedroom.

Gym/facilities are fine (not huge, but perfectly acceptable) and only slight downside is that you need to walk over the road for the swimming pool or walk to the Intercontinental Hotel and use their pools (much better).

All things considered, if Sanya had more things to do and if we come here again, I would probably stay at the Intercontinental just because of its better location but the Serenity Coast, given the price, was very fair value.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room, the higher the better as floors 2, 3 and 4 you can hear all the restaurant pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AdrianShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom sea view Deluxe apartment. The first apartment gave to us has limited sea view ---one has to stand in the balcony and stick neck out. Additionally, the so called double bed in both rooms is only 150 cm in width, which is impossible for two normal size adults to sleep. The hotel provided us another apartment, in which one of the double beds was 180 cm. We tried to change & up-grade to a better apartment with 180 RMB additional costs according to what Booking.com has online at that time, but we were told that it was not possible. So, we have to pay 800 RMB per night extra in order to shift to a full-sea view apartment. This apartment is very good with large living room and balcony.
The pool of the hotel is nice and large with good service, so is the beach service at Intercontinental hotel.
On internet, the hotel offers free airport shuttle service, however, when we asked for the shuttle bus, 3 days prior to arrival, we were told it was not possible. The lady (from their booking department) was rude and unfriendly.
The breakfast foods were plenty and well made (though mostly Chinese foods). However, the place was crowded with many families and the floor was very dirty, so one has to be careful not stepping on slippery food or crash into someone with a hot soup. There are lots of mosquitoes in the restaurant on the ground floor in the evening.
Both check in and checkout processes were slow and inefficient. It took 25 minutes for us to check out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globaltrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is just next to intercontinental hotel and is near to beach, so was quite cmomfartable to spend time at beach with family .they have their pick and drop off service to the beache ,which I fond to be very comfortable.Also the rooms are quite big and comfortable ,nice bed and pillows ,so after a hectic can be relaxed at his resort. I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepika-will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in early April 2012 with our 11 month old son. Apparently the peak season in Sanya is from November until March, which we just missed at the end of March. Given the size of the beach, the number of very large buildings around the area and six more massive 30 floor buildings due to be completed for the next peak season in Nov 2012, I would not recommend going during this time. When we went there were fewer people and we had no problem getting sunbeds at the beach or pool.

The apartments have a good sized living room, two bedrooms, kitchen (cooker and large fridge freezer) and washing machine on the balcony. The apartment was very well laid out with fairly good quality finish. The furniture covers could have a better clean to remove some old stains, but apart from that we were happy with the furniture. Our only disappointment was a smell which seemed to happen over night and come from the bathroom drains, even on the 18th floor. It took a little time to clear in the mornings, but was not noticeable through the day. We also did not hear any noise from anyone around us and the hotel is full of families with lots of children.

Upon request they provided a baby bath and travel cot for our son. They even gave us a complimentary beach set of bucket and spade which was a nice touch. We did ask for some chairs for our balcony as the balcony has a great view of the sunset. Unfortunately they said none were available, however we borrowed a couple of chairs that were going unused on the floor landing and managed to squeeze them onto the balcony through the bedroom windows. Well worth it to enjoy the views.

The complex is close to the beach that it shares with the Intercontinental Hotel. Hotel buggies shuttle back and forth to the beach every few minutes upon request and you can use the loungers and get towels. The beach is very pleasant although the hotel has a battle on it's hands with the amount of plastic that washes in and perhaps there could be a more regular cleaning of this part of beach which is roped off. They also keep the seaweed clear from this area and perhaps need to pay a little more attention to detail here as well. The beach has volleyball, football goals and plenty of space. There is a little bit of snorkeling around the pier just in front of the hotel.

The hotel pool is great for younger children with two levels, one around 75 cm deep and a deeper section above with waterfall cascading into the lower pool. They also provide rubber rings and towels. There is a playroom under the main building that has a good selection of toys and is nice and clean.

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and some speak good English. It is a very young staff, but very enthusiastic to help out, either at the kids playroom, reception or concierge. My wife does speak Mandarin, but I am sure that if you did not speak Mandarin you could get by at this hotel.

We spent most of our time moving between the hotel swimming pool (100m) and the beach 5 mins in the buggy. There is a small supermarket close to the hotel, but apart from snacks, water and drinks has a random selection that includes lots of instant meals. Two km from the hotel is a shopping complex called Summer Plaza which has a great supermarket called Corner's Deli on the 5th floor. It is pricey but you can get everything you want there. There are also lots of local shops around that area and smaller Chinese supermarkets as well. The hotel provides a regular bus to that area and it is 15 mins and 20 RMB back in a taxi.

With an 11 month baby we did use room service a couple of times in the evening. The cheaper noodles were good, but the more fancy food was a pricey let down. Other times we cooked our own food. The breakfast was decent enough with a buffet that included classic breakfast, noodles and even the option of what I thought might be the night before leftovers.

All in all we were pleasantly surprised with Serenity Coast and as a couple with a young family found it ideal for our more limited needs. If you want more to do, such as bars, and a local selection of restaurants, this is not the place for you. If you want easy access to a good beach, a pool and are happy looking after yourself in an apartment, this is worth a try. Oh and we did meet Yao Ming on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (15 or above) in building 6. Building 5 has the reception underneath it and arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
0.5 mi away
Sanya Marriott Hotel Dadonghai Bay
9.7 mi away
Sanya Yalong Bay Sintra Suites Hotel
7.4 mi away
Wyndham Sanya Bay
Wyndham Sanya Bay
#19 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Sanya
Banyan Tree Sanya
#14 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Sanya Bay Resort
Sheraton Sanya Bay Resort
#55 of 1,326 in Sanya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Sanya City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Coast Resort Sanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Coast Resort Sanya

Property: Serenity Coast Resort Sanya
Address: No.15 Xiaodonghai Road, Sanya 572000, China
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Sanya
#54 Luxury Hotel in Sanya
#57 Best Value Hotel in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Serenity Coast Resort Sanya 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Serenity Coast Resort Sanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Coast Resort Sanya Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing