We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanya Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sanya Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Sanya
Seoul
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at Sanya Backpackers for 3 nights and had a lovely stay. Everyone was friendly, accommodating and very helpful! You often forget you are staying in a hostel here! The rooms and the hostel for that matter are impecably clean and there was even a bar and restaurant at the hostel that caters to those seeking western or even Asian cuisine. The location was also great-only a 3 min walk to the beach! There was also access to the Internet. A very enjoyable stay overall!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    39
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
70
56
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The owner, Chris, was a great guy and greeted us by name every time we arrived at the hostel. We got a lot of solid advice from him and he helped us plan our trip. There were a few other interesting people staying at the hostel and there was always something going on. Very clean room, great location by the beach, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I travelled together with 2 of my friends in September 2013. The hostel is in 5 minute walk from the beach and when you go there you pass a few really good smoothie/juice places, we loved them!

Other than that, EXCELLENT atmosphere!! GREAT hospitality!! SUPER CLEAN and NEAT rooms!! VERY NICE HOSTS! Every(!) member of the crew is always ready to help and give advice. Charlie (we love you so much!) told us what beach to go to, what places to visit, where to eat, etc. You can also ask for some surfing lessons or rent bikes. Where to ride the bikes? Charlie advised a small sailors' village and it was magical there!!

You're also more than welcome to use towels blow mattresses FOR FREE! What else...the food's also great there! The WiFi is pretty good! The room service is absolutely amazing!!

And all of that for a very decent price!! Great job Charlie and the crew for making SanyaBackpackers such a cozy place to stay!!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor right by the front desk and it was pretty convinient because even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oksana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Sanya Backpackers:
- is a real small backpacker hostel (unlike many other fake ones in China)
- is a place where you can actually meet people from all over the world, both Chinese and foreigners
- is very well located, 3 min away from the beach, in a street where you'll find lots of shops & restaurants
- has nice, clean and quiet rooms
- has a cool restaurant/bar
- and an even cooler pet dog ;)

I spent 4 nights there and I had an amazing experience. Chris is very helpful, and his staff is nice and friendly.

Definitely great vibes in this hostel, to be highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

A Little bit more expansive than other hostels but it's definetly worth staying there. The owner is caring about every guest and his individual wishes. The rooms are clean. The food is average but there are enough restaurants in the area And as you are not forced to eat at the hostel everything is fine. I would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Sanya Backpackers is located just 5 min. from Dadinghai Bay. It is also no problem to catch the bus to go other, more deserted beaches. Therefore Chris and Linda will provide you with information and a very nice service. They helped me getting from the airport to the hostel and provided nice food and a familiar atmosphere. It is also no problem to meet other travelers and become friends there. Hainan is great for relaxing and surfing, what I did all over my stay.
Thank you very much for this nice time and I will definitely come back to Sanya Backpackers.
Lars

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very nice place. Clean, neat and tidy. Rooms are very comfortable. Their staff cleans it everyday, they also change your towels and, if you want, can wash your beach towels. Shared bathrooms are also clean and tidy.Their food is very tasty and they have a lot of delicious drinks in their hostel bar. The place is quite close to the beach, just a short walk. There is a plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.The most important thing is that Chris and Linda are the most friendly and helpful hostel owners I have ever met, so you don't have to worry about anythig (as long as you are good too). They are kind and polite, always ready to help. It is a very good place to stay for all "backpackers", definitely Sanya's best!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Baohong Hotel
#34 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
#2 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
South China Hotel
#43 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Hawaii Hotel
#52 of 1,326 in Sanya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Backpackers

Property: Sanya Backpackers
Address: No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Sanya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Singaporean operated hostel providing SAFE, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE accommodation for backpackers and travellers in Hainan, China. Located in Dadonghai, Sanya, we are just a very short walk(3 mins)to the beach. By day, where all the sea activities begin and by night all the party starts. Our goal is to provide you with a wonderful experience to bring back home.We also offer surfing lessons, PADI scuba diving courses and outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Sanya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanya Backpackers Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing