We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a really great stay!”
Review of Sanya Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanya Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Sanya
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Sanya Backpackers is located just 5 min. from Dadinghai Bay. It is also no problem to catch the bus to go other, more deserted beaches. Therefore Chris and Linda will provide you with information and a very nice service. They helped me getting from the airport to the hostel and provided nice food and a familiar atmosphere. It is also no problem to meet other travelers and become friends there. Hainan is great for relaxing and surfing, what I did all over my stay.
Thank you very much for this nice time and I will definitely come back to Sanya Backpackers.
Lars

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 327 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very nice place. Clean, neat and tidy. Rooms are very comfortable. Their staff cleans it everyday, they also change your towels and, if you want, can wash your beach towels. Shared bathrooms are also clean and tidy.Their food is very tasty and they have a lot of delicious drinks in their hostel bar. The place is quite close to the beach, just a short walk. There is a plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.The most important thing is that Chris and Linda are the most friendly and helpful hostel owners I have ever met, so you don't have to worry about anythig (as long as you are good too). They are kind and polite, always ready to help. It is a very good place to stay for all "backpackers", definitely Sanya's best!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karolina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Chris is an awesome host, he was very helpful and also cool to hang out with.
Rooms are nice and clean. The hostel is very close to the beach. Chris taught us how to surf. The waves in Sanya are very good for beginners who want to learn how to surf. Good seafood restaurant very close by, had my best dinner in china there, just ask Chris where does he go for seafood.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuval T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

From the point of booking until after our stay, Chris and Linda made everything to make life easy and happy for us! They are really helpful and friendly, and so are their staff. The hostel is located just 3 minutes walking distance from the beach and there are a lot of restaurants and supermarkets nearby. The rooms are fresh and they get cleaned everyday. Chris and Linda also adds the little extra things to make the stay more pleasant, such as learning all the guests names and giving you beach towels and beach toys. They also sell food and drinks at the hostel, all very good and to a great price. If I go back to Sanya, I will stay there again. And if any one I know will go to Sanya, I'll tell them that Sanya backpackers is the place to stay at!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela_8976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hostel is really well-located, 3 mins on foot to the beach. The owners Chris and Linda are super-friendly, very helpful, they manage to create a very family-like atmosphere. And it's the cleanest hostel I've ever been to, their shared bathrooms are sooo clean ) they change bath towels every day, and beach towels are there for free, just behind the reception desk. Another perk is the proximity of the bus stop where you can take a bus to the airport for only 5 yuan, and banks with ATMs that accept foreign cards, and lots of small Chinese cafes where you can have a tasty meal under 30 rmb.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daria_1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The week in Sanya has been a real blast, enjoyed every single moment of it, and thats mostly because of the organized,clean and friendly Sanya Backpackers!

Thanks again Chris and Linda! until the next time!

Amedeo

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amedeo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A very comfy cozy hostel at a great price range. The hosts Linda and Chris are fluent in English as well as Chinese and are very friendly and helpful. The hostel's bar has good deals and big drinks, situated in a little leafy courtyard that's great to sit at and chill with other backpackers at night. Also, the hostel mascot Mimi, an adorable puppy, is always at your feet chilling out and looking for scraps. Club rules however require that you don't get Mimi drunk.

Had a great time, will def stay there again next time I'm through Sanya.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
0.1 mi away
Baohong Hotel
Baohong Hotel
#39 of 1,350 in Sanya
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
South China Hotel
South China Hotel
#38 of 1,350 in Sanya
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barry Boutique Seaview Hotel Sanya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Hotel
#60 of 1,350 in Sanya
47 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Shanhaitian Resort Sanya, Autograph Collection (by Marriott International)
0.8 mi away
Sanya Marriott Hotel Dadonghai Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Backpackers

Address: No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Sanya
Price Range: $12 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanya Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Singaporean operated hostel providing SAFE, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE accommodation for backpackers and travellers in Hainan, China. Located in Dadonghai, Sanya, we are just a very short walk(3 mins)to the beach. By day, where all the sea activities begin and by night all the party starts. Our goal is to provide you with a wonderful experience to bring back home.We also offer surfing lessons, PADI scuba diving courses and outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sanya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanya Backpackers Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing