We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hostel”
Review of Sanya Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanya Backpackers
Ranked #2 of 260 Specialty Lodging in Sanya
Reviewed January 13, 2013

great staff great location,about 3 minutes walk to pharmacy, beach, cheap cheap food and an awesome surfer bar. lots of foreigners in the area and about 3yuan (50 cents?) away from the bar area of the town. great run for the money. oh and did I mention, they provide free beach towel and toys for the beach! (like a volleyball!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yonk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 329 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

Sanya Backpackers has a great location and friendly atmosphere! Restaurants, the beach and party, all nearby. Chris and Linda help you with everything you need and give good tips on what to do on the area. Hope we can come back to surf again :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Came to Hainan from mainland China where we had stayed in some pretty average hostels, had a complete nightmare of a journey over to the island and we were about ready to give up when we arrived. However, from start to finish our stay in Sanya was brilliant, can't speak highly enough of Chris, Linda and all the staff (especially Mimi!) who were helpful and happy at all times. Even if the island hadn't been as beautiful as it was, I'd recommend going to Sanya Backpackers! Best place I stayed in China without a doubt.

Nilia and James.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idirnilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

great place and really nice staff. Thanks Linda a & Chris. The buffet party at the hostel was amazing. Was a perfect extend weekend. I liked very much my 4 days in Snaya. Small waves in my weekend but Chris shown us the paradise beach with only a few people there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlessioFriasGadelha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Sanya Backpackers is the best hostel we've been too. Especially our love to Chris and Linda. They were really nice, helpfull, social and most important funny to hang out with! Ofcours we dont forgot the mascot Mimi. A friends of ours wanted to change her ticket and Linda immediately helped out. They are so friendly it feels like you are home. We all prefer Sanya Backpackers more than a Hotel. The rooms are very clean and there was even a bar with all kinds of named shots. Our stay in Sanya was perfect thanks to them!

Our Love

Danielle, Lucia, Pamela & Shou-Ai

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shou-Ai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

A great stay.. If i had it my way I would've stayed here alot longer than the 3 nights.

Great character, Great staff, Great family orientated Enviroment.

& very affordable.

On top of that very clean.

What more else could be needed to enhance my experience here?.. there was even a bar.

Sanya backpackers; the Best Undisputed Hostel in China.

Room Tip: All rooms prefered, if a problem occurs with your room don't be hesitant to ask Chris or Linda f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Sanya Backpackers was the nicest hostel we´ve slept at during our 3 month Asia-trip. The owners Chris and Linda were very friendly, helpful and social. Chris is from Singapore and his (and also his wive´s) English is fluent. The owner also doesn´t take advantage of his customers. We came there to learn to dive but the owner explained that our timing was bad and we wouldn´t see anything because of the cloudy water this time of the year. So he´s an hounest man!!
The room was nice, clean and airconditioned with wifi on the room!
The bar was great, and cocktails are really nice and had a low price!!
The location also is great, the beach and some nice restaurants are very close by. But the hostel itself was nice and quiet during the night. We also got a good introduction from Linda when we arrived.
This hostel we recommend everyone who´s in for a good and relaxed time in Sanya!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanya hotels
Captain's House
#1 of 619 in Sanya
86 reviews
Palmena Apartment
#133 of 1,366 in Sanya
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haitang Bay
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Sanya Haitang Bay
Hedong
Mandarin Oriental, Sanya
MGM Grand Sanya
#15 of 1,366 in Sanya
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanya Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanya Backpackers

Address: No.1 Type 1 Villa , Luming Community, Haihua Road, Dadonghai, Sanya 572021, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hainan > Sanya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 260 Specialty Lodging in Sanya
Price Range: $13 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanya Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Singaporean operated hostel providing SAFE, CLEAN and COMFORTABLE accommodation for backpackers and travellers in Hainan, China. Located in Dadonghai, Sanya, we are just a very short walk(3 mins)to the beach. By day, where all the sea activities begin and by night all the party starts. Our goal is to provide you with a wonderful experience to bring back home.We also offer surfing lessons, PADI scuba diving courses and outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sanya Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanya Backpackers Hainan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing